Three days away from Vox..

..feel like an eternity. Here's what I was up to, living the de-Voxified life.

1. Read The Physician and started on The Enchantress of Florence. I'm trying to read this one slowly, one chapter at a time, savoring the writing. Not sure how long I can control myself.

2. Started to study. The annual review exams are nigh, and I want to do really well this year.

3. Joined pottery classes. Its something I've always wanted to do and never had the time for. How funny that I finally find the time during my residency, which is typically the busiest time of life for most people. The classes are great fun, very relaxing and full of laughter.

4. Saw some child patients. Thats part of the reason I didn't feel like blogging much. Child psych patients bother me a lot. Maybe I'm biased, but most of what I see are normal healthy kids stuck in terrible life situations, trying to deal with it the best they can. The only difference between them and me is that I was born in a more fortunate household where no one was a drug addict or a sociopath. Its not fair to them. I'm struggling to come to terms with it, especially when parents demand drugs to 'fix' such children. More and more I'm becoming a believer in parental screening laws.

5. Made some great headway with my psychoanalysis patient..the attending actually said I'd asked some 'brilliant questions' and we had done great work these past two sessions! I'm glad, especially since the patient is going through a rough spot.

6. Started a research project on human sexuality, of all things. God help me.

7. Started making a grand rounds presentation on tattoos in psychiatry. Don't ask me why, my supervisor suggested it. (Shrinks are weird.)

8. Bought mangoes..still thinking of a nice theme for Click 'yellow'. Maybe a mango saffron lassi?

Please forgive me for the random thoughts..the next post should be more comprehensible.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Three days away from Vox..

  1. Aubrey says:

    What tasks! Important, challanging, delicious, melodious – they run quite the emotional gamut. And you have the time/strength to tell us about them!
    Child, you must be exhausted.

  2. Fanny says:

    I took up painting recently – I'm terribly bad at it but it's amazing relaxing and makes me feel happy – it's something I had wanted to do for ages but thought that I wouldn't be very good at it and then realised one day that it really didn't matter if I was any good or not just as long as I enjoyed it. That's not to suggest that you aren't any good at pottery, by the way. What I meant, I suppose, is that doing something with your hands when you work with your head a lot is very satisfying.

  3. Lakshmi says:

    I completely second porkette about the relaxing effect of painting. I discovered painting recently and find that it is brilliantly better than the many many yoga-meditation-self-helpbooks I have done so far.

  4. Purplesque says:

    Emotionally, yes, I think. Maybe a vacation once this rotation is over? There isn't much that nature can't cure.:)

  5. Purplesque says:

    So true. You're right about doing something with your hands..thats what makes all the difference. And I love the feel of clay.

  6. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ And judging by the Annapoorna, you are doing really well! All Ive done with pottery so far is to learn to center the clay..but my instructor said I was a natural! So we'll see how it goes.

  7. Lakshmi says:

    yay, let us see those handwork on vox.

  8. It sounds like you were away for at least three weeks. The things you mentioned will take me at least three weeks to even decide to do them. πŸ˜› Good for you! I hope you'll enjoy your pottery classes and have fun with your research project. Human sexuality, that sounds really hard, but intriguing. It explains a lot of our behaviors and thinking. I'm also wondering about your mango lassi. When can we see what you did with the mangoes? No pressure though. You've certainly got your hands full now. πŸ™‚

  9. Purplesque says:

    Over the weekend, certainly. I have all the ingredients..just need some time to do a decent photo session. I think that was the idea behind the sexuality project..to redefine whats really normal and what isn't. On my part, initially, its going to be a few long, boring months of collecting data. But things should get interesting after that.

  10. LeendaDLL says:

    I would love to do a research paper on human sexuality. In fact, my life has kind of been one long research project!Congrats on the other good stuffs. Enjoy the pottery class. And, unlike me, don't get stuck if they tell you to make something you find completely useless (might have been a good wine bottle holder but it was too narrow) and refuse to do the project on the grounds of "I get the concept, I'm not wasting the clay." Until someone says "it's a spaghetti holder" – and you picture a spaghetti server – which is completely ridiculous (the object is very tall and narrow and not at all appropriate for cooked spaghetti w/sauce) – so you finally agree to do it. And it takes you a good 20 years before one day, totally at random, you realize the person meant a DRY-noodle spaghetti holder… but you're still impressed with your own creativity.I still have many of my pottery & glass blowing pieces. They're crap – but they're my handmade crap!

