Soup and bread

This is the first time I've tried baking a propah artisan bread. Not a ciabatta, or a focaccia, or even the artisan look-alike no knead bread. No sir, this is the basic hearth bread from The Bread Bible.

It starts with a starter. The starter ferments for a few hours. Then you make the dough. There is a first rise. Then a folding. Then another rise. You shape the loaf. Then, a final rise. The baking itself has three different stages.

There is flour all over the kitchen counter and every single measuring equipment I own is in the sink. Oh, but its all worth it.


Served with roasted tomato soup and broiled vegetables.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Soup and bread

  1. jaklumen says:

    Looks delicious!So, is it considered a sourdough?

  2. Purplesque says:

    Afraid not..I need a sourdough starter for that. Another long process..

  3. Emjay says:

    That sounds like a mammoth amount of work! I have a friend who has just started making sour-dough – it seems to be a process that takes days!!

  4. Purplesque says:

    Yes. The actual cooking time is not much, but you are basically tied down around the kitchen all day. Good for leisurely weekends..and quite therapeutic, if you have the time.

  5. lemondrop says:

    That looks really tasty! if only I had the time and space to make it myself.
    I love your photos btw, really nice shots. 😀

  6. Purplesque says:

    🙂 thank you.

  7. Next big Borders coupon.. i'm so getting the bread bible!

  8. SandyU says:

    That looks great! I've played around with sourdough some – you're right, it's very therapeutic…

  9. Purplesque says:

    Just be warned..there are few quick recipes in it. Almost everything needs multiple risings..

  10. oh but that's what I want! I always say… baking isnt real unless done from scratch. haha did I ever tell you I tried to make puff pastry dough? it was ok. I know what went wrong. still edible.. but not as good as it can be. Never had the time to have a second go at it after learning from mistakes.

  11. Purplesque says:

    Puff pastry! Thats one thing I've never tried. They had puff pastry as the secret ingredient on Iron Chef yesterday. Alton Brown was explaining how only five foldings would result in a pastry with 700 some layers..pretty cool.What did you make with yours?

  12. Purplesque says:

    Wow..your sourdough looks amazing! I've made pumpernickel once, but not the proper way..I always end up baking after a rough day at work. 🙂

  13. yea… my downfall was my impatience. hahaha didnt come out quite as flaky as I would have liked. I made it to make my napolean. I would say, that is one thing I will be willing not to make from scratch and just buy from the frozen aisle. I do want to try once more though. … oh and want to try making phyllo dough. that looked like fun…

  14. Purplesque says:

    Never made that either..I'd be scared to make filo..its so fragile!

  15. I know.. and I think it would be harder than puff pastry.. but it looked like so much fun in the book!!!

  16. Purplesque says:

    🙂 You're tempting me, girl..

  17. try it! try it! =) hehe evil… I know

Leave a Reply

