Israeli Couscous with grilled vegetables

A meal inspired by summer and sunflowers.


You know how those chefs on Food Network go on and on about texture and color and the tart, sweet and salty flavors coming together in a dish? This dish is a perfect study in all that and more.


The recipe is adapted from the smashing Veganomicon (Couscous with apricots and pistachios). I replaced apricots with cranberries and pistachios with almonds, because that's what I had in the fridge. 

Ingredients-

– 1 tbsp olive oil
– 1/2 cup halved almonds
– 2 cups Israeli couscous (aka pearl couscous, bigger than the regular kind)
– 2 1/2 cups vegetable stock
– Zest and juice of one lime
– 1 tsp powdered cumin
– 1 cardamom, powdered
– 1/4 tsp cinnamon
– 1/2 cup dried cranberries
– a handful of chopped cilantro
– salt and black pepper to taste

– Heat the oil in a heavy saucepan.
– Add the almonds and couscous and stir for 4-5 minutes, until they get toasty.
– Add the cumin, cardamom, cinnamon, zest and stock. Bring to a boil.
– Lower the heat, cover and simmer until the stock gets absorbed.
– Towards the end, season with salt and pepper, and stir in the lime juice, cranberries and the cilantro.

We served the couscous with zucchini and yellow squash, marinated in a mixture of olive oil, balsamic vinegar and Dijon mustard, and seared on our tabletop grill.

[While I was cooking, A came in and did something I've only seen men do; he ate some of the almonds I had chopped so carefully, not the whole ones. I pointed that out, calling it a 'papa thing.' He offered to chop more almonds. I told him, 'Don't cut your hand'. The guy is a Surgeon!! LOL..he ended up halving All the almonds in the box, purely out of WTF spite. :D]

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Israeli Couscous with grilled vegetables

  1. This sounds amazing and has been put into my rotation for the week – as well – pics are gorgeous!

  2. I agree. the photos are beautiful. Makes me want to get a new camera as well as the cook book!!!

  3. Brown Suga' says:

    Couscous = sabudaana, right?Somebody needs to write out a western-eastern culinary glossary…

  4. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thanks. I suspect you have bigger fish to fry at this time..

  5. Purplesque says:

    Sorry..I'm should do an intro with the uncommon ingredients (lazy, lazy).Couscous is not sabudaana. It is a fine semolina pasta, which usually comes in a size that even looks like semolina, and most people assume its a grain.Israeli couscous is much bigger than regular couscous. The texture and look is a lot like sabudaana, but try putting sabudaana in boiling water and simmering it! 🙂 This kind is a bit more hard to find, and just had to grab a bag when I saw it at the International Store.p.s. are you on twitter?

  6. Oh, that's a wondrous mix of flavors, I'm thinking..Fruits and vegetables togehter…and nuts!And CHICK PEAS!!!Yummity yum…LOL re the alomond-eating….yes, men do that, don't they? *shakes head* I'm glad he didn't hurt his hand….Your pix are stunning as always….

  7. Emjay says:

    LOL! Do you know how long it takes to shell enough pistachios to get a cup? That's what the astro-dweeb did to me – took shelled ones out of the measuring cup!!! Definitely a male thing!! Your photos are gorgeous as usual. Do you have to eat cold food – after all the photographing?? 🙂

  8. Purplesque says:

    *looks for chickpeas*How did you know I had chickpeas? There are none in the picture! Lol..

  9. Purplesque says:

    LOL..I'm relieved to know this is not a disorder than runs only in my family (and the family I married in)! Does the Astro-dweeb also have trouble resisting any kind of female hair doodads lying out there? Clips, hairbands, clenchers..No man I know can resist playing with them.The photographs don't take that long. I usually set the camera up before hand. Set the food on the table, quick click, then put the camera away and dive into the plate. If I don't get a good picture the first few tries, I don't bother.

  10. Brown Suga' says:

    I am on twitter, but I got onboard just for a lark … I think I've forgotten my password now. I'll PM you my twitter id later.

  11. *blinks* Aren't those couscous thiings tiny chickpeas? uh……oooooooooooops……I always thought that couscous was little chick peas…like hummus but not mooooooshed. you know? I'd better go look it up.lol — now you see why I'm called the Food Heathen…clueless.

  12. bee says:

    can i hire him to chop stuff in my house?

  13. Purplesque says:

    Thanks..I'm purplesque on twitter as well. Not sure if I like it, really, but keeps me updated on what's happening in the world.

  14. Purplesque says:

    😀 Its just a pasta. (And you can get healthy, whole grain couscous too.)The funny thing is, I did have tiny chickpeas (bought them online; much tinier than the usual) soaking at that time, for hummus. You are clairvoyant, perchance?

  15. Purplesque says:

    lol..as long as you keep your knives sharp.

  16. You are clairvoyant, perchance?I'm the Chickpea Whisperer!

Leave a Reply