  11. LeendaDLL says:

    ps: When you get into glazing bowls… sprinkle some glass bits (even broken lightbulb pieces work) into the bottom of the bowl to get a really interesting effect.

  12. #4 hits me deeply, that was me as a child. it seemed nobody could see that, they all thought I was just stupid, so remedial classes I went. They tested my IQ every year, thinking I was mentally challenged or something, nope, just crappy home life consuming me. Bless you for being there for those kids darling!

  13. Purplesque says:

    Wow..thanks for that! I did feel like I was wasting clay..I managed the centering soon enough, but the instructor kept me doing it just because the other people in the group hadn't caught up, and most of my clay ended up in the water! Still, I'm there more for fun/to learn something new, so its alright. [ A spaghetti holder would be really really cool.] I'll keep the tip about glass bits in mind..it sounds really neat!

  14. Purplesque says:

    And look how well you turned out..that gives me hope. Children can be so resilient, I guess that is something I should keep in mind. Thank You! [ I'm still rooting for parental screening, though. No kid should go through such crap because their parents don't know how to be parents, IMO.]

  15. Lakshmi says:

    I know what you mean P.But on a side (unrelated) note, I don't think any of us know how to be parents. We just fumble and jumble and learn on the job, and in the process leave scars in the lives of the little one. Some of us leave small scars, some leave more serious ones.And it scares me. As a friend once said, our children become what they are not because of us, but inspite of us. How true.

  16. Purplesque says:

    Yes..you're right. There's a difference between young and fumbling parents not knowing how to set limits or how to feed their kids right versus parents who are high on crack and criminally neglecting their offspring. I don't think you'd ever feel like you're doing everything perfectly (that would be human nature, right?) but at least your intentions are honorable while you learn on the job. Hopefully, our society, by example and education, has prepared us well enough to fit somewhere in the middle of the bell curve.

  17. Purplesque says:

    p.s. And one only has to look at V to know you're doing a great job. Don't be scared. ( Oh, alright, be scared, thats part of what makes you a good parent.)

  18. Zotta says:

    Great post. Rambly is good, I feel. Agreed about kids beign over-drugged.Love the idea of parental screens in theory but how do we decide who gets to decide what they are?

  19. Purplesque says:

    That shouldn't be hard. A few studies done amongst kids who end up being placed in foster care/ get CPS involved would give us a set of parental characteristics associated with worse prognosis for children's health. Active substance abuse/multiple convictions/psychotic mental illness/previous children taken away by the state..sounds like a valid starting point.

  20. Emjay says:

    Wow! I have been away from Vox because Comcast service was screwy! All that time and I didn't make use of it like you have! I feel just plain lazy!! Number 7 sounds interesting. What is it?

  21. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I don't know yet. I am going to talk about the symbolism in the art of tattooing, the association of tattoos with particular diagnoses/substance use, and then touch on scarification/self mutilation. If the slides turn out well, I'll post them here. πŸ™‚

  22. Karen Lynn says:

    Welcome back, first off! It sounds like you have filled your life with a great balance of fun and research! The tattoo project sounds really interesting. I saw my nephew raised with severe emotional abuse. He was diagnosed adhd, put on drugs and belittled by his dad. They had so much trouble with him, and I remember thinking about stealing him, and raising him in our family. He was such an obvious case of acting badly to get attention, any attention was all he was after. He ended up in jail right after high school. I don't see him anymore because of the divorce, but Nikki said he is doing better now. I am praying that he learned how not to parent from his experiences growing up, but you know that not everyone can overcome. I am so glad you are there for these children P. Remind them that they are indeed wonderful little people.

  23. Karen Lynn says:

    ps: take your camera to class with you! i can't wait to see pictures too! :))

  24. AGREED!!! Parents should take classes! I am tired of people winging it! Complaining about what they hated about their childhood and doing the same thing for their own kids! Sigh…. There are bunches of us out here that lived through nasty families. Just let them know it is not them, they are not the problem, it is not their fault. I needed that.

  25. It is HUGE when you are aware of this, my mother thought she was the center of the universe, and we just revolved around her whims. As long as you look at your kids and see who they really are vs. who you want them to be, there is a huge difference. As long as you are paying attention to them, giving them some of you, some of your time, you cannot be doing so bad darling!

