Attacked by Spyware

I will see you if I survive.

xoxo

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Attacked by Spyware

  1. Karen Lynn says:

    Good Luck! (AVG is a great sypware blocker) Hope to see you soon!

  2. yes I have AVG. i liked zone alarm for firewall but I cant find one that is compatible with Vista! btw dont get vista if you can help it! Needed a laptop that was functional ASAP and was forced to go to BestBuy… all of the computers had vista on it. Thought I should give it a try and now i'm over it.

  3. jaklumen says:

    Ugh. Zone Alarm used to be good, but ever since Check Point took over, the free version (at least) stinks.I recommend Comodo's firewall these days.

  4. lol I havent been able to get ZA to work on vista so i've just been using windows until I could find out what was best for vista. I reformated and spent hours getting my laptop the way I wanted it, but although it really is quite pretty, not a fan of vista. I never had a problem with ZA before and it kept a friend of mine from having a lot of problems that he hasa had with the XP firewall.

  5. will try Comodo. =) thanks. I'm assuming this is vista friendly? Any suggestions for Linux? My promises to put it on my computer for me after I'm done studying for my exams.

  6. jaklumen says:

    I'm assuming this is vista friendly?As far as I know, yes. (Just checked the site– yes, it is.) Any suggestions for Linux?Linux is so dynamic (updates, and at the kernel level, a lot more often) that generally you don't have to worry about security issues quite so much.What distribution are you using? The name of the game right now is AppArmor, which basically enforces "good behavior" from programs. It's installed by default in Ubuntu 8.04 (which I use) and openSUSE (naturally, because AppArmor is a Novell application, and SUSE was developed by Novell Networks).I have ufw (Uncomplicated FireWall) installed, but haven't really bothered with configuring it much because it's a lot less user-friendly than Comodo or ZoneAlarm. It uses iptables instead of user-defined permissions, and it claims to be "simple to use" but I find that very relative since it currently has no GUI (it's all command line) and really you have to understand how firewalls work for it to be "easy to use".Now, as far as antivirus, I used Clam (clamwin) integrated into Spyware Terminator when I ran XP, so I went ahead and got it (Clam antivirus) when I switched to Linux. Again, Linux is pretty resistant to malware in general, but I figured Clam's on-demand (you have to run the program to scan, it's not full-time) was a good bet so I downloaded it along with a GUI frontend.My apologies for the tech-speak if you don't understand it, but I don't really know your level of expertise and I am explaining it as straightforward as I can guess.

  7. no that's good thanks. I dont know which Linux it is. My brother was going to do that for me, but I'll look into it more after exams! thank you for the info!

  8. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. No luck so far..:(

  9. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! Hven't had any luck, but maybe I'll get a new Mac out of this. 🙂

  10. Purplesque says:

    Hubby has Vista already..its okay, but like you said, avoidable. i'm shooting for a Mac, so we'll see. 🙂

  11. Purplesque says:

    Can I ask you to fix this Win32 situation for me,then? 😀

  12. jaklumen says:

    If you're able to get a copy of HijackThis, please do, generate a log, and send me a copy of the text privately to my Google mail account (same username).Which Windows build are you using? (XP, or Vista?)

  13. Purplesque says:

    Oh…thank you so much for offering to help, but I'd hate to impose on you like that. (Was half-kidding before. Give me one more day of desperate fighting, though, and I might come begging.) I have Windws XP, and here are the developments.
    The day it attacked, I posted a HJT log on tech guy support forums, and emailed the Shield Deluxe guys. I also ran Vundofix on the computer, with no results. The Deluxe guys basically said they can't do anything, and advised me to run SuperAntiSpyware. I just ran it and it detected two threats, one a harmful Adware and the second a NotHarmful Sysinternals Bluescreen Screensaver. Superspywae has apparently deleted the harmful adware, but the bluescreen persists. I haven't received a reply on the forum yet. So I wait, and I research Macs..

  14. Purplesque says:

    p.s. Thank you, again..its very nice of you to offer!

  15. jaklumen says:

    Hardly an imposition– this is how I get my practice.The second one… hmmm… yeah, spyware programs don't like that one, although it's just an old Microsoft/SysInternals joke. I used it once for April Fools– unfortunately Cimmy didn't get it and she didn't think it was funny. Totally benign, though.You mentioned an adware… did you try Lavasoft's Ad-Aware?

  16. Purplesque says:

    🙂 I fixed it!!! With help from tech support guys..they are Gods!

    If I were Cimmy, I wouldn't be pleased with the joke, either. (I hate viruses.)

    I have not tried Lavasoft, and am uninstalling that no-good Shield Deluxe. Do you have any suggestions for free anti-virus + spyware? I'm not going down this road again..just downloaded AVG. That plus Lavasoft?

  17. Purplesque says:

    p.s. What finally worked was malwarebytes anti-malware. It detected 42 threats…whew!

  18. I'm so sorry you went through this, but I'm glad you're back!!

Leave a Reply

