Wedding pictures!

Finally..my sister-in-law sent me some digitalized wedding pics that I can share! I've been trying to do this ever since Karen posted those lovely pics.


This is where the baraat (the bridegroom, his family, all his guests and a music band) enters. Imagine a few hundred dancing people and a groom on a horse. In most weddings they are also happily intoxicated and shooting guns and other fireworks.


All those white stalls in the background? That's all Food. Each stall had a different kind of Indian cuisine. I would have been very happy if it were somebody else's wedding and I could just eat my way down that line.


Or maybe the photographer was testing his flash. This picture was taken before the guests arrived and the grounds were filled with women decked out in finery, sober-looking men and way more children that there should be on this planet.


..with her Gimped bridesmaids.There are no designated bridesmaids in India, everybody gets to go! I'm in the center, with assorted cousins and friends. My sister (on my left) has a fixed grin on her face coz her sari is about to slide off. (It didn't..rescued by the safety pin.)

This is the real deal, where the bride and groom walk around the holy fire and take the vows. By this time, I've lost my shoes and gained another sari and stuff on my head. My feet are sinking in the mattress and I want this to be over! The bride's brothers (which includes all male cousins) stand around the couple, gently moving them along in a symbolic show of support, the idea being that the brothers will always stand by the couple.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Wedding pictures!

  1. WOW! Everything is so beautiful and colorful! I love all the saris and you look GORGEOUS!

  2. That is just incredible – wow!

  3. Karen Lynn says:

    Thank you so much for sharing! These are gorgeous pictures. It is so fantastic seeing wedding customs from different cultures :))

  4. Emjay says:

    How wonderful! Thanks for putting the little custom notes in there – interesting. All that food!!! Did guests serve themselves or did you have waiters? Did you have shooting guns? What "stuff" is on your head? So many things I want to ask!!

  5. Purplesque says:

    Stuff on my head- 1. Fake bun, because you need a base for tacking on all the stuff. lol2. Flowers- there are about 2 lbs worth of jasmine garlands pinned to that bun!3. The heavy dupatta, which covers the hair and the flowers. (You can see it in the first picture.The bride usually has to have her
    head covered, as a sign of respect. Earlier, it used to be veils.)4. Later in the ceremonies, my head was then covered with another sari, that you see in the second pic.5. A paper and tinsel tiara affixed to the front of said sari. We had no guns..lol. And I think there were waiters..but people could always serve themselves if they wanted.

  6. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Its definitely more fun looking back at the pics and noticing all the things I never saw then..

  7. Emjay says:

    Wow! that is a lot of "stuff" ! LOL. You must have had to eat just to fortify yourself enough to carry it!! Do you actually practise carrying "stuff" on your head before the wedding?

  8. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I think I was too nervous to eat. There are no rehearsals in Indian weddings..but I must confess that was my least favorite part.

  9. M-----l says:

    Is there much competition among the "bridesmaids" to out-do each other attire-wise? Those look like some pretty fancy outfits they've got on there. I like that there's not a designated outfit for them. All the different styles and colors make for a wonderful picture.One of the women appears to be wearing pants. Does that have any significance?

  10. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..not really. Those closer to the bride in family hierarchy usually dress fancier. In the picture, my sister (fifth from the left) and my sister-in-law (third from the left) were most heavily laden. Women recently married (or looking to get married) also tend to dress up more. The 'pants' outfit is a salwar kurta, a more casual dress, usually preferred by younger women who don't want to wear heavy saris.

  11. amazing! i would have loved to sample the food too =)so how big was your guest count?

  12. O!!!!!!! Thank you so much! You are so lovely – and that's "A" — ? Handsome!I like that custom of having your relatives support you symbolically…The COLORS!!!! I'm just soaking them in and sighing. And I love the way the little food places are set up.Your friends and cousins looks wonderful. It's neat that there's no special bridesmaid distinction.The entrance shot and the one below– it all looks like a fantasy world made of dreams and happiness ….. really really gorgeous.thank you again for sharing these and for giving the details…

  13. Purplesque says:

    🙂 I think about 500, not counting kids. I wanted a small wedding, but I'm the youngest kid in my family and A is the oldest in his..so everybody got a little carried away.

  14. Purplesque says:

    Lol. It was like a fantasy…mostly because I was running on a mess of emotions!There are so many symbolic customs. In the last pic, we are both barefoot (because we've been praying.) When the groom starts to leave with the bride, the bride's younger sisters, cousins, and friends steal his shoes, so that he can't leave. He then has to bargain with them and bribe them with gifts, before they give him his shoes and let him take their sister. That's the funniest of all ceremonies

  15. sylph says:

    Those are lovely photos. I wish you a beautiful and happy life together.

  16. Karen Lynn says:

    Did you have a stiff neck the next day from having so much weight on your head? 500 guests! Oh gosh. Thats too funny about the shoes! :))

  17. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you.I was made to sit and look pretty, but we also had a sit down dinner with the whole family. There was a sampling of all the different foods served, but it couldn't compare with ambling down the line of food stalls, out of the focus of attention, and sharing food and chatter with friends.I suspect most weddings are both overwhelming and exciting for the couple involved, whether large or small. (By Indian standards 500 is not very large.)

