Weekend News

We're at the Greenbrier Resort in White Sulphur Springs, WV, and this place absolutely rocks!

I was worried that it would be just another snooty place for the rich and the famous, but its not (not so far, anyway). Just lots of beautiful things and friendly, hospitable people.

I couldn't resist taking pictures even during our walk to the room.


Dinner was in the main dining room, and my jacket and pants ensemble was just fine (helped along by the wedding diamonds). We requested a vegetarian meal, and the chef prepared an exquisite wild mushroom and cauliflower tagine. It was sweet and spicy and tangy, with layers upon layers of flavors..Quite an experience. For dessert, I had a chocolate mousse between chocolate wafers, served with whipped white chocolate and a chocolate liqueur sauce.. I was dying to take pictures, but that would have been rude, especially since we were smack dab in the center of the room.

Back to the room, to find the bed turned down, soft robes laid out on the bed and more dark chocolate on the pillow.


One could seriously get used to this.

Tomorrow, we get to see the secret cold war era bunkers, built under the resort and recently opened to public. We're not allowed to take pictures, but I plan to write a Huge post.

Have a great weekend!!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Weekend News

  1. Emjay says:

    Everything looks and sounds fabulous. YOU should be concentrating on relaxing and enjoying the atmosphere of the weekend. Sounds like an interesting tour tomorrow.

  2. LeendaDLL says:

    It's sooooo purty & nice. You're making me REALLY want to be there.

  3. Wow what a treat. I'm looking forward to see more photos of your time there! I'm sitting in front on my PC sweating as I've been out ridding and working my horse. I'm taking a break to eat an cool off a little. Then it is back out side to give him a bath. You should see me you would laugh, my white shirt is now brown, I've cut my hand on something and it is bleeding, my hair is awful as I've had a cap or a helmet on since 8:30 and it is now almost 1. What a mess I am, but after the horse get's his bath, I get a shower and I'm off to my pedicure…my mother's day gift to me!

  4. dewitte says:

    That's awesome! My SIL lives like 30 minutes from there so we always go past it, but we've never even stopped in. Looks like a lot of fun!

  5. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I was Quite relaxed, having had a wonderful Bellini Martini (it had peaches in it!), but the urge to Vox was still greater than the urge to sleep.

  6. Purplesque says:

    This is one of the few places we've visited where I didn't want to come back home..:)

  7. Purplesque says:

    Wow..sounds like you had quite a workout! How did the pedicure go? I saw so many horses on this trip..makes me want to ride again.

  8. Purplesque says:

    I'm back, and this was the most action-packed 24 hour-trip we've ever taken! Five-star food, A won the research competition, we saw the super-secret cold war bunkers, the lost world caverns at Lewisburg (I Love rocks) and splendid artwork at Tamarack. Even the drive was scenic and sunny and smooth. Pictures to follow. 🙂

  9. Purplesque says:

    Oh you must..I plan to go every year from now on, as long as A wins enough competitions to help us afford it..:)

  10. Scott says:

    Ooh, THAT resort, the bunker place…sounds very cool!

  11. Petdicure was a little slice of heaven. I had the Kiwi treatment and my feet and legs have never felt so good.
    Tomorrow I'm off to a 9 am group ride with my little boy and then I might go back for a manicure!

  12. Hey how did I miss these? What a wonderful place to visit — GORGEOUS decor!And the food sounds good, too. I'm glad it's going well, and that your outfit was fine. lol for not taking pix at dinner…….I wonder what people would have done, if you had…if you'd pointed the lens right at them, asked them to scroonch over a little, etc. …probably tried to ignore you, but then whispered wildly about you right after. hah!

  13. Purplesque says:

    Lol..yes, it did not seem a place for taking pictures. But there were these gorgeous white and green chandeliers, and the rose plates, and then the gorgeous food! The people were mostly old and rich and drunk..except for this one elderly lady dressed in a drop-dead sexy crimson silk jacket with green dragonflies on it..she was so elegant I wanted to stare.

  14. scorpion1116 says:

    This looks like a fabulous weekend! I didn't know that place existed. How beautiful, and how lucky you are to go. I'm glad they had the food you wanted, and that bed looks soooo comfy!

  15. Purplesque says:

    I did feel lucky, especially since we never could have afforded this kind of luxury on our own. After A won the research competition, we splurged on an extra lunch at the Golf Club!

  16. After A won the research competition, Yay!Was this in the post? I missed it — that's super!!

  17. Purplesque says:

    Yes..he's very happy. 🙂

  18. Aubrey says:

    You so deserved this massive sprawl in the Lap of Luxury. (Nothing beats some evening chocs right before bedtime.)
    Makes me yearn for bed and breakfasts and, well, Las Vegas, quite frankly.

Leave a Reply

