Sunday Call, and a little crisis

I get to go to work and see patients rather than sitting home with the newspaper (its NYT online, but still) and a cup of tea. Ugh.

 A called yesterday to remind me that we are going to this five diamond resort next weekend, where his research paper will be presented in a conference. They have several fancy restaurants, one with a nine course vegetarian degustation menu.

:))!!

Um, what do people wear in such places? The website says 'Jacket required for gentlemen.' Hey, what about the not-so-gentle woman accompanying the gentleman? I've never been to a formal restaurant here ( I know, I know, my education is sadly lacking). My wardrobe consists of two kinds of clothes- those that I wear to work (pants, skirts, shirts, the occasional sweet blouse), and those that I wear to go grocery shopping (denim, cargos, tshirts, casual shirts). Can I get by with dress pants and a girly shirt, or will I need to buy a dress?

Oh dear.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sunday Call, and a little crisis

  1. Oh, gosh, I wish I could help — but the last time I went anywhere that was anything like that was years and years ago — I'm sure things have changed. The only advice I have is be comfortable. Your joy and wisdom will be evident, no matter what you're wearing – no point in feeling all cinched in and miserable. Shoes would be nice, though. 😉 lol — the kind you can kick off, under the table!Sounds like it'll be a wonderful weekend for both of you!

  2. okay, so the way I would approach this is such:are you the type of person who feels distressed if you're under-dressed compared to other people in a certain setting (i'm this kind of person), or are you the type of person who does not tend to feel distressed in such a situation? i would also consider that this is a restaurant, not a function per se, and it'll be filled with people you'll never see again in your life. i think you could lean towards going without a dress. do you have time and energy to go shopping? this could be a nice excuse to go shopping, but i know that can also be stressful. if your work clothes are good enough for the hospital, i'm sure they're good enough for the restaurant! if you do wear them though maybe go with a skirt rather than pants?

  3. Emjay says:

    I think dress pants and a nice top are fine for dinner. I am the opposite of Luminous Heart (sorry) – I think if you want to buy something get a "fancy" type of top to go with the pants – something more dressy than a button up shirt. I would not buy a dress if it is not something you would normally wear.

  4. Yes! That sounds good to me, too. I would not buy a dress if it is not something you would normally wear. Comfort – physical and emotional.

  5. LeendaDLL says:

    you can probably get by with what you have – though, depending on your idea of "girly shirt" i'd consider picking up a fancy shirt and nice shoes. doesn't have to be expensive – just something nice to get you through the night.nice ideas (though I'd look for them locally rather than ordering at this site – cause they tend to be back ordered a lot) are at Newport-News.com

  6. lauowolf says:

    Sounds as if you just aren't a dress person.So go with dressing up your dress pants.It'll be fine.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Sexy shoes…yess! And you're right..I'm all about comfort, too. Thanks!

  8. Purplesque says:

    I'd rather be under-dressed than overdressed, really. Bless you for saying that its just going to be strangers; I'll be fine if I just keep repeating that in my head!We went shopping today. I picked out a Wang shirt and the pager beeped. In the end, we had to leave without trying anything. I did see several pretty skirts, though..very feminine and summery. Thanks!

  9. Purplesque says:

    Yes..I just wish I could feel excited about it. lol

  10. Purplesque says:

    Love 'fancy' tops! There were lots of great tops at Kohls, but most of them synthetic. 😦 We're going back tomorrow..No dress. Yay!!!

  11. Purplesque says:

    You are absolutely right..I was a little stressed out this morning; feeling much more confident already!

  12. Purplesque says:

    What a cool website, with great prices! Thanks…pants/skirt with fancy shirt and shoes its going to be.

  13. Purplesque says:

    You're right..thank you.I'd love to wear elegant feminine dresses one day..need to lose ten pounds and find more time. 🙂

  14. LeendaDLL says:

    if you like to shop, sign up for their catalog and/or e-newsletter. they're constantly having multiple sales and you get better pricing depending upon which catalog number you use for an item. except for the issue of stuff always being on backorder, I've been pretty pleased with everything I've purchased from them.

  15. Aubrey says:

    I would suggest a skirt, instead of pants. Wear a jacket to match, and a bright blouse. Add a scarf, if you'd like.
    Low-heeled pumps. Take the greatest care with your shoes. If they're uncomfortable, then your evening is ruined.
    And jewelryjewelryjewellry!!!
    Sorry. I got excited. I am a Jewelry Victim, I have to admit.

  16. Purplesque says:

    Internet shopping for clothes..the idea gives me a panic attack. I wish they had a store nearby..

  17. Purplesque says:

    Going out shopping today..will post pictures of the loot!I had a major love affair with jewelry around my wedding. So now I have incredible Indian solid gold and precious stone jewelry that will not go with any western outfit.A prescription for shortsightedness, if you please.

  18. Emjay says:

    Wow! Your Indian jewellery sounds gorgeous! Couldn't you wear it with a plain black top? I have some Morrocan jewellery which probably looks perfect with the traditional dress but I wear it with plain clothes here and always get compliments on it. Unless it is really over the top royal I think you could wear it here.
    Hope you are having fun shopping as I work ….. 🙂

  19. Karen Lynn says:

    Black pants, any dressy shirt, gold necklace, earrings, and a jacket. (my mom's "dress up" menu, I'm a dress down kinda girl too)Have fun shopping!!

  20. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I'm going to post some pics. It seems very unlikely, but who knows, maybe I'm just not 'seeing' it..

  21. Purplesque says:

    Thats the plan. And Gawhd I hate shopping. 🙂

  22. Zotta says:

    Good luck! I agreed the dress pants and a girlie shirt would be OK, but if youwant to make a project of it, by all means go shopping. I see you have

Leave a Reply

