Pangea Day

May 10th, when people will gather to watch films made for the world by the world. Some of them are made up of a choir in one country singing the national anthem of another- a powerful idea.

Here's one of Kenya singing for India.

It made me cry.

Watch the others-
France sings for USA.
Japan sings for Turkey.
Australia sings for Lebanon.

http://www.pangeaday.org


Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pangea Day

  1. Well, now I'm crying too — they're all making me cry, for different reasons, in different ways. So good, such a wonderful concept. Thank you for sharing this miracle of our modern technology — it's things like this that give hope, sometimes.

  2. Brown Suga' says:

    What a beautiful idea, what a perfect way of spreading peace and love.
    The damn video didn't load because of my crappy internet but I had goosebumps just from the first few lines. What beautiful bell-like voices. I wish someone would email me the video…

  3. Purplesque says:

    Glad you liked it..I was quick-checking my email before going to work, but then I discovered this and just had to Vox it before leaving.

  4. julie says:

    So touching! Now I'm tearing up too.

  5. Emjay says:

    The Kenyans voices were so pure and beautiful and I also liked France singing for USA> . I wasn't that impressed with Australia's rendition :-(Pangea was the name of the super continent which broke apart 200 million years ago to form our continents. It is cool they have chosen that name implying they are putting the world back together as one.

  6. Purplesque says:

    I, too, thought it was a cool choice of name. I liked the Kenyan film best, but maybe that was just because I knew what they were singing. It is different from the way I've heard Jana Gana Mana sung before, and at the same time incredibly accurate and beautiful. It feels like somebody put their heart and soul in the anthem.

  7. Aubrey says:

    I LOVE these. The different colors, techniques, stagings – brilliant.
    When I read your post – before I listened to the selections – the first thing I thought of was 'holding hands'. Each piece was that simple and affectionate.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Yes..I keep going back to listen to them. They feel so good.

  9. Dai says:

    Hey this is our world, so far, there's no place else we can go, why not embrace each other! This is truly beautiful!

  10. Zotta says:

    Loved it. Wouldn't it be great if they did this every year?

Leave a Reply

