Library Loot

They didn't have Brideshead Revisited, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time, the Maugham and some of the others that my neighbors had recommended. I didn't put a hold on them because this bunch might take a while…third year started today and it promises to be busy.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Library Loot

  1. Aubrey says:

    Enjoy – I love the way they look so dog-eared and worn; their pages have been turned by many hands, and hopefully will be turned by many more!

  2. Purplesque says:

    Thats what I love about library books. One of these even has a dedication on it. 🙂

  3. wow! this looks like FUN!

  4. shippouchan says:

    I love library books, but I'm always saddened when I can't find books I've been lusting after… But that's when I pretend my local bookstore is a library and camp out in a shady corner of the store and devour the books that way… 😀

  5. Brown Suga' says:

    Yay for Vonnegut! I loved The Sirens of Titan, I wanna get my hands on more of it.

  6. Clan of the cave bear. and interesting read. I liked it. Was this on the Big Read list? I dont remember seeing it.. havent read the others and only saw the movie for cheaper by the dozen.

  7. ps. with all the books going electronic, do you think the libraries are going to last? I went to the library recently to help my friend find books for his kid's summer reading list, but hardly anyone was there! This makes me sad… I always loved the library…

  8. Purplesque says:

    🙂 It is fun..I've started from the top and am reading my way down.

  9. Purplesque says:

    😀 I would Love to do that; there's a lovely old bookstore in town. Its the fear of being thrown out that keeps stopping me.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Oh, Good. I tried reading Vonnegut about ten years ago and didn't really get it. Thought it was time to try again.

  11. Purplesque says:

    It wasn't on the list, but somebody suggested it in the comments. I made this list based more upon what neighbors and friends recommended. Their choices are more interesting to me than a random list.I thought libraries would be here forever, but with things like Kindle catching on, albeit slowly, all bets are off. There's a grand old four story library here in the city, complete with benches and fountains outside and charming twenty year old computers inside! Its usually pretty full..I hope it stays that way in my lifetime.

  12. WOW!!Third year? How many are there?How do you mark that? Or is it just like any other day…..?It sounds impressive….the books!! How wonderful…….Vonnegut. I'm embarrassed to admit I've never finished one of his books–started a couple, just never got finished. But I was much younger; maybe thye'll suit better now.What a super pile! enjoy!!!!

  13. Purplesque says:

    Four years in all. A fellowship after that, and I will be unleashed upon unsuspecting patients! Imagine that. lolThe first day was marked by a new rotation, several orientations and a ton of things that must be done 'differently' from now on. Thats all.Will keep you updated about the Vonnegut..last time I tried reading him (and failed), I was 19.

  14. Thats all. No presents? :(Will keep you updated about the Vonnegut..last time I tried reading him (and failed), I was 19. Oh! You, too! Well, now I don't feel so bad.( I didn't read your earlier comment, to Brown Suga, until just now)

  15. Purplesque says:

    LOL..there are so many important authors that I read about and took home, and then had to return, unread. Vonnegut, Camus, Shakespeare, Tolstoy, Mailer. I read Kafka but had no idea why anybody would read him. Some that got past my ignorance..Steinbeck, Rushdie. 🙂

  16. Emjay says:

    You have some good reading there! Enjoy!! Now that I am taxi-ing instead of metro-ing I am not reading!! 😦 By the time I get into bed I am too tired.

  17. Purplesque says:

    Thats awful..how much longer do you have to wear the cast? ( The taxi conversations are as much as fun as a good book, methinks.)

  18. Emjay says:

    I have 4 more weeks in the cast. Then an MRI to see how it is healing – this will determine if I go in a soft/walking cast for 6 more weeks or have to consider surgery. I am rather enjoying my morning conversations.

  19. Purplesque says:

    I'll be keeping my fingers crossed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

