Status-post call

Yesterday was the call from hell. I discharged two patients, saw seven in the ER, admitted five. Everything from drug-induced psychosis to schizophrenia to a stroke. ( The patient had a stroke. Call a neurologist. Do NOT call a psychiatrist to make your diagnosis for you, ER people.)

I worked non-stop for twenty hours straight. Then I went to bed.

And woke up three hours later to sign out to today's team.

Tomorrow, I have another twenty four hour call. Then I do house call for consults all next week, and consult call all through next weekend. Gah.

Hubby is on call today. I plan to sleep all day if I can.

I miss Vox…read all the neighborhood posts earlier this morning but could not think of decent comments to write.

Time to recharge my brain.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Status-post call

  1. (((((rechargehugs))))))

  2. scorpion1116 says:

    It's just good to hear from you. Life can be hell sometimes, lol. I will refer to something my mother used to say, I'm sure it's of biblical origins (I do that a lot these days) "This too, shall pass." One say this phase will be complete and you will be more in charge of your own destiny. Keep on keepin' on, girlie. πŸ™‚

  3. Bookmole says:

    Get your batteries charged up and come on back – we'll be waiting!

  4. Karen Lynn says:

    Hugs gf, recharge yourself, and hurry back, we'll all be here when you are feeling back to normal :))

  5. How do you keep going? Just grateful there are great people like you there for us!

  6. Purplesque says:

    Thanks! I feel so much better, except for the icky headache from sleeping through the morning.

  7. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ thank you. I don't mind this phase much, either, as long as I know it will be over some day. Sitting here eating an apple and watching HGTV, life is good right now. If I only I could get Vern Yip to do my apartment. πŸ˜€

  8. sounds like we're both doing the friday-sunday call thing this weekend.AAAAAAAAAAHHHHH, THIS SUCKS. i'm so exhausted.

  9. Purplesque says:

    I know of so many people who work much, much harder than I do. :)My attending once asked me that question as a teaching point, he said, 'Why don't you quit?' (He was referring to a patient who had sort of given up on life). And I said, 'I can't. I have to go on.' And he said, 'No, you can quit any day you want to. Its a choice you make, to do this.' It was the first time I ever thought about it like this, that I was doing all this, being pushed by nothing but myself. Made me feel darned good.

  10. Purplesque says:

    Yep..I read your post and thought the same thing. Whose idea of punishment is this anyway? I'm wide awake now, I always crash post-post call day, and that will be when I'm on call again. Nuts. But hey, I was not the one holding a dead guy's face. You're amazing. ( And I hope it gets better with time.)

  11. Zotta says:

    Interesting about not quitting. Thanks for sharing with us. Hope you get some rest.

  12. yes, i always feel worse on the post-post call day. it's interesting to see that other ppl have the same phenomenon.it's been slow today… hope it stays that way. hope you're faring well too.

  13. Emjay says:

    Yuck, yuck – yucky day! Hope you got that rest today!!

Leave a Reply

