Pizza and Prozac

I know, I know, eating pizza every other day is not healthy. But they are so darned easy to put together, and clean up is a breeze! Perfect for study nights. This one was topped with red pepper hummus, spinach, green olives, piquante peppers, pickled jalapeños and fat free feta. And thats ONE whole pound of cooked spinach on that baby. Popeye would have been proud.

On to Lithium.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Pizza and Prozac

  1. 8gurl says:

    That looks AMAZING! Pizza CAN be a good thing if you fix it right. It's so versatile and allows for a great amount of creativity! Yummy! I love spinach, I put it in everything I can!

  2. LeendaDLL says:

    Oh, well, since it has a pound of spinach, that makes it healthfood – so it's OKAY!!Cleanup? You mean dusting off the crumbs and throwing away the papertowel that was used as a plate?

  3. Scott says:

    This reminds me of Eddie Murphy's old animated show The PJs, and the time he was down so his wife fixed him Prozac pie. It had a criss-cross top and you could see the little capsules underneath.

  4. julie says:

    Looks perfectly scrumptious and healthy!

  5. Aubrey says:

    What an amazing combination. Hummas and feta cheese (even if it's low-fat, it's cheese!!)? Are the peppers you used marinated first? Because I don't like cooked red peppers – they get way too sweet for me.
    I love the brisk taste this pizza must have had!

  6. Olivia says:

    Dude, pizza = anti-depressants in my book! Especially this one! Looks fabulous!

  7. Purplesque says:

    So true..there are so many things you can do with a pizza. I love spinach too, and I think frozen chopped spinach is one of America's greatest achievements. 🙂

  8. Purplesque says:

    Lol..we did use real plates, but thats a great idea..

  9. Purplesque says:

    A Prozac pie right now would not go remiss at all. I wonder what they would use if they shot the show again..Xanax? Has anything captured our imagination the way Prozac did?

  10. Purplesque says:

    It might have been healthy, if I had made the crust myself. As it was, I was trying to use the leftover crusts from Saturday's pizza party. No matter, soup's on tonight!

  11. Purplesque says:

    The peppers were the marinated kind that you get in the Mediterranean deli section of the grocery store, though I've learned since then that piquantes are South African. I did not cook them any further. They were sweet, but definitely true to their name!

  12. 8gurl says:

    I like using frozen but it's so hard to drain. Also using fresh (like the baby spinach in the bags) in a sauce (I have this delicious stuffed mushroom recipe with butter and garlic and bacon and olive oil and heavy cream) and the fresh spinach turns the sauce a pretty green color. Whatever the form, spinach is good on or in stuff. I don't like eating the canned kind alone…yuck! I can still remember that taste when my Mom would make me eat it. slimy yuckiness!

  13. Purplesque says:

    The stuffed mushrooms sound delicious!! I've never tried canned spinach. The fresh baby spinach is definitely more tender and flavorful. I once put some fresh leaves on pizza (I know, not smart) and ended up with pizza soup!Spinach sauce..yumm.

  14. Yummmmm!!! — so you mixed Prozac liquid with the hummus, maybe? Good plan. The lithium — I noticed there's a syrup form, so that could easily top of a nice hot fudge sundae….. easy to dose, and tasty too!lol — sorry, couldn't resist……..*puts away the PDR and tries to stop giggling*

  15. Purplesque says:

    Lol…we used to say, if you sleep with a book as a pillow, you always learn something by osmosis. Similarly, if you read while eating, some of what you're reading ends up in your stomach!*looks again at that construct* There's something wrong here, but I can't figure out what it is!

  16. something wrong hereWell, it made sense to me. I never studied without food, if I could manage it. I think that the synapses fire better (or whatever they do) when in the presence of happy calories.

  17. Purplesque says:

    You know, Robbie, that would make a Great research topic! We could call it the Robbiedobbie Food-Synapse theory!

  18. A prozac pizza is just what I need. I'm just too lazy to make a pizza crust right now. One pound of spinach and peppers, man, that's a my type of pizza! Have you ever made any dessert pizza? Would you consider making one? I'm a diehard savory pizza fan so it's a little bit hard to make the crossover. But I love pizzas and desserts and I'm lazy sometimes. Why not combine the two? A chocolate peanut butter pizza sounds good.

  19. Purplesque says:

    I've never made a dessert pizza, but would definitely make one! I did think of making one for the pizza party, but wasn't sure how well it would go down with my guests..it certainly sounds very good. Maybe top a pizza with marcarpone/ gjetost/goat cheese and caramelized figs/poached pears/baked apples. I could add some maple syrup to the pizza dough as well. Oh, dear…the idea gives me shivers. As for a chocolate peanut butter pizza..what can I say. I'd eat every crumb. 🙂

  20. Mr. says:

    What a great looking pizza! and i agree, pizza makes me a happy camper too.

Leave a Reply

