Book Found

So right after vowing that I would go to the library armed with a book list comprised of my Vox neighbors' book recommendations and NYT reviews, I went back to picking random books off the shelves. The resolution lasted all of one visit, which is just as well. How else would I have discovered this?

The best of Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet is a collection of stories and other odds and ends picked from the zine by editors Kelly Link and Gavin Grant. I've read the introduction and the first two stories so far, and I want to dig out all the zines from somewhere and spend the rest of my life reading them.

From the introduction by Dan Chaon, about the writers:

They are gathered over there by the fire, sharpening sticks and muttering  amongst themselves.  I imagine that they are headed off into the forest to hunt the wild hind called literature, and that they will return near dawn with the creature's severed head held aloft, singing at the top of their lungs.

From Travels with the Snow Queen, by Kelly Link:

You have heard of other travelers whose maps are bread crumbs, whose maps are stones, whose maps are the four winds, whose maps are yellow bricks laid one after the other. You read your map with your foot, and behind you somewhere there must be another traveler whose map is the bloody footprints that you are leaving behind you.

Ladies. Has it ever occured to you that fairy tales aren't easy on the feet?

This story is followed by Scotch: An Essay into a Drink, which is exactly what it claims to be, an essay on Scotch replete with recipes and movie recommendations, followed by an apology for the chocolate stains on the book.

Grandmother is calm; a porcelain miniature.
          The parrots ferry her across the room
                    strung from their feathered breasts.

     – David Findlay, Unrecognizable.

And just like that, all my weekend plans have changed. I'll be buried in the carpet with this collection, and hopefully there will be some chocolate in the future. Have a great weekend. :) 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Found

  1. Emjay says:

    I don't think I like the cover of that book! LOL – yes I know you are not supposed to judge a book by its cover! I checked it out on Amazon though and it does sound an interesting and entertaining book. I might put it on my list. I have so many books already just waiting to be read that I can't really justify getting more until I get the pile down.

  2. Purplesque says:

    I'm through almost half of it now, definitely recommended. 🙂

Leave a Reply

