Potato chaat

Is there any place in the world where people don't love fried potatoes?

When our deep frier (a.k.a. the simple wok) went on the stove for the first time in three years yesterday, hubby took the opportunity to throw in some cubed potatoes. It brought back memories of standing by the roadside in the rain, sharing one umbrella and one leaf-bowl full of aaloo-chat.

Fried potatoes, tossed with chaat masala, chilli powder, cayenne pepper, garam masala and lime juice. Works great with roasted sweet potatoes as well.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Potato chaat

  1. Oh, so beautiful. Haven't had fried potatoes in ages!They are so special — that delicate crust……nice.Now you've made me want to get out my wok. It's an electric one, haven;t used it since the 1990's. But I remember it as very handy.

  2. Purplesque says:

    Oh, that delicate crust makes me cry.Bring out your wok! A and I had a sort of post-nuptial agreement, not to buy anything for the kitchen that we wouldn't use often! lolIf only we'd done the same thing with clothes. πŸ™‚

  3. Emjay says:

    I have never come across anyone who does not like fried potatoes! These sound (and look) delicious.BTW – I made the first steps on my herb garden today. I bought coriander, basil, lemon balm, oregano, thyme, rosemary and peppermint. We went to the National Arboretum and I was motivated by their herb garden (even though it is 3 times my entire house and land!). Tomorrow we have to another nursery for pots – the one we went to didn't have what I am looking for (I have given up on the bath idea).

  4. Purplesque says:

    Oh, I'm sorry you couldn't find a claw-foot bath..that was such a cool idea. I'd done an eBay search on claw-foot tubs; the cheap ones were all to be picked up locally; and none in the area where you live. 😦 Anyway, such a wonderful collection of herbs..did you get seeds or little saplings? What kind of pots are you looking for? We planted basil (the living basil from the grocery store). Only one of the three plants survived, and its not looking very good either. There is very little direct sunlight in our apartment, even though the windows are huge. I might have to wait until we move into the new apartment, which has a balcony. It will be in August..would that be too late to grow herbs?

  5. Lakshmi says:

    standing by the roadside in the rain, sharing one umbrella and one leaf-bowl full of aaloo-chatAnd a cup of masala chai. Heaven.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Yess…how could I forget? *kicks self*At this particular joint, though, there was no chai in sight. It was a stop for truckers on the Delhi Noida border, and what they huddled around drinking smelled like more potent stuff.

  7. t says:

    Maybe this is a silly question, but: Do you toss the potatoes in the spices before or after frying? This sounds and looks unbelievably good.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Not silly at all..I should have made it clearer. The potatoes are tossed in the spices after frying.If you toss them in spice and add a coat of chickpea-flour to hold it in before frying, you'd get a completely new animal called the pakoda, or fritters. Equally yum.

  9. t says:

    Thank you! Hopefully I can find some chaat masala and then… I will be in business.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Look in the nearest Indian grocery store. Or you can use any spicy seasoning you like..like lemon pepper!

  11. t says:

    Well I will look for the chaat masala and if I fail in that, lemon pepper, here I come!Thanks as always for your delicious food tips.

  12. Late answering — so sorry!!Yes, I should get out that wok. I guess it still works– it would be fun to stirfry something.If only we'd done the same thing with clothes. πŸ™‚ lol !!!

  13. Purplesque says:

    Don't worry about it..I was internet free for three days and had no opportunity to hang around on Vox, sending urgent telepathic messages to all my neighbors as I wait for their replies..:)Saw some Gorgeous woks at a kitchen shop today..beauties, all of them.

Leave a Reply

