Tattoos and Psychiatry

Here's my ppt for grand rounds. I had to delete a couple of slides where I wasn't sure of the ownership; that deleted the comments I'd already had on slideshare. 😦
 

Not all of it makes sense without the notes; I tried to keep it all visual. Even though I had to check my notes a couple of times (for study numbers and such), it made for a much better presentation. The students got all excited..I Love that.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Tattoos and Psychiatry

  1. haha I love it. I think it's going to make for a GREAT presentation.I didnt get to see the whole slide it seems to be cut off on my screen. but I saw I think 80-90% of each slide shown. Wish I could be there for the presentation!

  2. no wait. I'm retarded. I see the entire slide. I dont know what I did the first time.

  3. I get cut off screen too – what am I doing wrong?

  4. Purplesque says:

    Are you clicking on the hyperlink that says tattoos? Don't do that. Just run your cursor over the first slide until you see the pointing hand..and then just click for the next slide. Took me a while to figure it out myself. Or go here.

  5. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! It went really well; attendance was low because we had something else going on in the department at the same time..but those who were there loved it.

  6. awesome! it was a nice power point. =)

  7. Karen Lynn says:

    Most of them are so creepy.

  8. I had NO IDEA they could be so beautiful .. and that they were so prevalent.Loved the historical ones!!I'm so happy for you, that it went well and that your audience was engaged– that's what it's all about, I think — *applause*

  9. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..trust me, Karen, I chose the least creepy ones!

  10. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thanks.Take a look at this; I think you'll love it.

  11. the slide show was really well done – what was the overall premise of the presentation?

  12. Purplesque says:

    Tattoos are always symbolic to the wearer, and we should ask about their meaning. While the mere presence of tattoos does not mean anything, more tattoos and more visible tattoos are associated with personality disorders and risk taking behavior.

  13. Those pictures and the information — AMAZING.I've only ever seen one tattoo, I think, maybe two…and they couldn't have been anything fancy or I'd remember them. Oh — no — three, I guess- I saw numbers on a Nazi prison camp survivor's arm. Given the effects on age/gravity/sun damage on skin, I wonder how some of these really elaborate ones hold up? The images must shift.

  14. Purplesque says:

    :)Yeah..age is not kind to tattoos. I've seen a couple of Really ugly ones ( I hope mine fares better.)

  15. I guess it depends on a lot…..maybe some even change better.

  16. Emjay says:

    I think there is a some great artwork there. But then I don't mind tattoos as my son and sister are highly decorated! I enjoyed your previous post and our discussion about this subject so I won't write those thoughts/questions again. 🙂 LOL at myself – at first I could not make this work but then checked the comments and tried your suggestion – except I was trying to turn it backwards!!!!

  17. Purplesque says:

    I love tattoos…unless they are taking over the person. The ThInK one is amazing..if I was a chemist I'd Definitely get it.The hands are confusing..a scroll bar would be much simpler.

  18. Emjay says:

    I actually saw a girl on the metro platform one day with a pair of scissors and comb tattooed on her arm. It was brilliantly done and I had to ask about it – of course she is a hairdresser! 🙂

  19. that is really interesting that behavior can be tracked like that!

  20. Purplesque says:

    Yes..I've always been fascinated by body art and what it means to people.

  21. Brown Suga' says:

    Neat! I love tattoos for decorative and symbolic purposes, but I don't want one because I'll probably get bored of it.Do you have a tattoo?PS – I think I added you on twitter… but it's confusing. Are you on facebook or the like?

  22. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Just added you back on twitter! Um on facebook, though don't visit much (the poking gets on my nerves). Will pm you my Id.I have a tattoo on my ankle. Yaar ko hamne jaa ba jaa dekha, kahin zahir kahin chhupa dekha, written in Arabic script. As the ppt says (lol), its symbolic to me..a sufi couplet I really believe in, plus the tat forms an anklet that means something special.

  23. Purplesque says:

    🙂 One of my patients has a chain around his wrist (each link for the years he spent in jail). When I first saw it I assumed it was a rosary! (I went to a catholic school, and the nuns always had a rosary around their wrists.) lol

  24. Brown Suga' says:

    Nice! I think I'd like to get something like that…

  25. Emjay says:

    LOL – that's funny!!!! 🙂

  26. I know alot of people that have "ritual" tattoos or ones with spiritual meaning and it is always interesting to hear how they came about. I love the sufi couplet – how beautiful!

Leave a Reply

