Of taxes, bread bowls and chocolate

Last week was crazy. Insane amounts of work and no time to do anything else. I was supposed to be on call this weekend but they changed the schedule (thank God!) and here I am, sitting on the couch, eating day-old oatmeal and catching up with Vox. Bliss.

Yesterday, we spent all day cooking and preparing our tax return. We got a lot of cooking done, but the return looks kooky and must be reviewed by a professional. Such is the way of things.

First, I wanted to make bread bowls for soup. The vegan feast kitchen's no knead bread sounded perfect..you mix the dough, let it rise, put it in the fridge, and use it over next two weeks to make focaccia, pizza crust or bread loaves! I used 1/4th of the recipe to make one bread bowl.


The shape can probably be improved by baking the bread in bowls.


This bread definitely has a better flavor than the original Lahey no knead bread. We had it with white bean and vegetable soup.

In the evening, HUGE dessert craving. The first thing that came to mind was chocolate pudding (I blame Singing Horse). Here is the recipe we used.


It takes all of ten minutes and is very yummy (so much for dieting), though I prefer more texture in my dessert. Maybe add nuts/coconut to the pudding itself?


A loved it, and he's not a chocoholic. So this shall be filed for future use.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Of taxes, bread bowls and chocolate

  1. Lakshmi says:

    Will you marry me?

  2. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ I would, except you're lacking one essential piece of equipment.

  3. Lakshmi says:

    Can I at least live in your kitchen?

  4. Purplesque says:

    You'd be welcomed with open arms. I sure can use some female company in this place.p.s. A propensity to bitch about men and whine in general would bring you to top of the list.

  5. Lakshmi says:

    Sorry. The mouth is reserved for your culinary masterpieces. So, you might be the only one talking.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Darn..well, since you're the only one on the list, it shouldn't matter much. πŸ™‚

  7. Noone says:

    That pudding with coconut looks divine…I may have to look up that recipe myself.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. I just had a spoonful of the cooled version and its really good. Not too sweet, with an intense chocolate flavor. Very satisfying.

  9. julie says:

    That pudding looks bowl licking good. A must try, especially with the coconut. Hope you guys get a huge tax return. πŸ™‚

  10. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ I licked the bowl.

  11. i hardly ever eat sweets (just wasn't born a sweets person, more a potatoes person πŸ˜‰ )… but that chocolate pudding has just triggered a HUGE craving for sweets in me. now i have to leave the house in search of some… thanks a lot, purple.

  12. LeendaDLL says:

    No… I'm pretty sure I already asked to move in too. And I love to whine about men… and just about everything else.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Oh, dear..my apologies. I hope you found something good.

  14. Purplesque says:

    Lol..we'd have a great time together, then.

  15. Emjay says:

    I love sourdough soup bowls! But I like chocolate more πŸ™‚ (though I would have to leave the coconut out as I do not like coconut – either dessicated or shredded).

  16. Purplesque says:

    The bread did not have a pronounced sourdough flavor yet, but its supposed to get it the longer it stays in the fridge..so we'll see.How about fresh raspberries? πŸ™‚

  17. Emjay says:

    Oh yeah – I love fresh raspberries!! A rich chocolate brownie served with raspberries is divine. I will be interested to know if the sourdough flavour develops.

  18. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Last night, I kept going back to the fridge to look for raspberries, even though I knew we didn't have any!I'll let you know about the sourdough flavor; half the dough is still in the fridge for later use.

  19. Emjay says:

    I am thinking of trying to grow some raspberries on my deck. You can buy special pots with the plants in – like a kit. I have also been looking for a suitable container to put herbs in – I would love an old claw foot bath but they are probably out of my price range now (unless I find a really crappy one).

  20. Purplesque says:

    You might be right! The cheapest ones I saw on a quick google search are 500 bucks..though flea markets might yield better results. If I remember right, your father had one..? Its a wonderful idea..I would settle for any old barrel, but we hardly get any sun here. Maybe after we move..

  21. Emjay says:

    Great memory! Yes my father grew herbs in a bath-tub. We face the north so the back deck gets sun all day. I am going to start investigating. We are renting a car next w/end so I need to have some ideas by then.

  22. Taxes…gah. But I'm glad you had a chnace to get some R&R.

  23. Karen Lynn says:

    yummmm! you've been cooking up a storm! glad you had the weekend off gf.

  24. Bryanna's no-knead bread! Yay! I don't even have to make it now. I don't have much enthusiasm for cooking again, but reading your blog makes me feel just as satisfied, especially I don't have to wear an apron or wash dishes afterwards.

  25. Purplesque says:

    lol..I hate wearing an apron, and a lot of my clothes bear testimony to the same! As for washing dishes..ugh.

Leave a Reply

