All in a day’s work

One of my patients fired me today. She had been very erratic, and something about her made me suspicious. Her drug screen was positive for three different drugs. I offered her a drug contract. She called me a bad doctor and walked out the door.

That's all.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to All in a day’s work

  1. Emjay says:

    Your job is tough! And, that's that! 🙂

  2. LeendaDLL says:

    Not everyone is ready to be helped. Or, more specifically, not everyone is ready to help themselves. (said by a woman with a bad knee due to obesity, who still can't seem to find the motivation to loose weight)

  3. (((Purplesque)))That's carp.

  4. modern epidemic "not my fault" , no one takes responsibility for themselves…try not to take it personally, you know you did all the right things.

  5. Purplesque says:

    When something like this happens, yes..I felt horrible All day yesterday.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Leenda…that's exactly what my attending said. This is the third time a patient has lashed out at me because of addiction, and every time it feels like a slap in the face.

  7. Purplesque says:

    🙂 thank you. I needed that.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I took it Very personally, but I'm doing much better now, after a big session at the pottery class, taking it all out on the clay. Thank you. 🙂

  9. Scott says:

    I guess that's the essence of denial: hey, I've got a drug problem, it must be the doctor's fault!

    At least she could have been straight with you and said "Piss off, I like getting high." 😉

  10. Karen Lynn says:

    Gf, have you ever watched "Intervention" on A&E? The addicts are not as strong as the drugs they let take over their lives. You have to remember that it is the addiction talking, not the patient. ((((((hugs)))))))

  11. Purplesque says:

    Seriously. I Like those kind..they're usually either very young or very old.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Never watched intervention, but I know what you're talking about. The addicts I see day in and out don't bother me, as long as they tell me the truth. Its the ones you've been treating for months for something else, and then suddenly, you realize they'd been lying to you all along and buying drugs. Its still the addiction, but its also a big breach of the doctor-patient relationship. At some level, its also my own failure, not being able to inspire enough trust.

  13. Karen Lynn says:

    You can't blame yourself for their deception. You are handed the addicts, you do what you are supposed to do to help, it isn't your fault when they fail and lie to you about it. It is the addiction, and the cover up. Listen, I know, I am addicted to cigarettes. It took me about 3 weeks before I could even blog about it. I am still hiding it from my parents, they have no clue I started again. Does that make them failures as parents? nah, it is my addiction. ((((hugs))))you've really had a trying week, haven't you? I am glad you are doing the pottery class, I am sure that helps release these feelings. I love your sensitivity :))

  14. Purplesque says:

    Lol…hubby and I had a big argument about that. He gets upset when the Vascular surgery patients can't give up smoking. I told him nicotine is the worst, worse than hard drugs. He doesn't believe that..lolI am having a crazy week..and its only Tuesday. I need to cook my heart out when I can find the time. 🙂

  15. Aubrey says:

    Writing, drawing, cooking – any type of art will settle you down, help you see things as they actually are; as they really happened. These things will help you see that no matter how much trust and strength and intelligence you offer, if a patient is suspicious and still clinging to their illness that patient will turn his/her back on you.
    You can't torture yourself over this. Have some cornbread. Power up. There will always be someone else who needs your valuable help.

  16. I totally agree with Aubrey. You did what you can. You can only help those who want to help themselves. I'm sure there are many patients who really want and need your help. Buck up! 🙂

  17. Lakshmi says:

    I am so proud of you, P. What else can I say ?

  18. Purplesque says:

    Yes..I'm doing fine, now, Aubrey, thanks for the kind words. Sometimes just putting stuff like this out here helps me feel better..this isn't really the kind of thing I talk over with colleagues/supervisors. (Hubby, yes.)

  19. Purplesque says:

    Its always the ones that get away that you think about, you know..:)

  20. Purplesque says:

    I'm so proud that you are proud of me! 🙂 There isn't much to be proud of..yet.

  21. Fanny says:

    I'd love to be able to say something helpful but I think your friends have got there before me – however, I would like to say how helpful it is that you recognise how difficult the whole nicotine thing is – I know that I'm only ever one puff away from going back to a 20 a day habit despite knowing how ridiculous and damaging it is to smoke. (9 months smoke free and it feels good….most of the time…)

  22. Purplesque says:

    9 months smoke free..Bravo!! I've seen second hand how difficult it is to quit and stay quit..you have All my admiration.

Leave a Reply

