Crisis Update- clothes

Thank you my Vox friends for all the good advice. I found the shoes, and even a plain white dress shirt (no cool stuff in color). There was a gorgeous jacket at Talbots, but it came with a cool price tag of 200 bucks, so I had to leave it behind. Last try tomorrow for a colored top and maybe a jacket.

Here's the plan so far.


That's all. Oh, and I Hate shopping.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Crisis Update- clothes

  1. Aubrey says:

    GORGEOUS scarf. You are home free, my dear. You will look wonderful – and the shoes are so strappy and splendid.
    (considers asking purple if she could borrow the scarf)
    (decides against it)
    (because it would be tacky)

  2. Brown Suga' says:

    GORGEOUS!!!
    I love the shawl – is the one that goes with sherwanis, or just an unrelated one?
    Oh, and I LOVE the heels. Übersexeh.

  3. LeendaDLL says:

    i never would have thought of it (white is horrible on me and I'm not a scarf person) but it's a wonderful combo!!

  4. Lovely lovely!!That scarf is g.o.r.g.e.o.u.s.And shoes are dainty and snazzy and perfect!Hard to really see the shirt, but the fabric looks luscious and I like that sleeve a lot. You did GREAT!!!! *looks around, makes a grab for the scarf, and runs like the wind*

  5. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..:) Why tacky?

  6. Purplesque says:

    Naah..its too short to go with a sherwani. My sister brought this from her last visit to India.

  7. Purplesque says:

    🙂 the shirt is pure cotton, with that pretty thin ribbing over the collar and all the way down the front. I'm glad I finally get to wear the scarf..I've had it all winter without an occasion to try it! *runs after you*

  8. Emjay says:

    You are going to look gorgeous! Love the scarf! Do you really think you need a jacket? Unless you think you are going to be cold I don't think you need it for what you are going to. (IMHO).

  9. Aubrey says:

    One shouldn't ask to borrow an item before the owner has had a chance to use it.
    I don't think this is a real rule, as I just made it up. Anyway, it was past midnight when I posted that comment, and goodness knows what I meant.
    Again, that is a truly marvelous scarf.

  10. LeendaDLL says:

    What's a "sherwani"? (I could go look it up but prefer the convo)I didn't even think of options like a nice sari. I've wanted one for as long as I can remember. Have NO excuse for not driving the 10 miles to the "little India" part of town and having one made. Well… laziness and cash… but those don't count.

  11. Purplesque says:

    A sherwani is a formal men's jacket, with a 'chinese' collar. A silk sherwani with a long embroidered scarf and tight pleated leggings…drool. Go take a look. I could wear a sari..and oh, such gorgeous saris I have. But I like to blend in, and wearing a sari in a restaurant is not the way to blend in. 🙂

  12. Purplesque says:

    You're right..I'll probably wear the jacket to the formal conference in the morning and just wear the shirt with the scarf for dinner. Lol..seems like I'm going to war. No more fretting about clothes!

  13. Purplesque says:

    🙂 I know what you mean..my mind takes on a life of its own late at night.

  14. LeendaDLL says:

    OMG – that sari is GORGEOUS!I despise blending in – which is part of the reason I want one!!

  15. LeendaDLL says:

    acknowledging the tackiness of this question: do you have any idea how much is one likely to pay for something like that, custom made (cause I'm BIG), in the US?

  16. Purplesque says:

    Anything you'd pay for something like that in the US would be too much. Indian goods are inflated several times over in the US market. This sari cost about 10,000 Indian rupees (250 dollars) and would sell for about 1000 dollars or more if you'd buy it in the US. [No matter how big you are, you should be able to wear a full-size sari.. I don't think you need special order upto 5'10" and 300 lbs or so]. What I would suggest is getting somebody Indian you know to get you something from India, rather than buying imported goods.

  17. Brown Suga' says:

    You look fabulous in that sari. I love how we manage to carry off the brighest colours. I'm attending a wedding on Saturday and I can't wait to wear a sari with long earrings! (I can tie a sari really fast too – 15 minutes tops.)
    And sherwanis really amp up a man's hotness don't they?

  18. Purplesque says:

    Sherwanis, kurta pajamas, dhotis..*fans self.*Sari with Huge danglers..thats my thing. ( I could do 15 minutes..not sure what it would be now.) What color is yours?

  19. Brown Suga' says:

    Not yet decided. I was planning to wear a crimson Mysore silk with a navy blue border, but I have no time to get a blouse stitched. 😦
    I have a blouse in another shade of red though, so I guess I'll wear whatever goes with it.

  20. LeendaDLL says:

    you volunteering?!? (kidding)i think, other than the 7/11 guys hitting on me (sorry for the stereotype but this is a literal comment), I don't know any Indian people IRL right now.

  21. Purplesque says:

    Red is good. I like red.

  22. Purplesque says:

    I would love to, except I'm stuck in the country until the end of my residency. The thought of going back home..even if just to shop..sigh.Found out the restaurant we were planning on going to is closed; so I'm now supposed to wear a 'dress or evening suit.' What the eff is an evening suit? Why can't I just wear pants and a jacket? *Plans emergency shopping trip*.

  23. *pouts and then returns the scarf* Oh that sounds so nice! I just looked at the full-size version of the picture– the texture of the matieral is gorgeous!! And the scarf! *eyes the scarf again* It looks embrodiered….!

  24. Oh, for goodness sake! I just noticed the title of that picture– it IS an embroidered scarf! *wildly points in the other direction and grabs the scarf when purplesque isn't looking*

  25. LeendaDLL says:

    Oh, ta heck with all that!! Wear what you picked out. Or a sari.

Leave a Reply

