Granola breakfast bars

I used Alton Brown's recipe, cutting back on the butter and sugar. My substitutions are in brackets.



Ingredients-

2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds
( I used green pumpkin seeds- love the flavor)
1 cup sliced almonds ( A mixture of crushed almonds and walnuts)
1/2 cup wheat germ ( Wheat bran)
1/2 cup honey ( 1/4 cup)
1 3/4 ounces dark brown sugar, approximately 1/4 cup packed ( 1 ounce)
1 ounce unsalted butter, plus extra for pan ( about a tsp)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 ounces chopped dried fruit, any combination of apricots, cherries or blueberries
(raisins and cranberries)
* I also added 1/4 cup flaked sweetened coconut


– Butter a 9 by 9-inch glass baking dish and set aside ( I used a silicone loaf pan). Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

– Spread the oats, sunflower seeds, almonds, and wheat germ (and coconut) onto a sheet pan. Place in the oven and toast for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

– Combine the honey, brown sugar, butter, extract and salt in a saucepan and place over medium heat. Cook until the brown sugar has completely dissolved.

– Remove the oat mixture from the oven and reduce the heat to 300 degrees F. Immediately add the oat mixture to the liquid mixture, add the dried fruit, and stir to combine.

– Turn mixture out into the prepared baking dish and press down. Place in the oven to bake for 25 minutes.

– Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely. Cut into squares and store in an airtight container for up to a week.

One reviewer suggested using a bigger pan ( 9×13) to reduce crumbling. I ended up using a smaller loaf pan (This was before I'd read the reviews). With the reduced butter and sugar, my bars had a slim chance of staying whole.

 

These were Delicious. Easy to make, much, much cheaper than the store brought version, and so much healthier! The only store brought bars I've ever liked are the Nature Valley Roasted Almond, and this mix beats those hands down. I don't see a need to add the extra butter and sugar just to hold them together..will experiment with a few different setting methods, including the trusted muffin pan.

We layered the granola with berry yogurt for dessert.

Now hubby has no excuse for going without breakfast..

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Granola breakfast bars

  1. gt says:

    Yay! I was thinking of baking some granola bars for my road trip. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  2. Purplesque says:

    You're welcome. If you follow my recipe, though, you're more likely to have granola bunches than bars! 🙂

  3. LeendaDLL says:

    forgive my comment but, to me, it looks like a tray of cat litter. but, then, i got REALLY burned out on granola in the 70s.

  4. Brown Suga' says:

    NUMMY!!! I love granola.If I were your hubby, I wouldn't leave the house until I have sampled your cooking!

  5. Purplesque says:

    Cat litter…lol! Now that you've said it..it does. A little bit. I never ate granola until a few years ago..love it.

  6. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Even if it was 5 in the morning?

  7. Brown Suga' says:

    Well, it's a good incentive to get up at 5 in the morning 😛

  8. O! O! O!!❤ granola! The recipe – -including substitutions — is splendid! The fact that they aren't as well-organized spatially as their name implies wouldn't bother me at all. Bars, handfuls,from little plastic bags….any way; they'd be would be fine.Love the mix of nuts, whole grains and fruits!!The pix are gorgeous.

  9. Emjay says:

    That parfait looks divine!!!!! I had my yogurt, honey and macadamia nuts for breakfast but now I feel hungry!! As usual your photographs have a lot to do with the salivating reflex! 🙂

  10. Super yum and this would be fun to do with the kids! Thanks for sharing!

  11. bee says:

    i am making these for or next camping trip.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..thats where they are now, little bunches in plastic bags, one for each day!The granola yogurt fruit combo is my favorite. I could eat it Forever.

  13. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you. I'm wondering if we can eat parfait for dinner, again. I could add more fresh fruit..

  14. Purplesque says:

    Oh yes..I bet kids would love it! Thank you.

  15. With little ribbons tying notes to them? to have a great day? etc.?I'm still not a yogurt fan…..

  16. Purplesque says:

    Lol..cute idea, but do I really need to do that for hubby? Maybe I should..:)You might like Greek/Indian yogurt better than the American one, if its the texture that bothers you. I don't like the..no better way to put this..sliminess that American store bought yogurt has.

  17. Maybe every once in a while it would be nice, to do a note. When it's not expected.Yogurt flavor stops me before the texture. It's so acidic, to me. Bites!

  18. Purplesque says:

    Oo..wrong idea, then. Indian yogurt is usually much more sour.Ah, well. I'd suggest whipped cream with the granola, but that's not really good eats..

  19. Purplesque says:

    LOL..you have some sort of supernatural powers, RD!Just went into the kitchen. A left little notes attached to all the granola baggies I had made. 🙂

  20. No!! Seriously???that's so cool!

  21. I like it plain OK — with some water to sip..I love CRUNCHING things! little notes Well, I'm assuming they were nice little notes……

  22. Purplesque says:

    One hundred percent seriously. 😀 What are the odds?

  23. .He sounds like a good guy.*waves to A*

Leave a Reply

