All in a day’s work

He's studying to be an engineer.

He has baby blue eyes and long, curly dark hair.

One of those eyes is red because of the blood in it.

He got beat up in a bar and had a cerebral hemorrhage. Then he started to seize.

He was in the ICU with delirium tremens.

The sedatives it took to calm him down would have killed a horse, the nurse said.

We spend an hour talking.

He asks, 'If I don't drink, what will I do on New Year's eve?'

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to All in a day’s work

  1. Aubrey says:

    If you stay sober at a party you have been granted a God-given gift for some really amazing people watching. Not to mention the rumors and scandelaries you will have at your fingertips.

  2. So glad he got down to the really important things first!

  3. Totally understood. That realization is a tiny death, a loss of something. It can be replaced with better things, but it's still a hole in his reality. How's the head injury? Will he have lasting effects? I couldn't do your job. I'd talk too much. ((hugs))

  4. Dai says:

    Make a new plan for the new year, be the host of the greatest party of the year that ended and the year that just began, be the sober driver.
    What happens next?

  5. Noone says:

    Great last line, Purplesque–the whole anecdote/poem reads well.

  6. Lox Populi says:

    A pressing concern.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Yes..thats definitely more my style.

  8. Purplesque says:

    I know..and we talked about that, but I don't really think he was seeing beyond the hole.The effects of the head injury may last for a while..he's doing well for now.

  9. Purplesque says:

    He goes home. I gave him tons of literature, hoping that seeing things in print may help. Also gave him plenty of follow-ups; I suspect he won't go. I'd hate to see him back in the hospital with something similar. Thats what hurts the most..the sadness of wasted potential.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..its verbatim.

  11. Emjay says:

    Yep – New Year's Eve would be tough without a drink – or two. Poor guy!

  12. Dai says:

    That is sad…

  13. That's a tough thing. I stopped consuming alcohol in mid-1997, after a few years of on-and-off trying. I discovered that immediate attempts to replace it always produced bad results, bec I ended up "craving" the replacements, too. It wasn't until I was able to look into that emptiness and see it for what it was, that I could face it and then go on to make a new way of living. I did it alone, and can only imagine how hard it is to support someone along the path — especially with a challenge as big as this guy appears to have. How in the world do you leave this at work? Doesn't it linger, when you come home?

  14. Purplesque says:

    Wow..I really admire the people who can give up on something like that on their own. Its even harder if you are genetically 'hard-wired', like my friend..I'm pretty good about 'leaving' things at work; its more difficult when I see young people who are studying/have a budding career. I identify with them..so a LOT of countertransference. I talk to hubby, colleagues, sometimes I cry. When it really lingers, I put it here. 🙂

  15. That's good, that you can share it.genetically 'hard-wired' Oh, my yes! One side of my family is fertile with BP and addictive types – — A more charming bunch of self-medicators never climbed out othe genetic pool! Dad was wise enough to never start. I started late and tried to catch up. I just got sick of feeling crappy. And I was going to be starting law school in a couple of months. There's no way I could read all that stuff, fuzzy. You know? So I stopped. Fortunately I had no physical effects. I've read, since, about the typical withdrawal issues — yow. Talk about lucky. All I had was wanting it. But every day I felt less crappy, which was so wonderful that I kept going. Another good thing was the timing — the depression that I'd been trying to numb was lessening bec it was mostly hormonally-triggered (it's gone now – YAY!!). Truly wasn't that tough, and for that I'm profoundly grateful. And I admire the folks who slug it out, tremor by tremor, and then fight it mightily, every day, afterwards. That's got to be like being at war.

  16. Purplesque says:

    Thats what I hear..and quite a few people have told me that smoking is the worst..worse than drinking, coke, anything else.Which is why I never look down upon/pity/preach at addicts. They are fighting something powerful, and its their battle. The best I can do is help them along, be a support, make things a little less difficult.

  17. Karen Lynn says:

    Oh my. Why do people self destruct?

Leave a Reply

