Weeknight dinner- Curd Rice

With microwave semolina idlis and coconut cilantro chutney.

The hardest part of this recipe was mashing my perfectly cooked, long, separate grains of fragrant Basmati rice into the creamy mush that is curd rice. [That's conditioning for you.] The mashing is important to give it the creamy texture, though, and for a proper melding of flavors.

Curd Rice (recipe adapted from here)

– 1 cup raw rice (medium grain is good)
– 2 cups water
– 1 cup milk
– 1 cup sour plain yogurt ( Activia plain yogurt comes closest to homemade.)
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 tbsp vegetable oil
– a pinch asfoetida (optional)
– 1 tsp mustard seeds
– 1 tbsp ginger green chilli paste
– a few curry leaves (I used dried ones that my mother mailed from her kitchen garden in India.)
– 1 tbsp chopped cilantro
– a handful of seedless grapes, or pomegranate arils, or fresh cherries

– In a saucepan, soak the rice in the water for 20-30 minutes.
– Place the saucepan on high heat and bring to a boil, covered. Then lower the heat and simmer until all the water is absorbed. Keep the lid on as much as you can.
– Turn off the heat, and add the salt and the milk to the rice, stirring and mashing the rice with the back of your spoon. The rice will absorb most of the liquid. Cover, and let it cool.
– Once cooled to room temperature, add the yogurt and mix it in.
– Heat the oil in a small skillet.
– Add the asfoetida and the mustard seeds. Let em pop.
– Add the curry leaves and the ginger green chilli paste. Saute for a minute.
– Add this tempering to the rice along with the fruit and the cilantro. Mix well.
– Chill in the fridge for half an hour.

Serve with your favorite hot pickle.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Weeknight dinner- Curd Rice

  1. Let em pop. they pop? Neat!This looks delightful and I would love to taste it. them.Your Mom's curry leaves!! that's such a good feeling!Your picture is GORGEOUS!!

  2. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Thanks.Mustard seeds pop and jump, and hurt a lot if they manage to touch skin. (Mom has been keeping me in a constant supply of home ground spices. I love cooking with them and use them in everything, yet they are so precious…its a bittersweet feeling.)

  3. its a bittersweet feeling.) aww……((hugs)) jump, and hurt a lot if they manage to touch skin. I had no idea…wow.

  4. julie says:

    I'm constantly learning more about Indian food thanks to you. I love it. Curd rice sounds so amazing. You are awesome Purple!

  5. Brown Suga' says:

    Curd rice = Best. South Indian. Food. EVAR.

  6. Emjay says:

    As usual your food photography is superb! You are going to be able to write and photograph your own book entirely! I cooked something the other day with mustard seeds and coriander seeds. I love when they start popping! πŸ™‚

  7. Purplesque says:

    I'm learning as well, Julie..this is South Indian fare, food that I did not grow up with, but learned to cook along the way. There are still so many Indian regional cuisines I haven't explored..the thought keeps me excited. Thanks!

  8. Purplesque says:

    I agree one hundred percent. This is what we used to get from Sagar Ratna..it came with pappadam and a hot tomato-garlic chutney. Food to die for.

  9. Purplesque says:

    Thanks, Emjay..I'm too lazy to even watermark my pictures, let alone write a book. What did you make with the mustard and coriander seeds? The cool thing about mustard is, it completely changes character. I love the nutty taste of popped mustard seeds. And ground mustard is used in Indian pickles to give them the sourness. In the north, we use fine black, more pungent mustard seeds, while in the south, a dark brown, bigger version is used, which is milder. I'm planning to buy some yellow ones and make some home-made, zero-alcohol, coarse mustard.

  10. Emjay says:

    I made a filling to stuff potatoes with the mustard and coriander seeds. I baked the potatoes for an hour and then carefully removed the pulp and mashed it with the heated seeds and some chives and half/half (milk/cream) and I think something else but it is slipping my mind at the moment. Put all back into the potato shells and bake in the oven for another 20 mins. I was only going to have one half a potato but it was so nice I had a whole one! πŸ™‚

  11. bee says:

    try rose matta rice. the curd rice is tastier and way creamier. have you tried sundried tomatoes or yogurt chillies in this?

  12. Purplesque says:

    I wanted to, but using rosematta in our household takes forever. I have to pick it clean because it has tiny pieces of stone that go crunch under the teeth. Not nice. Sundried tomatoes would be super cool..what are yogurt chillies?

  13. Purplesque says:

    Ooh, ooh, ooh. That sounds Utterly delicious..I lurve stuffed baked potatoes! You have been cooking up a storm lately..why no pictures?

  14. Emjay says:

    Because we are so hungry by the time I get it ready there is no time to photograph before it is have gone! LOL πŸ™‚

  15. Brown Suga' says:

    Yoghurt chillies are what we call mor molagai in Tamil – you know, the crispy, roasted-to-black red chillies that are marinaded in yoghurt to give them that unique tangy-but-not-so-spicy flavour. (I don't know the exact method, but everyone in my family makes them and they are AMAZING with curd rice.)

  16. Purplesque says:

    OMG, I sure did not know! They sound super-hot! I checked the recipe online..seems like some sundrying is involved. I'll have to wait until after we move to make them, not enough sun here, but they are bound to be a hit. Thanks a ton, Suga!

  17. bee says:

    gal, you get yogurt chillies at any indian grocer. even my gujju bhai stocks them. else, i can mail you some.

  18. Purplesque says:

    Hmm…I've never looked for them before, seems like they should be available at the Indian store here. If not, I might take you up on that offer! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

