Haldiram is here!!!

A small Indian sweet shop that began its journey in Bikaner in 1937 and took over the world. Haldiram was probably one of the first Indian businesses to realize the importance of quality control and consistency. Their restaurant in Delhi was one of our favorite eateries. The food was reasonably priced, it was delicious, it was safe, and it was the street food that we Loved.

They have exported snacks to the US for quite a while, but now that the online shopping site is here, I'm over the moon!! Recommended- sweets (listed as mithai  on the sidebar), savory crisp snacks (listed as snacks), cookies (not your average kind- these are flavored with spices like cumin and caraway), and everything else. Don't let the juvenile look of the website fool you, this is first-rate Indian food, the kind you don't usually cook at home because its wayy too complicated.

What did I order?

Masala bhujia , which are tiny vermicelli like pieces made of gram and bean flour. Very spicy. You can try the plain kind, the kind flavored with lemon, or the one with fenugreek leaves. I prefer Aloo bhujia, which is the same shape made out of potatoes instead. Serve with tea and gossip any time of the day.

Dhodha burfi, dessert squares made of milk solids and wheat flour. Rich, dense, delicious. Easy to freeze, excellent re-warmed.

These are for A's birthday surprise.

Moong daal burfi, more dessert squares, made of moong daal, clarified butter and sugar. Heaven on a plate. [ I hope you're reading this, Julie.]

This is for me.

*If your Indian friends haven't told you about this, it is because they are buying family packs of everything and stocking their freezer before word gets out.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Haldiram is here!!!

  1. Emjay says:

    These all sound quite divine!

  2. Karen Lynn says:

    I know you must've been really excited to find this website! When I found the New Mexican Connection, I felt the same way! Its so hard to live someplace where you can't get food you love, and such a WONDERFUL treat when you can find things online :))

  3. Purplesque says:

    I was, but not half as excited as my sister…she's the one who really craves Indian desserts, especially the kind made of grains/lentils. I'd just as well settle for warm apple pie with icecream. :)What do you get from the New Mexican Connection?

  4. Karen Lynn says:

    CHILI! Real New Mexican chili's! I order green and red from them, along with other goodies that DH loves. They've got a great online grocery store with things you can only find in NM. here is the link I love that I can find just about anything online, isn't it wonderful? Save me one of those butter cookies, I was drooling over here!!

  5. Purplesque says:

    Oh goodness..thank you!! A will probably love it if I get him a bunch of chilies instead of buying dessert. Thank you!!I can mail you some of the butter cookies if you like. πŸ™‚ Just be warned they taste nothing like cookies.

  6. julie says:

    Mmmm! I'm reading with eyes wide open and drool pouring out mouth. Those all sound divine. Your posts are always so funny and make me smile. Keep it coming.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! I wondered if this was an odd topic to blog about, but it was so hard to resist.

  8. What an intriguing site! Everything looks like it would be soooooooo good!
    Masala bhujia these sound esp. interesting to me– bean flour– NEAT!!!Sounds like you're going to have a good time cooking………………. πŸ™‚

  9. Purplesque says:

    No cooking involved..I'm all ready to open the packet and dig in! πŸ™‚

  10. Lakshmi says:

    Do you know that Haldiram sells bhel puri mix, complete with the three chutneys? Just toss in some shredded onions, cut tomatoes, cilantro and any other salad vegetable that you fancy, and voila, your authentic Mumbaiya Bhel Salad is ready.

  11. Lakshmi says:

    Oh, I just found it…I would strongly recommend it.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Yes, I've had it before..but it really doesn't beat the road side bhel puri..you have to have some dirt and sweat to make it real. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

