The colors of fall

Fall might be here, but its still summer in our farmer's market. We came home with a trunk full of tomatoes, cucumbers, bell peppers, chilli peppers, zucchini, along with delicious local apples. I just had to make soup. Everything in this soup, except from the olive oil, came from the local market.

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil
1 zucchini, diced
1 mild hot banana pepper, sliced
1 red bell pepper, diced
4 large tomatoes, chopped (I used orange tomatoes)
1 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped
1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
salt and pepper to taste
1 tsp honey/sugar/agave nectar
2 oz of your favorite crumbly cheese (optional)

– Heat the oil in a dutch oven.
– Add zucchini and peppers and saute for about five minutes.
– Add the tomatoes and saute for a couple of minutes. Our tomatoes were incredible juicy, so I didn't add any water/stock. If needed, add half a cup of water and bring to a boil.
– Add salt, pepper, oregano and sugar. Cover and simmer for five minutes.
– Turn off the heat. Garnish with basil and cheese and serve warm.

This was quite possibly the quickest soup I've ever made. According to A, it was also the most delicious. πŸ™‚

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The colors of fall

  1. Emjay says:

    Yum! This sounds delicious and looks great – and even better most of those ingredients are in my garden!

  2. jaklumen says:

    Looks very, very good.

  3. sylph says:

    That's a beautiful picture. I would like this soup, only I would want onions in it, because I want those in everything. πŸ™‚

  4. Pk says:

    Looks fantastic!! Gotta go with the onion remark though ….

  5. JD says:

    Okay, so that does look absolutely delish! Saving' this one for later after the 20th high school reunion next week. I'll make it when I get back.

  6. julie says:

    The colors are stunning!

  7. Aubrey says:

    I resent how summer refuses to Go Away, but this soup is so lovely and rich, it is almost as beautiful as Lewis Carroll's Beautiful Soup.

  8. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ This is the original garden soup. So simple, but it tasted great because of how fresh the ingredients were..

  9. Purplesque says:

    Onions would be great in this soup. I was working around my alliophobic husband, which is why there were none.

  10. Purplesque says:

    I agree as well. Onions and maybe a clove of garlic.

  11. Purplesque says:

    I hope you like it. Have fun at the reunion!

  12. Purplesque says:

    The soup has now been renamed Beau-oo-tiful soup! Thank you.

  13. JD says:

    Thank you! We're looking forward to it. Should be interesting at the least and a blast at most, so bonuses all the way round however it goes. I'll write about it when I return. Get ready! LOL

  14. Pk says:

    He he he … just noticed Sydney's quote under your name. *thumbs up!*

  15. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Couldn't resist. I barely noticed him the first time around (I was 13), but have grown to really like the character.

  16. Pk says:

    I just added a Margaret quote to my vox page. Honestly, Sydney has evolved to my favorite character over the years as well. I think I was probably in my 20's before I noticed him. I was also around 13 when I first started watching (..which was .. 1976 ish?)

  17. Karen Lynn says:

    OH it looks so good. This is kitchen art! Fall is my favorite time of year, so many local farmers have stands up along the road, and I so love fresh tomatoes! I wish I could grow them! hehe

  18. Purplesque says:

    Yes. They taste nothing like canned ones, do they?

  19. Karen Lynn says:

    Or even the ones you buy at the grocery store… so called fresh and when you cut them open they are tinged with white…taste like cardboard. yuck. lol

Leave a Reply

