Blueberry Breakfast Cake

Oh, so good.

Ingredients (recipe adapted from here)

1 cup all purpose flour
1/3 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or use all purpose)
3/4 cup old fashioned oats, crumbled coarsely
1/2 cup sugar ( I used 1/4 cup)
1 1/2  tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1- 1 1/2 cup milk
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup applesauce
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1 cup  blueberries

– Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees and grease a 8×8 cake pan.
– Mix the flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, soda, cinnamon and salt in a large bowl.
– Whisk together 1 cup milk, vanilla, applesauce, and cornstarch.
– Toss the blueberries gently in a tbsp of the flour mixture in a bowl.
– Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix quickly. ( All flours are different. If the batter looks dry, add more milk until it looks like cake batter.)
– Gently fold in the blueberries.
– Pour in the pan and bake for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool for ten minutes before serving.

The cake turned out really well. The original recipe calls for quick oats. Since I only had old-fashioned, I crumbled them into a coarse flour. That made the mixture soak more liquid ( I used 1 1/4 cups of milk), and I suspect the cornstarch can be omitted completely.

Nine servings : Per serving 133 cals (with 1/4 cup sugar), 27.5 gm carbs, 1.1 gm fat, 3.4 gm protein

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blueberry Breakfast Cake

  1. Emjay says:

    Can you pop over and whip this up for me? Looks delicious! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Noooooooooooooooo//////////// make it for me first!!!!!! lolvanilla essence? I need to look that up — I know only vanilla extract.that recipe looks so good. Your picture is exquisite. I love how you focused it!

  3. Purplesque says:

    Sorry, I meant vanilla extract. ( My British English is showing.lol )I was trying to capture the crumbly whole wheat look of the crust..it worked!

  4. Purplesque says:

    Anytime. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh! I just figured it was some special kind of "lighter" vanilla– just the essence……ha…could have fooled me!

  6. shippouchan says:

    that looks absolutely amazing. i love blueberries… and cake… and breakfast food. i might have to try making this tomorrow…

  7. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! I know what you mean..when I woke up this morning I had to have a breakfast cake with blueberries..nothing else would have done. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Karen Lynn says:

    So when did you say you and A were moving to Milwaukee? :))

  9. Purplesque says:

    As soon as you get rid of all the peeing toads in your house..:)

  10. Karen Lynn says:

    <falls off chair laughing>It is officially a toad free zone now. :))

Leave a Reply

