Summer is here

And I have a cold. We celebrated with warm miso soup and cold Vietnamese rolls. Rice paper, dipped in water, wrapped around rice vermicelli, chopped daikon and mango, bean sprouts, mint and cilantro, and served with this peanut sauce. I like the fact that they are quick to prepare and very, very versatile. You can wrap the papers around anything you want to eat, really. πŸ™‚


I ate the left over peanut sauce with my fingers, watching Scrubs.  The  bliss of  being sick.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Summer is here

  1. Emjay says:

    Your photo is amazing!!

  2. Purplesque says:

    Thanks..I always expect V-rolls to turn out real pretty, but I'm not an expert roller yet..they tend to be limp.

  3. Emjay says:

    Luckily we don't see "limp" on the computer screen! πŸ™‚

  4. You're sick! I'm sorry!A cold….after a vacation …that seems to happen. Feel better soon. Food can be so good, esp something that looks and sounds as good as that does!!

  5. Purplesque says:

    ha ha..I'm glad for that!

  6. awwwwwwww. get some rest, pamper yourself……..

  7. L33tchica says:

    I share your pain. Summer just hit CT last weekend and yesterday I caught my sisters cold.But at least it gave a chance to post a picture of the Vietnamese rolls! I might try making them if I can find all the ingredients.

  8. Purplesque says:

    I hope you feel better. And you don't need All the ingredients for the Vietnamese rolls..even a few will do! I've made them with and without vermicelli, and with whatever salad-worthy vegetables I found in the fridge. πŸ™‚

  9. I wish you could upload some of those Vietnamese rolls through the screen to me! Really beautifully done!

  10. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ thanks!

  11. Lakshmi says:

    Amazing purplesque. You are a genius. The next Tara Dalal. When you become famous, I am definitely going to tell the world that I know you (and more importantly, you know me).

  12. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..thanks for the vote of confidence, Lakshmi. But you might want to sample some of my cooking before declaring our acquaintance to the world..looks can be so deceiving!

Leave a Reply