  18. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..surprisingly not!

  19. Wow. Very cool….What do people do, who have little family and few friends?

  20. Purplesque says:

    Lol…Everybody has extended cousins and people at work and the guy at the grocery store where you shop..There isn't much exclusivity at most Indian weddings. Everybody that can be squeezed in the budget is squeezed in. Parents' business contacts, third-time removed cousins you haven't seen since you were three, bosses at work you want to please..

  21. That's really very nice. I never had a large family — lots of family members, but few that spoke to each other, you know? – and have always had a small group of friends, and when I was still young enough to think that getting married would suit me I worried that I wouldn't have enough guests and bridal party members. I like your way better….it makes the union of two people a community event, rather than just a family thing. At least that's how it strikes me….

  22. Purplesque says:

    Ah yes, definitely a community event. Even those relatives you dearly hate are invited.I had problem trying to keep the numbers manageable. My own guests were probably no more than 25-30… friends, close work colleagues, and close family members.

  23. Even those relatives you dearly hate are invited. Ah……*thinks*…..yikes. I guess there's good and not-so-god, in every custom….

  24. wow the wedding looks beautiful! my best friend only had a morning ceremony for the indian portion of the wedding, and then we did the traditional american wedding later in the evening. We did get to do the henna the day before though. I was paranoid about getting in on my hands since I was on my surgery rotation though and only ended up getting it on my ankle. I wanted it so badly too! =(

  25. oh and luckily she had enough saris so that all the bridesmaids got to wear one. We came well equipped with safety pins…

  26. Purplesque says:

    Ooh..that sounds great. Henna is lovely,but it gets really cold once you get henna up to your elbows and calves. I remember having to drink endless cups of tea just to keep warm!Sounds your friend wed in the US? Did you get blouses for the saris stitched beforehand? Did you get to do any dancing? 😀

  27. Yes married in Florida. I think they were her old sari's she's used for other things. Her mom had a couple suitcases for them and pulled some out that she thought we could wear. I had no idea what was going on in the Indian dances. It was fun to watch everyone though!

  28. LeendaDLL says:

    I worked with an Indian girl for about a year before I finally figured out that everyone is a cousin. I swear, no matter what we talked about, if the person was Indian she'd say "oh, they're my cousin."She had the WORST time trying to date – hard to blend the eastern & western traditions… especially when living in SoCal and most of the eligible men were very westernized but still trying to find eastern brides. I freaked when I learned that she wasn't supposed to talk to guys unless the intent was to indicate that she'd consider marrying them!!I'd love to attend an Indian wedding ceremony. Thanks for sharing the pictures!

  29. Purplesque says:

    LOL..that is funny. I'd love to find some 'cousins' here.The part about not talking to guys unless you want to marry them..that IS freaky. (It means I had the intent to marry, oh, I don't know, how many guys? Sleeping with them, now, is a different matter altogether.lol)India is just like America, or any other country, in that there are several subcultures, and they all have their own idiosyncrasies. Your colleague sounds like she came from the more conservative end of the spectrum.

  30. Aubrey says:

    Stunning! You look like royalty.
    This is my idea of a wedding: big, grand, colorful, extravagant, food-oriented and fraught with symbolism. It tells me that it was carefully thought out and that everyone cared deeply about each other.
    paper and tinsel tiara = [this is good]

  31. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Classic Aubrey. A perfect description in two sentences, and you capture the essence of it all. It would have taken me several hours and a few hundred words to even attempt something similar.

  32. Lakshmi says:

    Ah, how did I miss this post? Wonderful pictures. Both of you make such a "made-for-each-other" pair – ArE Nazar math lagaana (or whatever it is you would say in Hindi – my Hindi as you see is pretty dismal – bu tyou get the point, right?).And to all commenters out there who are not quite aware of Indian wedding customs, what you saw here was a typical "North" Indian wedding. A "South" Indian wedding is so different that you wouldn't even realise that both are of the same country. The only thing that is common is probably the grandeur. I really need to hunt for my wedding pictures to put up…

  33. Purplesque says:

    Your Hindi is perfect.We did get some pics taken in the made-for-each-other poses (dignified embrace in front of a hundred gawkers, holding hands, etc), but I didn't post them coz nothing would be left after blurring the faces. There was one pose..the photographer wanted A to give me a rose. We'd hold the pose for a few seconds, but I always ended up doubled with laughter before he could take the picture. In the end, no pictures of the groom giving the bride a rose. Lol

  34. Lakshmi says:

    OMG, you had to go through that crap? My sincere sympathies. Our photographer asked us to stand next to each other holding hands, and I absolutely refused. It looked MOST artificial.

  35. Purplesque says:

    I mostly look like I'm greatly amused. (One of the pics had me doing a fake cross-eye, but they didn't put it in the album.)

  36. Lakshmi says:

    Oh, that would have been my banner picture for the album. LOL.

  37. Purplesque says:

    LOL..I should get my hands on it before it is lost forever..Can't wait to see your pics. I've never been to a South Indian wedding, but from what I've seen on videos and pics, it appears to be a more dignified affair.

Leave a Reply

