When you can’t make pizza..

…make a calzone instead!

It has the best of both worlds; the taste of pizza combined with the ease of a sandwich. I used this pizza dough, replacing 1 cup white flour with wheat. Our calzones were stuffed with fresh mozzarella, sharp cheddar, sweet peppers and cauliflower roasted with thyme and oregano.


The crust rose beautifully. I'll remember to be more generous with the stuffing next time.

P.s. Making pizza dough is the best way to release work frustration!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When you can’t make pizza..

  1. Aubrey says:

    Ah, cheesy, calzone goodness. This looks so good, and I'm so hungry, it's actually making my eye twitch.

  2. Purplesque says:

    Ah, so thats your secret hunger signal!*Runs over with a calzone.

  3. scorpion1116 says:

    (LOL, Aubrey!)
    Beautiful and delicious and imaginative once again. I'm eating a diet dinner out of a box as I write this.
    Are you scrapbooking these photos and recipes? You really should. Computers crash and burn. It would be nice to have a hard copy of your recipes with pics for your kiddies to inherit. It would be a good wedding gift for them. Nothing like thinking ahead, eh? Heck, it would make a good Indian/vegetarian cookbook, I bet you could find a publisher.

  4. Purplesque says:

    Hmm..thats a great idea. I keep pestering my mother to write her recipes down for us, yet I haven't thought about doing the same. Most of what I make is borrowed from here and there, still, it would be good to compile it and pass it on..if not to kids, then to friends. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you!

  5. scorpion1116 says:

    I happen to know somebody who has and is quite familiar with publishing/layout software who could design the book and cover, convert it to an 80-page (or however big) PDF that could be taken or e-mailed to a printer with instructions for paper weight, trim size, cover weight, binding suggestions, and get the job quoted, anyway. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Something to think about.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..now you're tempting me. I was thinking more of a well-thumbed scrapbook with sauce splatters on it. Handwritten recipes and home-printed photos..but publishing is a great idea to day-dream about.

  7. scorpion1116 says:

    I was thinking more of a well-thumbed scrapbook with sauce splatters on it. Handwritten recipes and home-printed photos…
    …well, that, too.

  8. cat says:

    these look good – anything wrapped in pastry or dough is good.

  9. Purplesque says:

    Thank you for the kind offer, though. Someday, I'll take you up on that one! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Dai says:

    Mmm…looks good…I'll just substitute the culiflower with chicken and potato!

  11. Karen Lynn says:

    [ciรฒ รจ buono]

  12. O!!!! Anything with cauliflower is magic, IMHO. And that calzone? Woooooohoooooo!!!! Looks yummy!

  13. Emjay says:

    I don't like cauliflower! If I was doing this as veggie I would use potato instead. But I like Dai's suggestion of chicken too.

  14. Purplesque says:

    Yum..potatoes in a calzone would be Good.

Leave a Reply

