Weekend Brunch

Savory waffles..the best of both worlds.

Ingredients-
1 cup semolina/cream of wheat
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup chickpea/gram flour (or just use all-purpose)
1/2 cup finely chopped cabbage
1/4 cup grated carrots
2 tbsp frozen/fresh corn
1 tsp baking powder
1 chopped green chilli pepper (I used serrano)
2 tbsp chopped cilantro
salt to taste
1 pinch asfoetida (optional)
5 tbsp plain yogurt ( Activia/ sour yogurt preferred)
1 tbsp oil
water
1 tsp baking soda

– I toasted the semolina and gram flour in an iron skillet to bring out the flavor, but its not essential.
– In a mixing bowl, whisk together all ingredients except baking soda, adding enough water to make a thick batter.
– Heat a waffle iron.
– Take enough batter for one batch in a separate bowl, depending upon the size of your iron.( For my two-waffle iron, I divided the batter into three batches.)
– Add 1/4 tsp of baking soda. Mix quickly, and pour in the waffle iron.
– Repeat for two-three more waffles.

We really like these waffles..the semolina makes them crisp, the gram flour adds a delicious flavor, and they are quite sinless.  Serve them with a salad of fresh tomatoes, peppers, herbs, or tomato-cilantro chutney like we did.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Weekend Brunch

  1. Emjay says:

    These look and sound delicious – love the sound of that chutney – did you make it yourself? You would be proud of me – I just whipped up a bean and corn salad riddled with coriander and a really nice potato salad – though I would have to scrape the eggs out of it for you. I wrote the ingredients down as I went just incase I want to make them again. Now it is time to go and marinate some steaks in whiskey (not for you though!).

  2. Purplesque says:

    Wow..that sounds like a feast. Are there going to be pictures? I love a good potato salad..especially the kind with lots of mustard.I made the chutney myself..sauteed mustard seeds, curry leaves, green chillies, lentils, onion, tomatoes and cilantro. The chillies were hotter than I expected. A Loved it..and I ended up sucking on ice to relieve the pain. πŸ˜€

  3. Emjay says:

    LOL the chillies. I put chillies in the bean salad but only one – I cut up another couple and put in a little bowl so people can sprinkle more on if they want. I learnt this lesson after making a guest sick one dinner! Now I am nervous about making things too spicy!We are having a BBQ – 6 adults and 5 children! I was out with my camera taking photos of things in my garden. Everything is getting closer to blooming – even those funky stick plants I have (peonies)..

  4. FANTASTIC idea! I never would of thought of doing that!Cabbage and chick pea and corn and carrots and spices in WAFFLES!*grabs the top waffle and runs*

  5. julie says:

    Savory waffles! You just blew my mind. Great picture also.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Oh, so they were peonies..:)

  7. Purplesque says:

    *shaking finger at you*Come sit at the table and eat properly. πŸ™‚

  8. Purplesque says:

    I'm afraid I can't take credit for this..someone else came up with it first. Its a Darned good idea, though.

  9. *urp*Too late! I'll sit right here and wait for more, though….. πŸ™‚

  10. Lakshmi says:

    Hey, that sounds yumm. Can you also post a picture of the waffle iron? Or for that matter, the tool you use to whip out any of those delicacies? Being in India, I would need to look for alternatives to Western cookware. Any suggestions on how to make this with Indian cookware?

  11. Purplesque says:

    You know, thats interesting, because I don't have a traditional waffle iron. They look like this. I wanted one appliance to make both sandwiches and waffles, so I bought this. It has interchangeable non-stick plates, so we can make both things with one machine. Here's a picture with the sandwich plates. And looks like Phillips has something similar in India.Most waffle batters can be used to make pancakes, and all you need for that is a tava. A nonstick tava would be good, or use some oil with a regular griddle.

  12. Lakshmi says:

    Thanks P. Guess what's for breakfast tomorrow morning?

  13. Purplesque says:

    Sooji pancakes with chutney? May I join you all..pretty please?p.s.The batter for pancakes should be thinner, like you would make for a pooda/uttappam.

  14. Lakshmi says:

    One small correction (or perhaps not)..In the south, we refer to "Semiya" as Semolina. I was wondering how semolina would cook on the tawa without water..and then realised what you meant is Sooji.. or am I wrong?

  15. Purplesque says:

    You're right..I use the word semolina for sooji and vermicelli for semiya. It seems to be the most widespread definition in the blogosphere. Thanks for letting me know, though, I'll clarify that in future posts. :)Vermicelli waffles..now that would be interesting. It could be done with cooked vermicelli, I suppose..

Leave a Reply

