The final score

I won against Win32Adware 3:2

It was a close fight. Some credit must go to the knights at techguy.

And as soon I'm done mixing my metaphors, I'll go pay my neighbors a visit.

🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The final score

  1. Emjay says:

    You are a dragon slayer-ress! 🙂

  2. LeendaDLL says:

    I think Grrrace may have it now. I tried to look up info for her but can't find anything that makes sense. She said she's still able to get Vox PMs but little else.

  3. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Yes, and its Very satisfying.

  4. Purplesque says:

    Oh, gosh. That sucks. Ask her to go over to the tech guy link above and post a HiJackThis log. These guys are good.

  5. LeendaDLL says:

    thanks. i just PM'd the info to her.now I'm wondering if a similar malware is what caused my computer to go funky last week. it eventually recovered but I had a night where every time that windows launched, my screen just went black. the app was running – but I couldn't see a thing. I let it sleep for a night and it was better in the morning. Or so I think. Things have been a bit slow since then, which I assumed was due to being low on memory, but now I'm thinking I should have a looksie AND run another full system scan.

  6. Purplesque says:

    I suspect you have more knowledge about this, but the reason I ran into trouble was I was only run one anti-virus(and Windows firewall), and not a very good one at that. Now I have an antivirus, a spyware and a firewall. They are all free and have good reviews. Along with some changes in privacy settings, that should keep me safe.

  7. jaklumen says:

    I would love to read *all* the dirty details.I hope Six Apart takes a careful look at the ads here and does something– lately, some of them have been compromised and VOX users have been getting infected.

  8. jaklumen says:

    Now I have an antivirus, a spyware and a firewall. They are all free and have good reviews.Good, good, good. You can *never* be too careful about computer security, as long as the security programs work well together and you're not redundantly overlapping functions (learned that the hard way).I would be interested to know what programs you are using.

  9. Purplesque says:

    🙂 I now have AVG, Lavasoft adaware (that you suggested) and Zonealarm. Still not sure about the redundant overlapping part..that could be an issue.

  10. jaklumen says:

    Zone Alarm– ugh, ugh, ugh… the free version is total crap. It used to be good; it's not anymore. (Not sure if Steve Gibson got the memo yet; he still has glowing reviews on his website of the older versions.) It may work OK now, but when it gets quirky, you have to completely uninstall it (everything, all files, totalmente) and do a clean install from the ground up. Sorry to rain on your parade, but I recommend Comodo's firewall (www.comodo.com)AVG– that's goodI would get a full-time anti-spyware; Lavasoft's version is on-demand, i.e. you have to scan to get the benefit. Run Windows Defender if it's not too much of a drain on your system resources. I will note that the Comodo firewall has a Defense+ module that will partially cover anti-spyware functions.

  11. Purplesque says:

    So if I get Comodo I don't have to worry about scanning Adaware daily? What is the Windows Defender? You're not raining on my parade..I'll be glad to install better programs that work.I'm a safe surfer in general, but this was the first time I was attacked and its a bad feeling. Getting a Mac next month..

  12. jaklumen says:

    So if I get Comodo I don't have to worry about scanning Adaware daily?If I recall correctly, Ad-Aware has a quick scan, and a deep scan. I'd recommend the quick scan weekly, and the deep scan monthly. The difference between the two is scanning files that are used most often vs. your entire system.About Defense+ (from the site):"Defense+ is an advanced Host Intrusion Prevention System (HIPS) that
    monitors and protects critical system resources which prevents system
    changes such as rootkit installations, inter-process memory injections,
    key-loggers and more."So basically, it is a method of preventing bad programs from messing up your good programs and generally taking your system hostage. Yes, this would lessen the need to run Ad-Aware as often.What is the Windows Defender?It's a full-time anti-spyware program from Microsoft. If you're running Vista, it's directly integrated into the OS, and you already have it. If you're running XP, Microsoft still makes it available free for download. What do I mean by full-time? It monitors your system all the time– it runs when you start up your system– and removes malware as it finds it, much in the same way AVG does.I'm a safe surfer in generalPrevention is the best course of action, and I'm glad you say that, because that does the most to help keep you safe.I'm not sure if Internet Explorer 7 has a widget that covers ad blocking yet, but Firefox has a few extensions that do that: AdBlock and AdBlock Plus. I hate to do this to 6A, but some ads here have been compromised and you can never be too careful.Getting a Mac next month..Do note that ever since Apple adopted the use of Intel chipsets, Macs are slightly more vulnerable now. I would not assume that Macs are completely virus-resistant, because just as use of Intel opened the door for Macs to use more programs, it also made them less obscure and a little more prone to infections.But yes, as the vast majority of computer users use Windows operating systems, black hat hackers and crackers spend more time writing malware for them than for Mac.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Thank you so much! Absolutely my last question: So if I run AVG, Defense+, Lavasoft Adaware and Defender, there would be no overlapping? I have Windows XP..and there is something called the Windows Security Shield that runs all the time on it. I disabled the Windows firewall when I installed ZoneAlarm..

  14. jaklumen says:

    if I run AVG, Defense+, Lavasoft Adaware and Defender,AVG, Comodo Firewall ("Defense+" is just a feature), Ad-Aware…You should be just fine.Computer security can be complicated in Windows– the commercial stuff is pretty bloated and the free stuff– well, you have to figure out what mish-mash works for you. It's a better start in any case.

  15. Purplesque says:

    Thank you, Jaklumen!Off to install Comodo..

  16. *apaplause*I'm soooooooooo happy you're OK!!I haven't been around so I didn't know this was going on — those rotten little virii and malwares — Grrrrrrrrrrrrr *smacks a little bug*

  17. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you. All is good now!

  18. Karen Lynn says:

    So glad you were able to fix your infections without major surgery :))

  19. Purplesque says:

    Yes, me too. I'd almost given up, then I realized..its a darned virus! I'm a human! Humans beat viruses! lol

Leave a Reply

