The move- part 2

This post is in response to this. If Emjay's kitchen made you laugh, survey this.


Yep, this is my new kitchen. All of it. The only good thing I can say about it is that there is a window that lets in bright morning sun. (I'm getting rid of the fussy lace thing on the window.) The housing corp guys put a coat of white paint on the hideous dark brown cabinets, and there are shiny new knobs on the doors. The strand of hair trapped under the thick coat of floor wax gives me nightmares, but they do get an A for effort.

Compare this, now, to my old kitchen.
 

It was simple, white, big, and spanking new. I miss you, dear kitchen. We had a good time together.

For the post-eulogy dinner, I made khichdi and kadhi , lentil-rice pilaf with yogurt-gram flour curry. Perfect comfort food for empty freezer-empty belly days. This is the recipe I always use. I added a spoonful of sugar to my bowl in the traditional Gujarati manner, and it was delicious.

 

After polishing off all of that and  a cup of tea, this is my final opinion. As far as kitchens go, size does not really matter. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The move- part 2

  1. Emjay says:

    OK – yes that is sort of tragically funny! 🙂 But, I am confident that you will be able to whip up just as many great dishes as you did before – you might just have to put your bowls out on the dining table – you don't have much bench space . But …. you do get a patch of dirt now to grow herbs!

  2. Lakshmi says:

    As far as kitchens go, size does not really matter. :)But the cook does. Can you move into my kitchen? I'll even clean up a corner for you to sleep.

  3. julie says:

    Of course you manage to create the most amazing meal in the tiniest kitchen – you're awesome like that. How do you keep your kitchen so clean with all that cooking you do? Mine always looks like a tornado has run through it.

  4. The size certainly doesn't matter in your case! I bet you can still cook up a storm on a small stove and a countertop oven. I'd love to get into your kitchen and smell the leftover aroma now.

  5. Nice new kitchen!! I'm jealous, my apartment has a kitchen but it's within my bedroom! (Oh the joys of student living… I'm not complaining really though, I'm pretty lucky to have my own place!)
    So you're a vegetarian cook, I don't know how I didn't find your blog before! (I got to it through your Twitter feed after Dr. Rob asked us to follow you :)) I love trying new veggie foods, but I usually just sautee up some tofu and broccoli, nothing too fancy!

  6. Purplesque says:

    Yes..we've converted the broom closet (isn't that what the closet under the stairs is supposed to be?) into a pantry. Things seem to be getting better. I've been to all the garden centers in town, and no one has any herbs/seeds!! Whats wrong with these people..lol

  7. Purplesque says:

    Do you have white light in your kitchen? If yes, I'll pack my bags and catch the next flight..save my corner. 🙂

  8. Purplesque says:

    I only take pictures pre-cooking. During and after pics look more like a war zone. Now, I really need to keep my few inches of counter space clean and clutter free in order to get any cooking done!

  9. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you, and welcome back!

  10. haha… well you know, some of the best things I made during my 1st and 2nd year of med school were made in a kitchen of my ghetto apt… lived above people who trashed their apts and were always high. and subsequently I had tons of roaches finding their way upstairs into my apt (the exterminator man told me so)… (apt was cheap.. finally moved out because they kept raising the price of my little rat hole).. the kitchen was big enough for one person only (standing room plus maybe a step in any other direction. lol. I had seriously one square foot of counterspace. Baking days were a mess as I spread all my equipment, mixing stations, and cooling stations into the living room. (oh and I had no dishwasher which is fine since I am used to washing by hand… but I used to use dishwashers as drying racks at times like these).the nice thing was the gas oven and stove… but it was also so small that it reminded me of a toy… and though it had four burners, there's no way you can fit four pots on that thing. not wide enough. haha but… good baking/cooking memories. threw a dinner party there (most of us had to sit on the floor.. small apt. and it was fun… they told me my apt had a residual smell of pot.. I no longer noticed.. guess I got used to it? haha I could only tell when they would 'celebrate." ugh… haha

  11. Purplesque says:

    Lol..must remember to thank Dr. Rob! Thanks for taking the trouble to sign in to leave a comment.Back in student life, I remember cooking on an electric stove (contraband) in my room. I didn't complain back then, either..was just happy I got to eat healthy! Thanks for reminding me..no more whining. 🙂

  12. Purplesque says:

    Lol…wow. I've spent a good bit of college life cooking on banned electric stoves, but that always seemed more fun than anything else. Funny how your expectations change..now that I'm out of college, having a great kitchen has become quite important..maybe more than it should have. Thanks for the perspective! (Re: pot, I still don't know what pot smells like, and have begun to understand pot references/jokes only after seeing substance abusers for past three years. A lady in my pottery class recently made a pot joke, and I was so proud that I got it..lol)

  13. hahahaha I never knew till I lived there. I remember getting really nauseous when they were celebrating easter… the smell was too strong for me. it was sad studying illicit drugs in med school. I didnt know pot was cannabis. That says a lot of how little I knew. It took me forever to remember which ones were uppers or downers. hahahaha my Borders Bookstore friends used to laugh at me but would answer my questions about them. hahaabut yes I do have a dream house and kitchen. A really nice large kitchen. Have most of it already designed in my head. haha

  14. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Good luck..I hope you find yours soon!

  15. Emjay says:

    LOL! I bought a few of mine online from a place in Florida. I will try to find the link for you.

  16. Karen Lynn says:

    Well, I like the old kitchen better, but knowing what your cooking looks like (I can just about taste it through your pictures) I don't think it will dampen your cooking spirit one bit. It's been a while since I've been over to your place, you've been really busy gf!

  17. Purplesque says:

    🙂 I was told third year would be lighter, but so far, its been super busy! With that and the move and the upcoming exams (and my in-laws coming from India to visit), I haven't been very neighborly either. We need to catch up soon!

  18. Karen Lynn says:

    Well, it is good to see you! I missed you :))Do you love your new apartment? I hope your visit with the outlaws, I mean inlaws goes good! My MIL is coming for a week in October. It can go either way with my inlaws. lol :))

  19. Purplesque says:

    I hope so too..I am already getting anxious in anticipation. They are remarkably unpredictable.

Leave a Reply

