Soup for dinner

Lima bean and carrot soup with spinach-tomato focaccia. Adapted from this recipe, with a little tweaking. Perfect comfort food for the soul..simple, earthy and delicious. This was my first attempt at cooking with Lima beans, and they have now found a permanent place between the massive stacks of lentils and chickpeas in our pantry.

1 lb dry lima beans
8 cups vegetable stock/water ( I made some with onion, bay leaf, mushrooms, cilantro stalks and celery)
4 medium carrots, chopped
1 tbsp butter
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp basil
1 tsp thyme
salt and black pepper to taste
cilantro/parsley for garnish

– Soak lima beans in 5 cups water overnight. I used the quick-soak method ( soaking them in boiling hot water for two hours). Drain the beans.
– Heat butter in a soup pot. Saute the carrots for two minutes, then add basil, thyme, and soaked lima beans. Saute for another couple of minutes.
– Add stock. Bring to a boil, then turn the heat to low, cover and let it simmer for an hour.
– Remove a cupful of beans with some liquid, mash well and return to the pot. Simmer for another 10 minutes.
– Add milk, salt and pepper to taste. Turn off the heat. Serve garnished with cilantro/parsley.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Soup for dinner

  1. Emjay says:

    Looks delicious! Did you make the focaccia?

  2. Aubrey says:

    Lima Beans!!
    I am definately giving this recipe to my father – when he cooks them limas, it takes him all day. This recipe looks like it will save him some time, while offering a far more flavorful stock.
    And once again, an elegant, beautifully composed photograph. Don't you ever stand in front of an open refrigerator, just throwing scraps of food in?
    Wait…that's me…

  3. Purplesque says:

    Yes'm. I am so in love with focaccia. It seems to get better every time. This one was a troublemaker..the spinach released more water than I'd expected, and I had to keep on adding flour to the dough. But the end result was delicious! (With your fresh herbs, it would taste so good..)

  4. Purplesque says:

    I bet his limas taste amazing..do you think you could get his recipe for me? :)The way I cook..check whats in the fridge, google the main ingredient (or two), come up with a recipe, tweak it to fit our rather mis-matched tastes, add whatever is about to go stale, cook. Then, A cleans up while I take pictures (this includes cursing myself for not buying round, plain white tableware and bemoaning the lack of real soup bowls). If you could see the mess that was cropped out of that picture..on the other hand, I'm glad you can't.

  5. Emjay says:

    You are so clever! 😉 All you need are your own fresh herbs! My cilantro (coriander) has gone to seed! Not sure if I can dry the seeds and plant them – might have to google that. What did we do before google!! The way you get your recipes is how I make my alcoholic drinks! 🙂

  6. RachJ says:

    lima bean soup is one of our all time faves here. and that bread looks amazing!Emjay, you can definitely save your own corriander seed. when mine went to seed I just stripped handfuls of the seed off the plant and just tossed it straight back on the garden- no drying, no planting. the result? millions of baby corriander plants all over the garden- yum!! (ive burnt out the processor making unthinkable amounts of corriander pesto…)

  7. Purplesque says:

    You can plant them, or dry them, grind them and use them to make Indian-style curry! They have a nice earthy taste that goes well with most stews.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! Am I the only herb-less person in this country? Sigh..can't wait to move and start planting. Jealous@ unthinkable amounts of coriander pesto (what I would call a chutney). 🙂

  9. Emjay says:

    Thanks for the hint! I will do that this w/end.

  10. This looks perfect for a dinner! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe again.

  11. Purplesque says:

    Be warned, though..This was my first time eating Lima beans, and they are rough on the stomach! I had bellyache for the next two days..maybe some asfoetida into the soup next time.

Leave a Reply

