Coffee colored memories

American coffee was the biggest culture shock we had on our first visit to the US. I almost gagged at my first sip of the Starbucks Roast. This was not coffee. Where was the milk? The sugar? The sweet stickiness that was supposed to coat the back of your throat?


Several packets of Equal and half-n-half later, we ended up discarding the coffee.

These days, I drink several cups of black hospital coffee to get through the day. But at home, the old cravings tend to come back.

Indian style whipped coffee

– 4 tbsp sugar
– 2 1/2 tbsp instant coffee (yes, I know)
– a few tbsp water
– 3 cups milk (or an equal mixture of milk and water)
– A sprinkling of drinking chocolate

– In a small glass or metal bowl, mix together the sugar and coffee.

– Now with a spoon, add a few drops of water at a time, until you have a paste of toothpaste consistency. Tilting the bowl, start beating this paste with the spoon. It will change color as you beat it, becoming lighter and increasing in volume. When it starts feeling tight, add another few drops of water.

– After ten minutes of wrist and elbow exercise, you'll end with the whipped cream seen above. (If you've ever beaten butter and sugar for a cake, you know what I'm talking about.)

– Boil the milk. Add a generous tbsp(or more) of the cream into a mug, and pour the boiling milk from a distance into the mug. Gently stir with your spoon until the cream is dissolved. A fine foam will rise to the top. Sprinkle with drinking chocolate if you like. Share with loved ones.


The picture above goes to CLICK July 2008. This month's theme is Coffee and Tea. I'm super-excited because they asked me to be one of the judges for this month's event…makes me feel all grown-up and important. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Coffee colored memories

  1. Aubrey says:

    Congratulations, Madame Judge!
    As for coffee…well, I'm a product of my country: I like it strong and black. When I make it at work, an all points bulletin goes out…have your coffee, but this is just a warning: you might want to have some half and half on hand!
    Boyfriend likes his coffee sweet, too. But then, he also thinks that pancakes are a food group.

  2. Purplesque says:

    Wait, you mean, pancakes are Not a food group?Darn. I love the idea of strong black coffee, but my stomach cannot bear the reality of it. Not for me, the ranks of coffee braves..

  3. Emjay says:

    Congratulations on growing up! LOL. I have to be really desperate to drink Starbucks! – then I will have a latte so that the amount of milk disguises some of the bitterness. I used to have a bumper sticker which said "Friends don't let friends drink Starbucks" !! I have to admit that I use instant if I am on my own and in a hurry! Moccona – and yes, I do get it sent from Australia! 🙂

  4. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I've never been able to come to a compromise with Starbucks. The local cafes that roast their own beans are Much better. Lend me your bumper sticker!I still don't own a coffee maker, and we use our coffee grinder to grind spices. Moccona sounds like my kind of coffee..:)

  5. Congrats on the judgeship! Very cool.Don't get too used to feeling grown up — it comes and goes. haaa…..that's so amazing, that you made that foamy wonderfulness. I've never whipped cream or egg whites or anything – wow. You did that? *applause*I drink coffee with no sugar,, no cream no nothing. But only if I have something sweet to drink it with. So I guess I might like the sweet one.

  6. Emjay says:

    I agree local or independent cafes are better – but there have been a couple of times when there was nothing except Starbucks ……. (so sad!). I have never found a compromise of any sort at McDonalds!!!

  7. Brown Suga' says:

    I had to have 2 cups of black coffee yesterday to keep myself awake at work. Left me feeling dehydrated! At least they had sugar.For me, nothing comes close to freshly-brewed South Indian filter coffee. YUM.

  8. Karen Lynn says:

    Yum! This looks so good! (and so very bad for my crash diet) lol :))

  9. Rebecka says:

    My god, this sounds absolutely delish' but oh so unhealthy! 🙂 I actually love the coffee at Starbuck's! Am I the only one? It's not too bitter and not too bland, me thinks! 😉

  10. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..how did you know that, RD? I feel about 7 years old today..all giddy and happy because we beat the other team at psych Jeopardy.*Goes to look for leftover coffee cream in the fridge*

  11. Purplesque says:

    *shudder* I've never been to McDonalds here; the experience at McDonalds in Delhi soured me forever.I actually like the new Starbucks light mocha frappuccino.

  12. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Yes, it is not exactly health food, more an occasional sin.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Oh, I love South Indian filter coffee. We bought tons of it when we went to Mysore. Sadly, it didn't taste the same when we made it back home. Guess there's something to be said for technique. 🙂

  14. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..don't worry, Rebecka, I think you're in good company. The quality of Starbucks coffee varies from place to place..sounds like you've found a good one.

  15. Emjay says:

    LOL! I was at University when one of the first McDonald's opened in Sydney. They gave out 2 for 1 offers on the burgers so all we poor starving students paired up with someone & raced down to try them. I was not impressed at all and have never had another Maccas burger. When they started "fresh" sandwiches in Sydney a couple of years ago, the Princess talked me into trying one but again, I was not impressed. AND…. on a long road trip once when nothing else was open I got a cookie thinking it would be the least offensive thing I could buy and actually eat – I don't think I finished it.

  16. Purplesque says:

    Your experience is similar to mine..except I gave up after two tries. The only good experience we had with 'western' food chains in India was with Wimpy.They actually served a very nice pizza and the best tasting mustard I've ever had outside of home. Oh, and the Pizza Hut pineapple mint pasta salad..Pizza Hut India is mucho better than its American counterpart.

  17. Nyght says:

    This has me salivating!

  18. Brown Suga' says:

    Pizza Hut India is mucho better than its American counterpart. Never had the American one, but I have to agree PH India is amazing. So is Smokin' Joe's.

  19. Purplesque says:

    Smokin' Joe's..I had to Google that. Homegrown Parsi entrepreneurs..they don't seem to have any outlets in Delhi. ( That makes me feel better. I am proud to report that I have eaten at all worthwhile Delhi eateries. 🙂

  20. Larsnxd says:

    You evil evil person!! Coffee is on my bad list…but how can I resist trying out this recipe?! Starbucks is vile…plus they make you pay an extra 30 pence for soya milk! *The horror!*
    x.

  21. Purplesque says:

    :)) Thanks! Let me know how it turns out. Extra 30 pence for soy? Hmphh..hurrah for homemade!

  22. Manisha says:

    This was the only way to have coffee back in India! I preferred this to the South Indian version. You brought back such lovely memories. We used to called it expresso coffee when it was made this way. Sometimes a dash of cinnamon to make it the equivalent of a cappucino. I can't handle that much sugar anymore but I think I will have to make this soon – for old times sake!

  23. Purplesque says:

    🙂 You are right, we called it espresso too, but I had forgotten! This is the best thing on a cold winter night, isn't it?Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

