QotD: Today’s To-Do List

What's on your "To-Do" list today? What are you most looking forward to and what are you most dreading?

Cleaning the house and planning a menu for tomorrow's get together.

Appetizers:
Spicy potato-chickpea chaat: A spicy salad of potatoes, chickpeas, cucumbers and tomatoes.
Dahi vade: Lentil croquettes soaked in yogurt and spiced with a tamarind chutney.

Main course:
Dal makhani: Creamy black lentils in a tomato gravy.
Baked matar paneer: Peas in a tomato gravy, topped with home-made cottage cheese cubes in white sauce and baked.
Raita: Yogurt with cucumber and mint.
Naan: Yeasty flatbreads (from the grocery store)
Shahi pulao: Rice tempered with spices, nuts and fruit.

Drinks:
Apple panha: A light, tart-n-sweet apple drink.

Dessert:
Rasmalai:Cheese dumplings in a creamy syrup (frozen, from the grocery store).

For the kids: Cheese pizza and cookies.

Looking forward to- cooking and taking pictures of the food. πŸ™‚
Dreading- Last minute grocery shopping.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to QotD: Today’s To-Do List

  1. You are seriously BUSY!!!!!Oh, my that menu is making me hungry and I just ate lunch!!!!!!yum yum yum.Have fun!Can't wait to see the pix.

  2. Brown Suga' says:

    WOW. Yummyyummyyummy. All the dishes on your list are my favourites!!!Sounds like you'll be awfully busy – good luck, and looking forward to the pics!

  3. julie says:

    that dali vade is calling my name. You are a kitchen goddess! btw, I bought some feugreek and mustard seed today to round out my Indian cooking spices. Aren't you proud of me?:)

  4. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Its made me lose my appetite..I've been cooking all day!

  5. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..its 10 pm and I really need that luck right now! The tamarind chutney is done, I've made a tomato gravy and the lentils are soaking. The chaat has been replaced by a whole baked cauliflower. Everything else has to be done tomorrow morning.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I don't feel like one right now. I am Very proud of you. πŸ™‚ Mustard seed has to be my one of my favorite spices. Fenugreek is more of an acquired taste for me..it took me 25 years to finally start enjoying the bitterness!

  7. Karen Lynn says:

    Ohhhh, whole baked cauliflower sounds wonderful! How do you cook it? I can't wait to see the pictures, are you worn out?

  8. Purplesque says:

    Lol..yeah, I'm finally beginning to believe my hubby when he says I'm doing too much. I will post pics of the cauliflower with the recipe later today..

  9. Karen Lynn says:

    yay! it sounds so yummy :))

  10. Awwww — I wonder how you're doing…I'm sure you got everything done, and it's wonderful, but I hope you had a chance to relax a little……….

  11. Emjay says:

    What a wonderful sounding menu. I am looking forward to the photos. I hope you survived all the work that this must have entailed!

  12. mariser says:

    in your invitation, you forgot to tell us what time to be there. I'd hate to be late

  13. Purplesque says:

    Everything was wonderful..and I even got a catnap beforehand..thank you!

  14. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I did survive, and people Loved the food..will post pics tomorrow.

  15. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Gosh darn it..we missed you! I should check my Vox more often..

Leave a Reply

