Sunday brunch- Aebleskiver

Sweetening it up in the kitchen post-call. After making savory appey in the aebleskiver pan, today we made traditional aebleskiver, apple stuffed danish pancakes, dipped in powdered sugar and served with raspberry preserves.

For the apple stuffing (from here):

2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, shredded
1 tsp butter/oil
3 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp orange juice
a pinch nutmeg powder
1/4 tsp cinnamon powder

– Mix all ingredients on low-medium heat in a nonstick saucepan. Cook until apples are softened, about 5 minutes. Remove, drain, reserve the liquid.

For the aebleskiver:

1 and 1/4 cup all purpose white flour
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon powder
1/4 tsp ginger powder
1 and 1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup water ( I used the liquid from stuffing)
2 tbsp oil/butter
2 tbsp maple syrup/brown sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
 
– Sift the dry ingredients together in a bowl.
– Whisk the wet ingredients together in another bowl.
– Mix the dry and the wet ingredients together. Avoid over-mixing.

To make aebleskiver-

– Heat the pan. Add 1/2 tsp of butter/cooking spray to each cup.
– Add 1 tbsp of pancake batter, then 1 tsp of apple stuffing, finally, another tbsp of batter, to each cup.


-When the top bubbles and bottom browns, turn them gently about 90 degrees with a knitting needle/fork. The filling will spill down into the bottom of the cup (thats the idea).

 
– Let the bottom brown, then turn another 90 degrees, completing the flip. Let the bottom brown again.

– Remove, sprinkle with powdered sugar, and serve with raspberry jam.

Makes 25 aebleskiver, per pancake 55 calories, 1.6 gm fat, 9.9 gm carb, 1.1 gm protein.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sunday brunch- Aebleskiver

  1. Scott says:

    Oh my. That looks absolutely fantastic.

  2. *stares, incomprehensibly speechlessy giddy with sugar-glee*Sorry about the upset and the people who aren't doing what they should — that's rotten – but the next time it all gets to you and aggravates you and you feel like making these, will you let me know and I'll fly there licketysplit and grab some of these?WOW. REALLY nice…..

  3. yes it does look good!

  4. Karen Lynn says:

    Oh my, these look divine. yummmmmm

  5. Spike says:

    I think I gained two pounds just looking at those photos. I dare not show them to my spouse or he might want some tomorrow morning..and I don't have the right pan..not YET. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing that recipe.

  6. keeping this recipe – yum

  7. Brown Suga' says:

    Oooh! This looks exactly like a South Indian dish called appam – not the savoury Kerala-style dosa-like pancake (that one's actually pronounced aapam) but a sweet dumpling. Here's the Wiki link:"Appam also refers to another South Indian sweet dish, which owes its origins to Tamil Nadu. This is made with flour, jaggery, clarified butter — ghee — and bananas. A batter made out of flour, jaggery and banana is poured into a vessel called appakarai,
    which has ghee heated to a high temperature. The appams take the shape
    of small cups, and are fried until deep brown. Appams are a festive
    sweet, made on Gokulashtami – the birthday of Hindu deity, Krishna."

  8. Simple says:

    Your food looks delicious. and the photos are awesome too!!

  9. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you.

  10. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you. We don't have to find bad post-call days to eat aebleskiver, Robbiedobbie..you can come over any time you like! The first time I tried making these, it was such a mess. I thought I'd never get the hang of these..but I did!

  11. Purplesque says:

    Thanks, Karen! 🙂

  12. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..they are rather sinful, aren't they? There are both cast iron and regular non-stick aebleskiver pans available online..you might want to see which one fits your needs better. I've also used this recipe to make regular pancakes with apple filling on a flat griddle! Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

  13. Purplesque says:

    Lol..thats exactly where I read about appam! Thanks for telling me the difference between appam and aapam..I was confused about that. So all the savory idli-dosa kind are aapams? I'm in trouble now, appams sounds even more sinful than aebleskiver. They also remind me of something we just called gulgule..made on Holi. Balls of wheat flour dough fried in ghee and dipped in melted jaggery. GOD those were something else.

  14. Purplesque says:

    Thank you, Simple..and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  15. OMG, I was staring at those pancake ball babies for 5 minutes before I realized what I was doing! This is superb! I gotta make these. I'd love to swallow some of them right now. Every time I get busy for a few days, you'll make these comforting food for my eyes and mind. Thank you so much for the joy you're spreading around!

  16. Purplesque says:

    I should have sent this post to you..I know you love pancakes. You really should try these..they practically melt in your mouth. Thanks!

  17. You bet I will. I'm practical melting in them now. 🙂

  18. Brown Suga' says:

    I missed your recipe for semolina appey – I saw it just now. The appearance is the same as that of the sweet one… maybe there are both sweet and savoury varieties. But yes, both are totally different from aapam – it's a dosa, cooked on one side and never flipped. Instead it's covered, and the other side is cooked by the steam. Sometimes they add toddy to the batter, probably for fluffiness. It's usually served with veg or non-veg stew.Check out this blog: http://bhagavathy.blogspot.com/ It's written by a Kerala Iyer lady, so you'll find both Kerala and Tamil recipes!

  19. Purplesque says:

    Oh, yes, those aapam – I've had them at Sarvana Bhavan in Delhi, with a coconut vegetable stew. Delicious stuff. I don't think they added any toddy to the batter, though, shame on them.Thanks for the link..I'm always looking for authentic food blogs. (So that I can take their authentic recipes and twist them all out of recognition! lol)

  20. rogue says:

    I've made these before but I think I like your recipe (and directions) better! Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

