Thursday Night Newsflash

                                             

Albert Hofmann, the father of LSD, dies at age 102.

Hmm.

*Goes to stare at the bottle of vitamins.*

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Thursday Night Newsflash

  1. LeendaDLL says:

    One Hundred & Two?!? And, even then, it was of a heart attack?!?**reconsiders everything she learned in the 80s era of "just say no"**

  2. lauowolf says:

    A generally great career.

  3. did he actually take it or just discover it? and did he keep the patent on it…..

  4. *stunned silence*Man. I never tried any of the drugs — always too afraid – plus, no one ever offered me any – lol –but this is interesting.*reconsiders* Nah – too many variables. And I don't want to get that old anyway. Seriously. See you later!!!!!!!!!

  5. Hmmm. This is interesting! Well, apparently he really didn't abuse his own invention. 102 is respectable. Sometimes we can all use a little "thinking outside the box".

  6. Karen Lynn says:

    I wonder if he ever tried it himself, or just guinea pigged his friends. I'm with Robbie, I don't think I want to live till 102 unless I am at least as fit as I am now. lolol

  7. Emjay says:

    He was still totally lucid! His wife died in December 2007 – they had been married 70 years! They were doing something right! 🙂

  8. Lakshmi says:

    It seems he DID use his product to experience peace, I read somewhere.

  9. Purplesque says:

    Lol. Nobody ever asked me the question!

  10. Purplesque says:

    He discovered it And took it. Not sure about the patent, though..I suspect not. Wouldn't have done him much good after it was declared illegal.

  11. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..exactly the same story here. And you're right about the variables. He was also married for 70 years. His wife passed away in 2007.Cool, though, isn't it?

  12. Purplesque says:

    I wouldn't call it abuse, but he did use LSD 'hundreds of times', in the interest of science, art and religion.Just sayin.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Other than taking LSD together, I suspect. 🙂

  14. Purplesque says:

    Yep. Science was fun in those days. Me, I went through medschool without taking a single 'nerve' pill. How boring.

  15. Emjay says:

    I think they were into the expansion of consciousness!

  16. He did make a contribution.

  17. Purplesque says:

    Yes..and what better way to do it?

  18. Purplesque says:

    He most certainly did..I like the concept of oneness with nature that he described.

  19. Scott says:

    I'm in Robbbiedobbbie's camp…never been one for the illicit experimentation. In my case, people probably thought I looked like too much of a dork to be into such things. 🙂
    I seem to recall Cary Grant said some pretty funny things while participating in a trial of that particular pharmaceutical.

  20. Purplesque says:

    Lol..pretty much the same story here. Cary Grant participated in a drug trial for LSD? I'm speechless..:)

Leave a Reply

