Chili Chocolate Mole sauce

Adapted from the excellent Veganomicon, mostly to cut down on ingredients and time.

Toast in a hot skillet-
– 1/2 cup almonds
– 1/3 cup green pumpkin seeds
– 2 tbsp sesame seeds

Grind the toasted mix to a powder.

Add-
– 4 tsp ancho chile powder
– 1 tsp cinnamon powder
– 1 tsp ground cumin
– 1 tsp oregano

Stir the mixture into 2 cups of warm vegetable stock in a saucepan.
Then add 1 can (15 oz) diced tomatoes and a chopped chipotle pepper.
Bring to a boil and simmer for five minutes.
Puree in a blender. (Hand blenders are mini-Gods.)
Add 3 oz baking chocolate, salt to taste.
Stir for about three minutes, until the chocolate is well mixed.

Serve with enchiladas, dirty rice, corn chips and everything else.

We served it with the Skillet pie with greens n beans from the same book. I'd post the recipe, but that might not be legal. πŸ™‚ Its basically a greens n beans mixture with a cornbread topping.

Delicious.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Chili Chocolate Mole sauce

  1. Emjay says:

    Oh my God! Delicious! The astro-dweeb is drooling a the idea I might cook this on the w/end! πŸ™‚ We will put chicken in ours though….

  2. LeendaDLL says:

    I luuuuuuuuurve mole sauce!! Once again, I'll be right over.

  3. Purplesque says:

    I'd love to know how it turns out. The original recipe also had toasted tortilla chips, peanut butter, oh, and onion and garlic. πŸ™‚

  4. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! This is the first time I've made mole with chocolate, and I suspect I'll be making it again. πŸ™‚

  5. LeendaDLL says:

    Trader Joe's used to carry the only jar version I've found that was both good, and instantly usable (most are the paste and need to be cooked with stock first). If you're a TJs person and happen to see it (it's either out of stock or discontinued at my stores), and feeling as lazy as I am in general, I recommend giving it a try.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Hah..no TJ in these parts, but hearing about them is enough to make me jealous.

  7. When I said the title I feared it was the cute little creature Mole. Glad it is a whole lot more appetising than that!

  8. julie says:

    Holy mole! That looks so delish!

  9. Purplesque says:

    Ew..you inspired me to do some research. It seems like moles, the little creatures, are quite inedible.

  10. Purplesque says:

    And quite inauthentic, I'm afraid. But delicious all the same.

  11. Emjay says:

    I live not far from a Latino area – there are some great chicken mole dishes on menus! I have made a mole chilli with turkey before – it was delicious. I think mole sauces always have chocolate in them …
    Mexican chocolate (cacao ground with sugar and cinnamon and occasionally nuts),
    I went to an event run by the Smithsonian Institute where mexican women demonstrated how to make traditional moles. It was really interesting and the smells were divine.

  12. Purplesque says:

    You're right..the authentic ones do.I've made one with plantains! There are no excuses, except that it was quite good. This one, I used Baker's chocolate squares.Maybe I should buy some Mexican chocolate and the roasted Mexican chilis. I bet the whole thing would taste completely different. πŸ™‚

  13. Chocolate…..Oh, it looks so good, all of it. I've never had anything like that- it sounds scrumptious!!!And the pix are splendid…as always!

  14. Purplesque says:

    Thank you!! I'm loving the leftovers..

  15. must be bad if the English wont eat it!

  16. Purplesque says:

    Lol. The idea of eating Any animal is quite icky to me; but I did some research on this one. Apparently, moles are all muscle= bad eats. But if you are still curious, read 6cheeks' recipe on this page. Its funny in a rather gruesome kind of way.

  17. Purplesque says:

    Silence is no longer golden..:)

  18. I've been wanting to make this for a while. You made it first again. The mole sauce is so soothingly appetizing.

  19. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..my cooking goes up in direct response to stress. Thanks!

  20. Emily says:

    Love this recipe! Can I have the right to use the first pic of the post for a spoonuniversity.com post? We will be sure to credit your site. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

