Have you poked someone today?

I thought it was time to make my profile a tad more private.

My profile showed me as married to hubby.

So I went to relationship status. There was a drop down menu. I selected blank instead of married.

An update went out to all my contacts.

Purplesque is no longer listed as married to A.

                                        Accompanied by the image of a broken heart.

                                        I've had six messages of sympathy since.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Have you poked someone today?

  1. LeendaDLL says:

    LOL on the caption of the graphic. At least you know people are paying attention!

  2. 8gurl says:

    On Vox or Facebook?

  3. Purplesque says:

    Facebook. Vox wouldn't do anything as dumb as that.Would they?

  4. Purplesque says:

    Yeah, I now know who my well wishers are…Lol

  5. jaklumen says:

    I ain't holding my breath since I know Six Apart is trying to rope in slightly younger bloggers– some weren't too terribly happy they have made ties to Facebook in the first place.I try not to take Facebook too seriously, myself. It is most interesting– the people I got in contact with from high school hardly send me anything. Total strangers, however (the more total and stranger they are) send me request upon request for some silly time-waster application. Oh, I have my favorites– but I just don't feel like playing every single little game/gossip/time-waster app on Facebook. hehe

  6. Lakshmi says:

    I believe I have a facebook account. Heaven knows what became of it. I'd rather have it that way.

  7. Brown Suga' says:

    It was even ominous when it showed up on my feed: "Purplesque and A have ended their relationship."I know Facebook is a doofus; nevertheless, it took me a moment before I realised it.No wonder Shakespeare loves Facebook, though.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Is THAT what it said???!!! No wonder..Okay, now I'm getting a little mad. Maybe I should sue them for mental agony and retire rich. LOL@Shakespeare.

  9. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..yes, I had to uninstall the fun wall, because bare acquaintances were sending me the weirdest videos! And I have very few applications..Where will we go if Vox turns into Facebook, or even worse, Myspace?

  10. Purplesque says:

    Madame is a wiser woman than I.

  11. jaklumen says:

    No wonder Shakespeare loves Facebook, though.Bwahahahaha! That's brilliant!

  12. Lakshmi says:

    Really LOL at Shakespeare. That one surely gets forwarded to choice friends.

  13. yea I have way too many applications on my page. I feel bad saying no to some of my friends sending them. but I let my friends know they should just deny any requests I send them… because a lot of the applications now.. if you want more of something on it, they force you to send invites to your friends. So I have my select friends I always send things to and they always just click "deny"

  14. LOL – Facebook is a stalkers dream!! have to say that of all the various "social" networks, I like vox the best. Twitter lasted all of 2 days with me because I started having urges to write bizarre things just because – "Kim has shaved her head and joined the Hare Krishnas"…"Kim has climbed the Himalayas and is now going to have breakfast" šŸ™‚

  15. Emjay says:

    LOL! Love the little graphic. I have no interest in belonging to anything that forces me to give names so that I can get some application. With the exception of Vox I don't belong to anything (where do you get time to do more than one social network?)…. I have friends on typepad – but I can't comment on them without joining. I wish people could comment here without having to sign up. I get the impression that anything you have to join is going to end up stalking you!

  16. I really enjoyed this post — not a Facebookie, but I can appreciate how it all worked….LOL — at least you got sympathies. Is A there, too? did anyone ask him out? I'm surprised no one hit on you. Or isn't Facebook like that?

  17. yeah, facebook is sooooooooo intrusive… i wish it would allow us to specify what we want or do not want announced, on an item by item basis. kind of like how on a blog, you can specify which blog or which photo you want private or public, neighborhood only or friends only, etc. as opposed to fb, where you can only choose a broad option for each application.i spend too much time on fb… time i should be spending reading for residency =)

  18. Purplesque says:

    Which is why I have practically no applications..Facebook is not going to make me spam my friends!

  19. Purplesque says:

    LOL..that wouldv'e been fun! I imagine a streak of bizarreness subduing tweets all over the world..

  20. Purplesque says:

    Very true. That is my only gripe with Vox..the must-sign-in rule. No fair!Vox is definitely my preferred network to 'socialize'.On facebook, I have a no applications, and NO pokes rule. But most of my 'real life' friends and family seem to favor FB, so it helps me know whats going on in their lives.

  21. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I hope not! A is on facebook, but he doesn't really log in anymore. My facebook contacts are all people I know in real life, so there better not be any hitting. šŸ™‚

  22. Purplesque says:

    Residencies come and go..but social networks rule!Vox is definitely far more private and sensible than Facebook. I hope it stays that way.

  23. oooooooooooooo………no! These internet places can be great.I was thinking this morning — what if there's really only a handful of people on the internet — pretending to be a lot of people, and typing like crazy? LOL — woldn't they be interesting to talk to, if they ever had time?I may be a little absent from Vox for a bit– I'm working on the redbubble thing….

  24. Purplesque says:

    LOL..thats a Very scary idea. Redbubble? Must visit you soon..

  25. *waves* the post from yesterday and the 2 posts from today will explain it — redbubble is an art site….*happydance*

  26. Brown Suga' says:

    Actually Facebook is VERY private if you make all the settings right … way better than Orkut. (Of course Vox is the best.) But I find Facebook really good – I have not been contacted by any strangers, except those who are friends of friends (I have kept that setting on since I might know them.) My own sister tried to add me and she couldn't find me online because of my super-tight security.

  27. Purplesque says:

    Yes..haven't had that kind of problem with facebook. Orkut didn't have Any privacy settings to begin with..getting much better now.

Leave a Reply

