The best stuffed mushrooms..

..I've ever made. These are high protein, low fat, and absolutely delicious.

I used the tempeh sausage crumbles recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance and modified it for the stuffing.

Ingredients-
14-15 large white mushrooms (or use five portobellos)
1 tbsp olive oil
8 oz (I packet) tempeh
* can be substituted with Indian cottage cheese/paneer, Mexican queso fresco, or even cooked beans.
1 tsp fennel seeds
1 tsp pepper flakes
1 tsp dry basil
1 tsp dry oregano
2 tbsp soy sauce or tamari
2 tbsp lime juice
1/2 cup finely chopped parsley (about 1 bunch)
1/4 cup nutritional yeast (or use your favorite cheese)
salt to taste

– Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.
– Remove the stems from the mushrooms and chop them up.
– Break the tempeh into pieces, cover with water in a microwave safe bowl and steam for 4-5 minutes, until most of the water is absorbed. Or steam conventionally for about ten minutes. Drain the water and crumble the tempeh.
– Heat oil in a saute pan. Add the chopped stems and saute until they release water.
– Add tempeh, spices, soy sauce, lime juice and saute for five minutes until browned.
– Turn off the heat and add the parsley and nutritional yeast. Mix well. Add salt if needed.
– Stuff the mushrooms with the mixture and place on a greased baking sheet.
– Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Garnish with more parsley and serve.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The best stuffed mushrooms..

  1. Brown Suga' says:

    OMG. I LOVE mushrooms… mushrooms stuffed with paneer … OMG.

  2. Emjay says:

    Your photograph is great! And, the mushroom looks and sounds delicious as usual.

  3. Karen Lynn says:

    I love the composition of this photograph! The mushroom in the front just jumps off the page and says "eat me"!

  4. julie says:

    This is picture perfect!!! I love the dof. I hope this is a submission ta a contest bc this one is a sure winner!

  5. Purplesque says:

    We must be soul sisters, then..:)

  6. Purplesque says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you!

  7. Purplesque says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ I'm afraid there was no contest; just an irresistible urge to eat mushrooms. What is a dof?

  8. Karen Lynn says:

    dof is depth of field :)) (see, I'm learning) hehehe

  9. Purplesque says:

    Oh, I see. ( I need to learn, as well) ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Karen Lynn says:

    You are a natural! Learning photography is like learning a whole new language for me. Google "bokeh" without the quote marks. :))

  11. Purplesque says:

    Ah, I see what you mean. I call it 'blurring the background'. ๐Ÿ™‚ Its a great effect..mostly I can manage by using the macro setting or increasing the aperture to max. How are classes coming along?

  12. Karen Lynn says:

    Classes are great! I am on class 2 out of 4 now. Homework due Wednesdays. This week is "nailing white balance once and for all" I reckon I'm going to take another one of his courses when this one ends, he's a professional flower photographer, and what a great teacher!

  13. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..sounds complicated ( I still don't know what white balance is). About the fabulous Mr. Sweet..is he hot? ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Karen Lynn says:

    He looks like a Harley driver don't you think?

  15. that's an amazing picture!!The little packages of food-marvelousness are marching right into our mouths!!

  16. Oh, I'm so glad to be back and see your stuffed mushrooms! Yummy yummer as usual. The photo looks amazingly appetizing and lovely!

  17. killord86 says:

    [ใ„ใ„ใงใ™ใญ]

  18. Purplesque says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Good to have you back. Thank you!

  19. Karen Lynn says:

    Oh they were boring. Just stills with mixed lighting, stills with incandescent only lighting on both auto and incandescent setting on the camera (auto came out better) and the same with florescent lighting. This week's lesson is going to be more fun :)) I'll post pics of them after I get rolling. <makes note to self to put homework on list of things to do today>

  20. Purplesque says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Can't wait to see them!

  21. NOOS says:

    wow… looks good! I love your menu!

Leave a Reply

