Chex-mix namkeen

Desi -style.

Wake up on a Saturday morning. Make some tea. While the water boils, heat some sesame oil in your largest skillet. Add curry leaves, sesame seeds and let them sizzle. Hum along.
Add your choice of cereal mixes – wheat bran flakes, wheat puffs, rice chex.
Think? What else would be good? Add tea bags to the water.
Add a handful of roasted peanuts and crushed multi-grain chips to the mix. Eat some peanuts.
Sprinkle a spoonful of red chili powder and lots of chaat masala (tangy Indian spice mix, available in Indian stores). Move it around for a couple of minutes or so, until the cereal gets browned. Take off the heat and cool. Remove the burnt bran pieces. Next time, don't chat online when making namkeen (literally- salty, but used as a noun for all savory crispy snacks.)
Serve with tea.

There are no measurements in this recipe- use as much or as little of anything that you like. Its all good.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Chex-mix namkeen

  1. Emjay says:

    I saw your photo go up a little while ago and have been waiting in anticipation for your post. This sounds really good. Do you just eat it dry?

  2. Lakshmi says:

    The mix+chai combo, a comfortable couch with pillows at your lower back, your favorite book that you have read 156 times in the last year and cant have too much of, an old, ceiling fan spinning at full speed with that mesmerizing rhythmic sound, Kishori Amonkar (or M.S.Subbulaksmi) in the background. If THAT is not heaven, what is?

  3. Purplesque says:

    Yes, I eat it dry, sort of like a party mix or chips. But it Must be washed down with tea made with milk and sugar. Nothing else will do. 🙂

  4. Purplesque says:

    It is heaven. Today, I've replaced the book with my new Terry Pratchett that just came in the mail and Kishori Amonkar with Mehdi Hassan. Bliss.

  5. 8gurl says:

    that looks really good.

  6. Emjay says:

    When I was a young girl I used to come home from school and take a thermos of tea, which my mother would make, to my father working down in a paddock. It was made with milk and sugar and it tasted wonderful coming out of that thermos and being shared with him.I have never managed to replicate that taste myself. 😦

  7. Purplesque says:

    Ha ha..I wonder how much of our lives we spend trying to replicate the taste of things that mother made. Never works for me either. 🙂

  8. scorpion1116 says:

    I am always amazed at how you can make such beautiful meals with wholesome ingredients and keep them meatless. I'm a voracious meat-eater myself, but I always rush to your blog to see what you've made and how you've presented it. You're very creative, you enjoy your food, and that's definitely a good thing.

  9. scorpion1116 says:

    This does indeed sound heavenly. I need to finish my chores and perhaps spend my evening doing just that.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. I grew up in a strict vegetarian household and learned to cook complete protein-balanced meals without meat, even eggs. But its easy to see how omnivores would find meat-less food incomplete..which is why your comment means even more! 🙂

  11. 8gurl says:

    I concur with Scorpion, I do love my meat although I still try to eat a very healthy meal. Sort of Mediterranean style. Reading about your childhood I have just a an epiphany which could also qualify as a 'duh' moment: I've always wondered how people 'became' vegetarian (in fact one of my daughter's friends is a vegetarian and I even thought to myself as she was eating breakfast with us last weekend and passed on the bacon….hmmmm….she's awful young to be a vegetarian)…it has never ONCE occurred to me that one could actually be born and raised a vegetarian. I love the exotic nature of your dishes and it's fun to just read the ingredients and/or preparation methods (which differ quite a bit from my traditional (boring) way of cooking) even if they don't contain meat. I absolutely LOVE legumes and could easily eat them every day. I have a spinach stuffed mushroom recipe that contains bacon but could easily be made without (I believe you actually comment such to me when I posted the recipe) but it does contain cream and cheese and butter so it's definitely not vegan. Really, really good though.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I come from a long line of vegetarians. In fact, I couldn't recognize the smell of cooking meat before I came to the US! But you're right..changing from being an omnivore to a vegan/vegetarian can't be easy; it sounds like a big lifestyle change, especially if you're a foodie.More and more, I think about turning vegan; but giving up dairy would be hard. Maybe I should make the spinach-stuffed mushrooms before I do that!

  13. scorpion1116 says:

    I would think that before turning vegan, I would have to be convinced that the benefits of removing dairy truly outweighed the risks of having dairy. It seems like removing something as nourishing as dairy would render the rest of a vegetarian diet inadequate, and it would cease to be well-rounded. For now, you have the protein covered with the legumes and such. How does one replace dairy?

  14. Purplesque says:

    As far as I know, the only benefit of dairy is the animal protein, and that can be substituted adequately by soy. I already use a lot of tofu, miso, tempeh and green soybeans. There is no risk per se of using dairy, its just the inhumane way animals are treated that bothers me. I know I can switch to soy milk and we don't use much butter anyway, but the idea of giving up cheese and yogurt..thats going to be the hardest part. Plus, we won't be able to eat out at all; maybe I should wait until we move to a bigger city with vegan eating-out options. Or, if I could find a farm that supplied cruelty free milk and cheese, I wouldn't have to change anything at all. 🙂

  15. julie says:

    this recipe kicks muddy buddy's ass!

  16. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I had to google muddy buddy to find out what you meant. Thanks!

  17. *runs around in happy circles* that's the best yet!!!! I LOVE the chex ereals– rice, esp — and will make this as soon as I get some of the oil. .WOWEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks so much for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

