The Indian platter

Sunday's party was the first time I made a full Indian meal on my own for guests…people loved it!

Clockwise from the white bowl- lentil croquettes with yogurt and date-tamarind chutney, cucumber-mint yogurt, baked peas with cottage cheese, baked cauliflower, and black lentils.

Baked cauliflower

1 medium cauliflower
a handful each of mint and cilantro
1/4 cup grated coconut
2 tbsp lemon juice
salt to taste
1 green chili pepper
1/2 tsp garam masala (optional)

For the curry sauce:
2 tsp cumin seeds
2 tbsp coriander seeds
2 red chillies
2 tbsp poppy seeds
2 tbsp cashew nuts
1 tbsp oil
2 cups tomato puree

– Soak the poppy seeds in just enough water to cover.
– Remove as much stem from the whole cauliflower as you can.
– Grind the mint, cilantro, coconut, salt, lemon juice and chilli pepper together in the food processor. Add 1 tbsp or more of water if needed to grind well.
– Rub this chutney all over the cauliflower and stuff the rest between the florets. Sprinkle the garam masala on top.
– Place the cauliflower in a microwave safe dish, cover, and nuke for 6-8 minutes, until the cauliflower is steamed through, but remains firm. Let it cool, then remove and place in an oven-safe dish.

– Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.
– Heat oil in a saucepan. Add the cumin, coriander seeds and red chilies and let them sizzle. Then add the cashews and brown them.
– Turn off the heat. Add this mixture with the poppy seeds and tomato puree to a blender and blend well.
– Return the puree to the saucepan. Bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 15 minutes.
– Pour half of the sauce over the cauliflower and bake for 20 minutes.
– Pour the other half and bake for 10 minutes, then broil the top until golden. Serve with flatbreads.

In the original version of this dish, the whole cauliflower is deep fried, then covered with the curry sauce and baked. Nothing in this world can taste like fried cauliflower, but this healthier version comes close enough.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Indian platter

  1. mariser says:

    let's see… if I PM you my address, how long until those leftovers make their way to me?everything looks fabulous!

  2. Emjay says:

    Those leftovers look divine!! I think your recipe for the cauliflower would tempt me!

  3. Brown Suga' says:

    The cauliflower! It KILLS ME!!!

  4. Lakshmi says:

    "…people loved it!"Duh.

  5. bee says:

    yum yum yum. dahi vadas. this is probably the first time i'm drooling over a crawwwlyflower dish. do you know the less-oil dahi vada trick? i'll post about it soon.

  6. Baked cauliflower? WOW what a great idea! I *heart * cauliflower — have had it deep-fat fried and raw and steamed but never baked. Oh, my goodness that sounds good!Thank you!

  7. Purplesque says:

    đŸ™‚ Thank you.

  8. Purplesque says:

    It was easily the most popular dish of the day. đŸ™‚

  9. Purplesque says:

    I must confess I got a bit insecure..playing hostess doesn't come naturally to me!

  10. Purplesque says:

    The trick vadas with bread and yogurt? If not, then we have two tricks to talk about..:)

  11. Purplesque says:

    I'm glad you liked it..its a people pleaser that is easy to make and complicated to look at!

  12. Ah, this is what I get for reminding you of the chocolate pudding. I usually feel a little intimidated by cauliflower. I don't know why. But I think I feel brave enough to try this one. The photo looks so good! I'm so glad that I'm sort of getting cooking training from you.

  13. Karen Lynn says:

    Gosh thanks for the recipe! I'm going to serve it tonight with spaghetti. It will be a great color contrast. It looks delicious!! I can't wait. Thank you so much yummmmm

  14. Purplesque says:

    Lol..you don't need any cooking training! But I love the fact that we get to share recipes and pictures..it gets me going even when I don't want to cook.

  15. Purplesque says:

    Wow..let me know how it turns out! I do so much eyeballing that I'm never sure if my measurements are accurate..hope it turns out well.

Leave a Reply

