Memories of an Indian wedding

My friend sent me some pictures today that I've sent him over the years. It was a lovely gift; the pictures had been left behind when we came to the US.

Here's one from our pre-engagement ceremony, four years ago. It is also known as rokna, literally, to stop. The prospective bride and groom are given a gift of jewelry, to stop them from seeking matches elsewhere.

Thank you, Thomas.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Memories of an Indian wedding

  1. Emjay says:

    What a lovely photo – you all look so happy. And what a wonderful tradition. Who gives the jewellery? Do you give it to each other or does someone give it to both of you?

  2. Purplesque says:

    Lol..the way it usually works is that the bride's family gives the groom some jewelry and the groom's family gives the bride some. Very few Indian couples have enough money of their own to support the kind of extravaganza a wedding demands. On the other hand, most Indian parents insist on spending hard earned money on such things.. I'd rather have been married simply in a temple, and spent quite some trying to convince my parents, unsuccessfully, to agree.

  3. You alllook so happy, and interesting. Love the sari!

  4. Everyone looks so happy! I love hearing about traditions like this, my family has no tradition. Kind of boring I guess.

  5. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..I love the sari myself. Planning to get folks at home to mail it to me..would be perfect for a Christmas party, don't you think? 🙂

  6. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..delighted is too mild a word, I think I was delirious and giddy with happiness! My cousins kept elbowing me, trying to get me to calm down! lol

  7. Purplesque says:

    Hmm…and we have one too many. I'd get up at 4 am in the morning for some sort of ceremony..and they would go on until all hours of the night. I'd love to post pictures of more Indian wedding traditions..they could fill a book! So many times did I wish for a quiet and boring wedding.

  8. but tradition adds a richness to the event, knowing that generations of women in your family have done the same thing. There is something special about this.

  9. Purplesque says:

    It certainly does. My favorite one is tele, where both the bride and the groom are given a symbolic bath (separately) with turmeric and other herbs by nine (or is it seven?) married couples of their family..the idea being that the strength and happiness of the successful marriages will pass down to the new couple. Its simple and quite touching.Oh, and a much more playful one, joote-chhupai . The bride's sister gets the honor of hiding the groom's shoes when he comes for the wedding. After the wedding, he can't leave with the bride without his shoes! So he must pay a ransom to her sister and her friends before he can take his bride home.I could go on and on..

  10. I am in awe, the first one is beautiful! WOw! The second is so funny!

  11. scorpion1116 says:

    How wonderfully beautiful you all are…and rich in tradition. That has to play a large part in identifying yourself. Very neat, thank you for sharing. 🙂

  12. Purplesque says:

    🙂 Thank you; I feel good about sharing it, too. A large part in indentifying myself..I'm not sure I understand what you mean?

  13. scorpion1116 says:

    I guess that was a poor choice of words. I guess maybe I mean that I've never myself felt a strong connection with my heritage…I'm pretty much a mongrel of sorts, heavy on the Irish, and we never as a family celebrated anything related to our heritage per se. There were a few southern traditions we observed, but nothing of consequence. It's nice that you keep and include your heritage/traditions a part of your life.
    That probably didn't sound right, either, but it's the best i can do right now. *sighs*

  14. Purplesque says:

    No..I know what you mean. ( I'm learning to ask people to clarify rather than assuming they are saying what I'm thinking. lol) You're right..I realized this last diwali in the US, when I felt strangely distressed and angry until we did a mini-celebration of our own, just the two of us. Even that made things better. I also worry about forgetting these traditions and failing to pass them on to the next generation..it would be such a tragedy.

  15. Lakshmi says:

    Hey, that is a lovely photo. And you make a perfect couple. This is a neat idea, putting up photos of your wedding. Let me fish out mine….

  16. Olivia says:

    Aw! You look SO beautiful!!!

  17. Purplesque says:

    There's something about wedding pictures that is irresistible. Waiting for yours!

Leave a Reply

