Strawberries and chocolate

For our post-tax filing celebration.

Recipe for two.

For the strawberry pudding-

Run 1 cup strawberries, 2 tbsp juice (any fruit- I used grape) and 2 tbsp milk in a blender.
Add to a saucepan with 2 tbsp sugar and 1 tbsp corn starch. Whisk together.
Heat until it boils and starts to come together. Take off the heat and cool.
* Next time, I plan not to use any milk, for better color.
* Amount of sugar needed may vary with the strawberries..taste and adjust.

For chocolate pudding- I basically used this recipe without the egg and the butter.

In a nonstick sauce pan, heat 2/3 cup milk, 1/4 cup sugar and 2 oz dark chocolate. Stir occasionally.
Dissolve 1/2 tsp cocoa powder, 1/4 tsp instant coffee and 1 tbsp cornstarch in 1/4 cup milk.
Add the milk mixture to the chocolate, stirring all the time.
When it thickens and starts to come together, take off the heat and add a few drops of vanilla essence.
At this point, you may add 1/2 tbsp butter if you like.
* The only essential thing is to use real good chocolate. That makes all the difference.

Layer the puddings in glasses/bowls of choice. Chill. Top each serving with a strawberry dipped in chocolate.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Strawberries and chocolate

  1. Emjay says:

    Oh my God! You are are so mean! πŸ™‚

  2. Purplesque says:

    lol..I'll take that as a compliment.

  3. agathafrye says:

    That looks bomblicious. I was going to make an apple pie tomorrow, but now I might have to make this instead.

  4. Lakshmi says:

    Can I use something other than strawberry for this one? We don't get good strawberries here…

  5. Purplesque says:

    Cherry compote might be a good choice. Also, caramelized bananas..maybe even apples. Any fruit that you like to eat with chocolate..or just use icecream or custard!

  6. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..seems like I missed your comment earlier. Did you make it?

  7. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! Your banner is beautiful..and the food photos look amazing, even though I can't read the posts that go along. πŸ™‚

  8. Dai says:

    Absolutely Yummy!I'm gonna try it making it.Two of some of the favourite things mushed into one!again…YUM!

  9. Dai says:

    I just read your tag line!And I say something similar to people when I need to sit around and take a day off.

  10. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Birds of a feather!

  11. Hey!! Congrats!!! you got the [Culture is good] award whoosit!!! *applause**tosses confetti*

  12. 8gurl says:

    Congrats! Those look awesome! I totally snagged your recipe!

  13. Purplesque says:

    Oh! And I kept wondering why the visits to this page had jumped up suddenly. So thats why. Thanks for letting me know!!

  14. Dai says:

    Yeah, there was that title "Strawberries & Chocolate" top and [sort of centre] for all to see. And come on, it sounds delectable!

  15. Purplesque says:

    Definitely a deadly combination..the only thing that even comes close would be chocolate and vanilla!

  16. scorpion1116 says:

    Jeez, I saw the picture and clicked on it before I saw the post, lol. I thought "How dare she not post a recipe for this one!" LOL. There's no combination that quite compares to strawberries and chocolate. Thank you for this. πŸ˜€

  17. I have never had strawberry pudding before, but I am definitely going to have to bookmark this and make it. Thanks!

  18. 8gurl says:

    Yeah. It just means that I got the recipe (I favorited it) so I can make it myself.

  19. Purplesque says:

    I hope you like it! This was my first time making a strawberry pudding, and second time making Any kind of pudding.

  20. jayd says:

    And the Mans Version of the Recipe:
    1) Find great girl
    2) Be especially nice to her
    3) Leave extremely subtle hints about certain foods.
    4) Vivaciously compliment her whenever she makes you scrumptious treats. Ginormous Hugs help!

    Seriously though. This looks devilicious!

  21. Purplesque says:

    LOL. Thats a pretty accurate recipe. You could be especially nice to her and leave subtle hints, or you could just file her taxes and eat scrumptiously for the rest of your life!

  22. L33tchica says:

    O.OMust try this soon! it looks delicious!!

  23. Talena says:

    Excellent information to
    many people like that read articles to learn about these issues of great
    interest. Land
    in
    Samara Costa
    Rica

Leave a Reply

