Ethiopian Lentil Stew, desi-fied

Or Indian daal, Ethiopified. I tweaked Isa's recipe to make this much easier version.

Ingredients–
1 cup brown lentils
2 carrots, diced
2 tablespoons ginger-green chili mix
( Note-I run a huge batch of ginger and a mixture of green chillies in the food processor, then scoop them out with an icecream scoop and freeze them, in scoop-serving sizes. One scoop is usually good for one recipe, for 4-6 people)
2 tbsp peanut oil/vegetable oil
15 oz can of diced tomatoes
3 cups water
1 cup frozen green peas

Spice Blend:
2 tsp ground cumin
1 teaspoons red chili powder
1 teaspoon ground fenugreek
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
 2 teaspoons ground coriander
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
salt to taste

– Heat oil in a pressure cooker.
– Add the spice blend and the ginger-chilli mix. Let the spices sizzle.
– Add the carrots and saute for a minute. Add tomatoes and saute for another minute.
– Add the lentils, peas, water. Cover and cook for 4 whistles, or fifteen minutes in a no-whistle cooker.

The original recipe shows how to make the stew without a pressure cooker. But if you're a soup/stew kind of person, a pressure cooker might be your best friend.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Ethiopian Lentil Stew, desi-fied

  1. Emjay says:

    This looks fabulously delicious! Luckily I am about to go to lunch!

  2. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ We finally got our timing synchronized!!

  3. Yummy yummer! I'm on a lentil kick recently and this is great. Thanks for sharing another awesome recipe and the cooking technique.

  4. julie says:

    What a smart tip with the ginger and chiles… I use both of those so much. Genius.

  5. Paxton says:

    Oh, man. That looks good.

  6. NOOS says:

    Wow… looks really good! and thanks for the recipe! πŸ˜‰

  7. shippouchan says:

    oh man… i'm getting hungry just reading your recipe! haha~ that looks absolutely delicious.

  8. Purplesque says:

    I learnt the trick from other home cooks- its a life saver.

  9. chingching says:

    That looks great… have you tried berbere…
    I used to makes scoops of ginger and chillies until somebody told me to just freeze them in sheets ( I wrap plastic wrap on a tray and freeze ginger in a sheet on the wrap with another sheet of wrap on it and then break like a brittle after frozen and store in freezer bags)…. saves a few more mins..

  10. Purplesque says:

    Thats a great idea..I was toying with just freezing them in an ice cube tray, but this might be easier. Thanks!!I have eaten food made with berbere, but not made it at home. Ethiopian food, here I come! πŸ™‚

  11. Mr. says:

    Thank you so much for sharing the recipe with us. I almost never see African food as people seem to stick to european and others for no apparent reason.(guilty as charged!).
    Some time i will be making a post about Southafrican wines.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Food fashions come and go, don't they? I remember when Chinese food was all the craze in India..We first ate Ethiopian food at The Blue Nile in Detroit, MI..it was like dying and going to a food orgy in heaven! There was a nice honey wine served with it. Ethiopian/Middle Eastern cuisine is somewhat similar to Indian food, so it provides comfort but challenges the palate at the same time. I wish we had more restaurants here..

  13. t says:

    I am here to verify: This is a very tasty recipe. I served it at a party this evening and the whole batch was gone. YUM!Thanks for sharing it. : )

  14. Purplesque says:

    Glad it worked for you! What did you serve it with? We ate flatbreads one night, and mixed it with rice the next.

  15. t says:

    I was going to get some injera but ended up with naan, which was very tasty. I wish there were some leftovers so I could try it with rice, but I guess I'll just have to make it again.

  16. bee says:

    i gotta make this. believe this or not, we made injera over the weekend.

  17. Purplesque says:

    Lol..birds of a feather? I was thinking of doing the same, but need to buy some teff first.

  18. Queen B. says:

    OM nomnomnom looks yummy ok I added you to my neighborhood keep up the yummy recipes!

  19. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ Thank you!

Leave a Reply

