Soup and Bread

Lately, there hasn't been a lot of cooking in our kitchen. Our schedules are out of whack, its been busy, research day is looming large and making me anxious. Looking for some food for the soul, I pulled out the no-knead dough from the fridge and baked it, along with a roasted tomato soup.

Here's the soup recipe.
– Roast tomatoes with some olive oil and balsamic vinegar on a baking tray. I used a can of whole tomatoes, drained, some whole cherry tomatoes and a halved vine tomato, and baked them at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.
– In a soup pot, saute a red onion, a chopped celery rib and a carrot or two. Add garlic if you like. Let them soften.
– Add the tomatoes, tomato juice (from the can), salt, pepper, and a handful of fresh basil. Add as much water as you like.
– Once the soup is done, run a hand blender through it once or twice to mix it up.

Roasting really brings out the flavor in the tomatoes. This is the perfect soup..its easy, needs no special ingredients and has incredible flavor.

About the bread..the first thing that hit me was the smell of wine as soon as I removed the wrap..the yeast is obviously still working. The dough has been rising steadily in the fridge over the last week. The bread has a great crust, big, hole-y crumb and tastes good, but its not a sourdough.

p.s. Vox will not let me post the extra-large size pic. Why?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Soup and Bread

  1. Aubrey says:

    Vox forbade you to post an extra-large picture because then the overflowing deliciosity of that simple meal will cause your readers to drool on their keyboards and to impulsively try and reach through the screen and make a grab for that admittedly attractive cream-and-gold mug.
    Vox was just trying to save us.
    (Speaking of soup, Dad used to make a soup/stew of lima beans: it was thick like a stew, but you drank it like soup; it was beyond yummy – have you ever cooked anything like that?)

  2. Purplesque says:

    Thank you, Aubrey. You write so well that anything more that I try to write in response seems superfluous. I made a soup/stew of Great Northern beans with vegetables and tomatoes last week. It was delicious, but did not photograph well. The basic idea might be the same, but nothing ever comes close to our parent's cooking, does it?

  3. Zotta says:

    I think maybe a trip to lulu.com and make all your recipes or even your whole blog, into a book, so we can find the various recipes more easily. No-kneadbread? Wow!!!

  4. Lakshmi says:

    You cooked THAT on a busy research day?[[Falls at feet of Purplesque]]

  5. Emjay says:

    Oooh! Super delicious!! Even I could make this – well, the soup at least! 🙂
    What is research day?

  6. Purplesque says:

    Lol…I wish. Research day is Monday..this was just a mock prep.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Its a big event for the University where all residents and faculty present their original research/case reports..then they get grilled, and the top few get a prize. I'm presenting a case report on a controversial topic..hence the anxiety.

  8. Emjay says:

    I hope that, after the "event", you post some of your presentation – I would be interested to know what it is..

  9. Purplesque says:

    I will certainly do that..though you might change your mind after seeing it!

  10. Purplesque says:

    I'm afraid the recipes are hard to find, since I haven't found a way to link to them on the sidebar. The no knead bread recipe is here.

  11. Zotta says:

    Thanks, Purplesque!

  12. scorpion1116 says:

    This looks wonderful! I love tomatoes any way they are prepared – from raw to juices and sauces. Even ketchup. Never met a tomato I didn't like. BTW, you could easily open an exclusive vegetarian restaurant. The patrons would appreciate and recognize the love and care you put into even the simplest of meals.

  13. Purplesque says:

    I'm with you there..love all things tomato!Thank you for the compliment..a vegetarian restaurant in this city would sink like a stone. I have dreamed of moving to the west coast and opening a 'kitchen', especially if my practice doesn't take off. 😀

  14. Karen Lynn says:

    Once again, a beautiful presentation. I do NOT like tomato soup, but honestly, I've never tried anything but Campbells tomato soup. Your instructions are so easy to follow and I'm with Zotta, I think its time to write a recipe book. I want an autographed copy. You could easy be the vegetarian Rachel Ray gf!!I have every ingredient for this soup except the bread and onion. Sending Michael to the store. Or am I going to make the sizzler for dinner. Hmmm. Nope, we're trying roasted tomato soup tonight!!

  15. Purplesque says:

    🙂 thank you! Very few of my recipes are original.. I just pick recipes from here and there and tweak em!Roasted tomato soup..don't forget to wash all the brown bits off the baking sheet into the soup. They are the yummiest.

  16. Oh, I made the soup for dinner tonight…it was very yummy. I added some corn at the end just to give it some more texture. I didn't see your comment about putting all the brown bits into the soup. I'll do that next time..this receipe is a keeper!

  17. Purplesque says:

    Glad you liked it! I like to roast the tomatoes on foil..makes washing off the brown bits a breeze.Adding corn is a great idea..I'll do that the next time..texture, color and sweetness!

  18. Oh, I didn't think about roasting the tomatoes in foil…great idea. I'll add that to the recipe. I put a little cheese on top of the soup…but that is probably not a good idea but it did taste great.
    I copied the bread recipe maybe I'll try it too!

Leave a Reply