  26. Wow…so that's how productive a Vox-less life can be — I'd forgotten! The child patients– must rip you heart out– ((hugs))POTTERY!! With a whell? and ovens? I'm sooo envious!!!!! 've always wnated to do that. Will you show us your creations? I can't wait! Can you make somehting to pose (??) your food in? Oh– exams! ((thinkinghugs))That's terrific about your psychoanalysis patient…research project on human sexuality, of all things. God help me. :0 You could start a sex-blog on Vox! Be prurient and see what happens — !! I'm far far behind in visitng, will be catching up now…going o look at your food pix.BTW– I bought 2 little squashes– they look like small bowling pins, in yellow. But one rotted befroe I could cook it. I cooked the other..didn't go too well, nose-wise; haven't tasted it yet. I'll do a post.

  27. Purplesque says:

    Thats exactly the kind of story I hear all too often, and it just breaks my heart. I try to keep 'the ones that got away/got better' in mind to go through this, and to remind myself that I'm just hearing about it, they are the ones actually living it. So its the least I can do, to try and make it better..

  28. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..A would have a heart attack if I splattered clay all over the camera! As it is, he keeps sighing while I get oil splatters and finger smudges all over it taking the food pics..:))

  29. Purplesque says:

    Yes. I don't really know if it does much good to tell a five year old that, but I do so anyway. Its sad how many kids are told they're being brought to the doctor because they are bad or that something is wrong with them that needs to be 'fixed'.

  30. Karen Lynn says:

    You will make a difference gf. You have such a kind heart. Even if you change life's outcome for just one child. I am so glad you do what you do.

  31. Purplesque says:

    Pottery- just do it! Its So much FUN! I would love to actually make something I could use in the kitchen..but thats a long way away, it seems. I'm going for my second class in a few minutes.Sex-blog..LOL. I did wonder if there was a way to recruit all my Vox neighbors for the questionnaire..we need data! But there is no way to do it online(so far).Did you roast the squash or saute it? Does it not smell good? May I suggest some garlic? Garlic does great things to squash..will wait for your post. πŸ™‚

  32. I need to find a free pottery class…no $$$!You could do a post and "share it" wiht a bunch of people. In fact, if you wnat to keep it separate, you could just set up another site here, and do posts, with questions– and send people there. You could use the neighborhoods of your neighbors, as starting points, just make them neighbors and bulk-send. Very easy…..and people around here seem to LOVE answering questions!!I might not be data-exact, though, if you need that. But I'll bet it could be set up to be. Sorry if I'm being pushy– just tell me to go away! (I love setting stuff up, though!)

  33. I'm going for my second class in a few minutes. Have fun!!

  34. it really is, my niece is one of them.

  35. Purplesque says:

    I'm not sure if I believe that anymore, Karen (two years in residency, and I'm already cynical!) But I wil try to do the best I can.

  36. Purplesque says:

    Oh, no, RD..you're not pushy at all! This project, though, has a huge super-secret data base. The only way I can collect data is getting people to enter it into a designated computer, which has a software that immediately encrypts everything so that nobody can access it (to maintain complete privacy). I also need to get written consents from all participants. Its a multi-center project..I don't see anyway of getting it online, unless they create a specific program for it at the very top. It would have made my life so much easier, though..:)

  37. Yes, I had a feeling it would be that controlled — it's real data….not anecdotal accumulations; needs to be verified and organized and wrangled officially. Oh, well….maybe the next one will be easier for you…….I hope!

  38. Purplesque says:

    Yes..its not hard, just difficult to get enough people to volunteer an hour's worth of sexual information..:)

  39. Emjay says:

    the association of tattoos with particular diagnoses/substance use,That sounds like a basis for a thesis! I look forward to reading more about this from you. Do you mean our perception of people based on the tattoos they have or the tattoos and their association with specific psychological/behavioural disorders?

  40. Purplesque says:

    The association of tattoos with specific disorders..multiple tattoos have been known to be more common with personality disorders..and of course, specific gang/prison tattoos in antisocials. I learnt recently that the tattoo of number 13 stands for the 13th letter of the alphabet, indicating that the tattooee (is that a word? lol) likes to use marijuana. There are specific tattoos for most drugs..its quite a fascinating subject.

  41. Emjay says:

    I won't tell my sister this … she has "multiples" ….. !!! 8 also has significance – H – 88 is Hiel Hitler – associated with white supremist types.

  42. Purplesque says:

    Lol..there are always exceptions to the rule. But some of this stuff is really cool..almost like a code language!

Leave a Reply

