Plantain Rice mix

Another recipe from the south of the Vindhyas..the Indian subcontinent has enough recipes to keep me happy in my kitchen forever! I was looking for a plantain recipe that would go well with rice, but would not involve any deep frying.

 

I used this recipe, with a few adaptations. It was surprisingly easy.

Ingredients
– 2 medium plantains, raw
– 1/4 cup yellow Indian lentils (toor/arhar daal)
– 1/4 cup white Indian lentils ( urad dal)
– 2 dried red chillies, whole
– 1 tbsp whole coriander seeds
– 1tsp fennel seeds
– 1 pinch asfoetida powder
– 1tbsp sesame oil
– 2 tbsp lime juice
– salt to taste
– 1 tbsp chopped cilantro

– Nuke the whole plantains in the microwave. I put them in a grocery bag, add a couple tablespoons of water, and use the potato settings to cook them. The plantains should be firm but completely cooked..you can test them by pushing a toothpick through them.
– Dry roast the lentils and all the spices in a skillet over medium heat. When well browned, grind them in a coffee grinder.
– Peel the plantains and shred them, using the biggest holes in the grater.
– Mix together the shredded plantains, the spice mixture, salt, sesame oil, lime juice, and cilantro. Serve.

I'm guessing the podi is used as a topping for rice, but it would make a great stuffing for any kind of wrap or pocket sandwiches.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Plantain Rice mix

  1. Aubrey says:

    As usual, this looks devilish good – tripod be damned – but I can't get my mind around how it would taste! Sweet/spicy, I think?
    I'm grilling vegetables tonight, in olive oil and salt/pepper. It's embarrassingly simple, but comes out rather good.
    Bon appetit, P.!

  2. Now this is godly again! The dish has such a warm and pleasant hue. I love anything Indian but not deep fried or mushed. I imagine this dish is sweet and savory at the same time? A killer combo! I'd love to make your photo into a wallpaper. Thank you for boosting my appetite again!

  3. Purplesque says:

    Oh.. raw green plantains are not sweet at all. They taste more like potatoes, with a fresh green flavor. So its a savory/spicy dish. If I could eat only one thing for the rest of my life, I'd pick simple grilled vegetables. Bon appetit!

  4. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..raw plantains aren't sweet at all, so this is all savory, but if you like it sweet, a riper plantain might do the trick! You're more than welcome to use any pictures for a wallpaper..I thought of doing it myself, but plumped in favor of reading more posts instead. 🙂

  5. Emjay says:

    Okay – this one is also a "keeper" …. I am going to have to start up a "Purplesque's Pantry" file. (what are you doing up so late?).

  6. Purplesque says:

    Reading vox posts, blogs on my feed reader (and poetry, but don't tell anyone!) Oh, alright. *turns off the light*

  7. Emjay says:

    My laptop is set to American time so I know when you are all awake and when you should be in bed! It is the middle of the afternoon here and I have just had lunch with a friend and am napping before dinner out!!

Leave a Reply

