Arugula tomato pasta

The perfect summer night supper.

Ingredients-

2 tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic, smashed and chopped
1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
10 oz baby arugula (or as much as you like)
1 tsp dry basil
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
Zest of one lemon
1 tbsp all purpose flour
1 cup milk
1/2 lb penne pasta
salt to taste

– Bring a pot of water to boil. Salt it and add the pasta. Cook the pasta until a little less than al dente. Drain.
– While the pasta is cooking, heat 1 tbsp oil in a saucepan.
– Add the flour to the oil and stir until browned.
– Gently add the milk to the roux, whisking all the time. Bring the sauce to a boil, then simmer for a minute or two until thickened to a saucy consistency. Turn off the heat.
– Add salt, pepper, zest and basil to the sauce.
– Mix the drained pasta with the sauce and cover. The pasta will soak up the sauce while the veggies cook.
– Heat the other tbsp of oil in a skillet. Add the garlic. Saute until softened.
– Add the chopped tomatoes, arugula, and cook until just wilted. Season to taste.
– Serve the arugula tomato mixture over the pasta.

This was so good, I am now officially an arugula convert. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Arugula tomato pasta

  1. LeendaDLL says:

    great. my breakfast/lunch/dinner (at 4p) was 4 bagels & 2 cups of strong coffee. then you post this. you're so cruel to me.

  2. LeendaDLL says:

    btw: if i ever visit wherever you live, you are soooo cooking me a meal!!

  3. Purplesque says:

    🙂 If you ever head towards the east coast, drop me a message. I'd love to cook for you.

  4. Brown Suga' says:

    Arugula = the green veggies?

  5. Purplesque says:

    Yes'm..also known as Rocket, Rucola and supposedly, tara mira in Hindi. A spicy, peppery salad green. The heat is almost like eating radish leaves, and the flavor is amazing.

  6. Emjay says:

    My next door neighbour has arugula growing. I am going to try and snare some with my crutches over the fence! LOL. I think we tend to call it "rocket" in Australia. It is a wonderful taste.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Good luck! Such a wonderful green..I'm going to grow some in the new house. Very expensive in the grocery store..*shudder*.

  8. Emjay says:

    When you see how cheaply you can grow things it makes all those things seem ridiculously expensive in the shops. I know you are going to be so happy growing your herbs etc.

  9. O!O!O!O!I ❤ pasta!!!!! I never eat it…but I love it love it. Maybe I'll make some…like this…those little tomatoes are always so good!*dives into the center of the plate and munches happily*

  10. Purplesque says:

    As long as I don't turn out to have a brown thumb.

  11. Purplesque says:

    You never eat it but you love it? :)I wish we had some leftovers.

  12. Emjay says:

    LOL – I don't think that is possible for one who turns out such beautiful food!

  13. That's silly I guess– but I eat a lot of vegetables and whole grains and fruit — and there's just not much space left in the day for pasta — unless I give up Reeses and frozen yogurt……!!!!……but I'll do it. It's been a long tme since I had any – love rotini and those penne ones soooooooo much!!I wish we had some leftovers. I can imagine!!

  14. Purplesque says:

    You're very kind. We'll find out next month. 🙂

  15. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..you just described my predicament..so much food to cook and eat, only three meals a day.I used Healthy Harvest whole grain wheat pasta for this one..it is healthy, but tastes like its not. 🙂

  16. Oh! I've had that! It's delicious!

  17. Brown Suga' says:

    Sounds yummy. I'll ask my mom about it … (I don't know about radish leaves, but I'm not too fond of radish.)

  18. bee says:

    i have arugula and i will have tomatoes next week. thank you.

  19. TBC says:

    How good does that look! So colorful! I *love* pasta. Have never treid arugula though.

  20. Purplesque says:

    Argh, bad example. Arugula tastes nothing like radish. I was just trying to say that the leaves have a bit of heat, a spicy kick. Try it if you can find it..its delicious (even raw, in salads.)

  21. Purplesque says:

    This is the first time I tried arugula out of a salad. Love it.

  22. kt_krazy says:

    that looks delicious and i'm not a huge fan of arugala. beautiful picture.

  23. RachJ says:

    oh yom, I have loads of rocket gone wild and taking over a decent patch of garden. I only ever use it raw on salads, so hence Im not able to keep up with it! (I suppose whoever named it 'rocket' was being quiet literal..) I had honestly never come across it cooked before, so now ill be putting in large handfuls to meals!.. thanks!!

  24. Purplesque says:

    You have rocket taking over your garden? I'm jealous. It is so expensive here I can only buy it occasionally.If you have extra, though, why not make arugula pesto? It uses a lot of arugula and should freeze well.

  25. Simple yet spicy, easy yet tasty. Purple you really rock!

Leave a Reply

