Pottery class update

 I went over today to try and reschedule my pottery class (too exhausted to make it in the evenings), and thought I'd bring my first piece home.

It is unglazed and unfinished. But I wanted to share it with you all. Hopefully the next piece will be something thrown on the wheel. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Pottery class update

  1. cat says:

    that is so quirky – love it

  2. Karen Lynn says:

    Way cool! I can't wait to see it finished, what colors are you going to use?

  3. LeendaDLL says:

    that kicks the butt of everything i learned in 4 consecutive pottery classes!

  4. 8gurl says:

    That is really pretty…awesome pattern and shape. Can't wait to see more! I took pottery in high school. I made a coffee mug that looked like it had a disease LOL. I don't know where that mug ran itself off to…hmmm

  5. Purplesque says:

    No colors..I like the two-tone effect of the clay. Just a clear glaze..

  6. Karen Lynn says:

    Oh it will be so pretty! I love the color of the clay too! :)) I can't wait to see it! This looks hard for a beginner's class.

  7. Purplesque says:

    I don't know..I still want a spaghetti holder. 😀 Since its going to take forever to learn to throw a nice, simple bowl, I've decided to stick to easy pieces that are fun to do, while I practice on the wheel.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha ..I know All about pock-marked plates and lumpy bowls! At least you made a mug. I suck at the wheel..too little practice.

  9. Purplesque says:

    It wasn't too hard..rolling clay and putting it together, kind of like playdough. This was my 'reward' to myself after three hard wheel sessions. 🙂

  10. Emjay says:

    This is fabulous – and it is going to look great just glazed.

  11. cheekymonkey says:

    Love it! I think I need to take a pottery class!

  12. L33tchica says:

    Looks awesome!I also love the shape of it-the flat sides rather than a round one.

  13. Lakshmi says:

    Wow. What more can I say?

  14. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you. Potentially it may be used as a real teapot, but somehow I doubt it.

  15. Purplesque says:

    Go on, then, its great fun!

  16. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you. A lady in the class had made some already..she showed me how to do it.

  17. That's cool, Purplesque. glad you are going for clear glaze for it. I think a colour might overshadow the patterns.

  18. Purplesque says:

    Yes, I'd hate to hide the scratch marks..it took me half an hour to do that! (Very satisfying, like scratching your back.)

  19. That's sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cool!!!I really like the design….and the glaze will be so great.

  20. bee says:

    i collect teapots. esp handmade ones. i'd pay a nice tidy sum for this.

  21. Purplesque says:

    Thank you, RD. It means lot coming from the artistic president herself.

  22. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. 🙂 This is the first piece I've made, so I can't bear to part with it. But I'm making more teapots, and I'll be very happy to send you one as an exchange for all the cooking you've inspired.

  23. Heeeeee…. *blushes*

Leave a Reply

