Sunday morning breakfast- Quiche

I've never eaten a quiche of the egg kind, but they are served at our Grand Rounds and I love the way the mini-quiches look. So I when I stumbled on to this wonderful recipe from the Fatfree Vegan Kitchen, it was a chance not to be missed.

 I subbed the vegetables with broccoli, carrots, beans and corn, and used Herbs de Provence instead of rosemary. The tofu I used was the fresh non-silken kind sold at the International store, but it worked just as well. Served with ketchup and hot tea. šŸ™‚

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday morning breakfast- Quiche

  1. scorpion1116 says:

    These look really. really. good. What did you cook them in to hold the shape? (I guess I should read the recipe, eh?) I would probably sub the tofu with eggs, but keep the other ingredients you used…maybe add a sprinkle of parmesan or better yet, mizithra cheese.

  2. Brown Suga' says:

    Reminds me of khaman dhokla, Ahmedabad-style. Do they taste like dhokla? (I mean the yellow, moist one, not the white, idli-like sandwich with green chutney filling.)

  3. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I made them in muffin pans, though you can make one big quiche in a pie plate or whatever. One mini quiche has only about 30-35 cals and lots of protein.

  4. Purplesque says:

    I wish they did. But no, the taste is nothing like khaman dhokla..and I don't know what to compare it to, tofu has a unique taste of its own. ( Now I must make some dhokla..you just gave me a Huge craving. šŸ™‚

  5. This is just divine! I've been wanting to make this for ages. You really make me feel ashamed of myself. I wish I could just eat your mini-quiches.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! I'd wanted to make the English muffins, but there was all this tofu in the fridge threatening to go stale..

  7. …………. . …. … .. … …. . . . .

  8. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..you're incorrigible. (But I know it tastes better that way..:)

Leave a Reply

