A bowlful of beets

We went to the farmer's market yesterday. I have been there a few times before but this was the most variety and the best produce so far. At least twenty-five varieties of tomatoes, multi-colored sweet peppers, squash of all shapes and sizes, fresh cucumbers, melons and peaches…I was like a kid in the candy store.

Then I saw the beets. Oh, beautiful beets.


I roasted them with some carrots and tossed them with a dressing of olive oil, red wine vinegar, thyme, toasted cumin, salt and pepper. The salad is going to be our dinner tonight, along with some fresh naan and hummus.

 

To roast beets, simply toss whole beets with some olive oil and a pinch of salt and wrap them tightly in foil. Roast at 425 degrees for an hour, or until a toothpick goes through with ease. Let them cool down a bit, then rub off the skin and cut into wedges. Eat as is or toss with your favorite vinaigrette.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A bowlful of beets

  1. Yum! Those look so good…maybe you should become a food photographer.

  2. M-----l says:

    I don't think I've ever eaten a beet in my entire life. If I ever eat one, I hope it's prepared by you. You make them look good. Oh, and your preparation sounds tasty.

  3. Lakshmi says:

    May I send my daughter over for breakfast? She would polish that dish.

  4. bb says:

    These look great!

  5. Aubrey says:

    I went to a friend's for dinner and one of the dishes was a salad of roasted golden beets, string beans, goat cheese, mint and basil. It was spectacular – Boyfriend wouldn't try it though: he claimed that he was saving his appetite for dessert. I think he's just a scaredy cat.
    I love your vinigarette – is it something you created by yourself I'm-sure-you-did-don't-be-modest?

  6. Purplesque says:

    😀 It could be a second career, you think?

  7. Purplesque says:

    We have the menu for the next east coast meet-up, then. Can't let you go through youth without eating a beet, can we?

  8. Purplesque says:

    A kid that knows whats good for her… She can drop by any time she likes, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Oh, and we do special evening milkshakes for smart kids.

  9. Purplesque says:

    Oh, that salad sounds heavenly. Which ingredient was the boyfriend scared of?I created that dressing, but I'm sure it was inspired by some recipe or other buried in the subconscious. 🙂

  10. Aubrey says:

    Boyfriend does not like cheese! And a strong flavored cheese, like goat cheese, sends him running into a corner.

  11. Emjay says:

    Oooh – I love beetroot! It always sounds strange to hear them called "beets" here – they just don't sound right without their roots! LOL. I don't think many Americans eat them……

  12. roasted beets!?!? who would have thought – but I am so glad you did – adding to the list!

  13. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Like A, who usually makes a valiant but unsuccessful attempt to enjoy strong cheeses.

  14. Purplesque says:

    Its one one of those Americanism's I picked up without realizing! I was wondering why 'beets' sounded odd. Now I know why. :)A had not eaten beets either. I was surprised. I love them raw and roasted and in salads and pickles and in magenta rice..

  15. Purplesque says:

    🙂 I thought it would be the best way to get hubby to try them. Did not want to do anything too drastic. My attempt at making Borscht last year was a spectacular failure.

  16. Mmmmmmmmmmm…….sosunds good.Beets are neat.I like to put horseradish on them, when I have it hanging around..

  17. Purplesque says:

    Beets with horseradish? Never thought of that..should be interesting.

  18. You bet your photos make my mouth water!

  19. bee says:

    good luck with the move. enjoy your new home.

Leave a Reply

