Vegan Pozole

Jaklumen gave me the idea to make a vegan version of this heartwarming pork and hominy soup. I trolled the web and combined ingredients from all the recipes I found. Except for the shrooms. Mushhrooms in a pozole just don't sound right.

Ingredients-

1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 onion, chopped (optional)*
2 cloves garlic, smashed and chopped (optional)*
* I did not use either
1 14-oz can white/yellow hominy
1 medium carrot, diced
1 medium zucchini, diced
1 potato, diced
3 tomatoes, chopped (or 1 14-oz can petite diced)
1 cup TVP nuggets
2 dried red chillies, torn ( New Mexico)
1 chipotle in adobo sauce, chopped
2 green chillies, chopped (optional)
2 tsp ground cumin
1 1/2 tsp Mexican oregano
4 cups vegetable stock
1 handful of chopped cilantro

The trappings-
Shredded cabbage, sliced radishes, chopped white onion, green chillies and lime wedges

– Soak the TVP chunks in 2 cups of hot stock.
– Heat the oil in a dutch oven.
– Saute the onions until soft, if using. Add the garlic towards the end.
– Add the carrot, zucchini, potato, oregano, cumin and saute for a few minutes until the vegetables are browned.
– Add the tomatoes and chillies. Saute for about five minutes.
– Add the TVP chunks with the stock, hominy, rest of the stock and bring to a boil.
– Lower the heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes. Taste and season.
– Stir in the cilantro just before serving. Serve with the trappings and fried tortillas or cornbread.

I actually preferred this chunky, hearty stew to the beany chilli we usually make. It has tons and tons of flavor, and makes for great comfort food.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vegan Pozole

  1. jaklumen says:

    Oh, so you did use TVP then. Very good.Your recipe looks solid. I can't remember any I saw that included potatoes, but since this is a veggie dish, I can see how they would add further texture and substance.Chopped tomatoes and vegetable stock. Interesting. I cheated with vegetable juice, but what you used seems like it would also give the soup more body.I think you're right about mushrooms. They have good, almost meat-like texture, but I don't think they sound right either. An Asian soup, most definitely… a Mextec soup… no.Congrats on your success!

  2. cat says:

    what is hominy

  3. Purplesque says:

    I hadn't planned on trying the potato. (There was one potato hominy stew somewhere on the interweb, but I don't like to add potatoes to soup unless its necessary.) I only added it later to give it a thicker, stew-ier feel, if you will.The TVP chunks won over the tempeh, because tempeh might have been too soybean-y.

  4. Emjay says:

    Well, the photo makes me hungry!

  5. cat says:

    I see – we don't have that here.

  6. Purplesque says:

    I never saw hominy in India either..this is the first time I've cooked with it.

Leave a Reply

