Random thoughts

I've recently discovered Noah Gordon, and while his books are, at best, superficially researched historical fiction with often obvious glitches, he tells a darned good story. I'm reading the last book of his trilogy of the Cole family (The Physician, Shaman, Matters of choice) , and it came as a shock to realize that this was real. David Gunn, a physician who performed abortions, was shot to death by anti-abortion activists in 1993, in Florida.

I grew up in a religion that has its core in non-violence. Life, in all its forms, is sacred. I have never eaten or used products derived from killing an animal. I could not kill another human being, even in self defense. Yet when I saw the depressed 18 year old who was pregnant for the third time with a baby whose father she did not know, had no way to support (and a declared lack of intent to try), her plan to get an abortion did not seem so sinful.

The residency has been an eye opener…there have been too many young women with no way to support themselves, let alone a baby, either physically, emotionally, mentally or financially. In moments of frustration I have told my colleagues we need parental screening laws, that only those with a declared intent and means to raise a child should be allowed to get pregnant. That a child should not be born just to suffer, to be shuffled from foster home to foster home, abused, neglected, and grow up with all odds stacked against him/her, if at all.

Right now, I am just glad to be a psychiatry resident, and not a gynecologist.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Random thoughts

  1. Aubrey says:

    My ex-sister-in-law fostered many unwanted children – children who floated in placentas filled with drugs and alcohol. They were a challange, but let's just say that the state pays well; we are pretty much sure that that was the only reason she was willing to take them on.
    There are children who are born to be abused, as well as children who are abused before they are born. Their lives are doomed, as well as the lives of their parents. Wretched situations like this exist around the world…I don't view abortion as a sin.
    Purplesque, you are being very brave.

  2. Purplesque says:

    Brave how? I know I would do abortions if I were a gynecologist, and I know it would make me very unhappy. I won't have to make that choice in this profession, so its a moot point anyway.

  3. Friend suggested the same thing – no one should be allowed to have a womb until they could prove they could be a good parent.

  4. Zotta says:

    I hear you. Gynecology's a seriously difficult job even in the best of times.

  5. Emjay says:

    It must be very difficult for a gynecologist who generally feels joy at bringing a little baby into the world.
    As a psychiatrist you are likely to see some of the effects of this damage and neglect to children in teenagers & adults you treat. I don't want your job either! 🙂

  6. ((((((((Purplesque)))))))Our world is so seriously &#*@ed up…. I'm not a kid person and babies make me skittish, but I believe that they should come into lives with love and joyous expectations for their happiness — not as dreaded burdens. Come on over and see the bunnies; they'll cheer you up!

  7. Purplesque says:

    Seriously. I can imagine the hoopla such a law would create in a democracy, but don't babies deserve to be born with some promise of a decent quality of life?

  8. Purplesque says:

    Yes..while I love the science of it, the social aspects were why I was never drawn to Ob-Gyn as a vocation.

  9. Purplesque says:

    Oh God, yes, Emjay, I see that all day, everyday. The percentage of people who develop a psychiatric disorder based solely on organic/biological factors is minuscule. I look at the rest and think..the only difference between them and me is the accident of birth. That's Very scary.

  10. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thanks, RobbbieDobbbie. I get morbid sometimes (especially in the wee morning hours). But you could cheer up anybody..I really admire you for that.

  11. morbid sometimes Awww, that happens……I guess we all do, in our way, for all the many reasons people have. You're probably more empathetic because of it, you know? thanks about the cheering up…I was "head cheerleader" for years, for my Mom; I guess it's just part of me.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Yes..I had a friend like that, in medical school She had ups and downs like all of us, but she was always, always cheerful..always a goofy smile and funny words for everybody. And the cool thing is, if you even act cheerful, it starts to feel true after a while. Your mom was lucky to have you. 🙂

  13. Oh, I'm glad you had a friend like that! I'm just an optimist…or at least I don't assume that things will be horrible. I got that from my Dad. Mom was the opposite — I probably made things better for her most times, but other times I annoyed the heck out of her — like my Dad did — ! I spent decades fighting scary-deep hormonally-based (yes, those hormones…) depression, and now that it's gone, I'm just so ….content….It's much easier, being a non-depressed optimist than a depressed one!

  14. Aubrey says:

    Brave as in honest. You are facing some very difficult issues in a fair and forthright manner. Many people just lock these feelings away, instead of looking at them, and wondering what makes them tick.

  15. Purplesque says:

    A depressed optimist..oh dear, that sounds too familiar.Happy to know the depression is gone..it makes you feel so un-like yourself..that's the most horrible thing, I feel.

  16. Purplesque says:

    Oh, I see what you mean. The internet definitely make it easier to do that, doesn't it? For someone like me, expressing myself on issues like these would be much harder in person..

Leave a Reply

