Sunday morning

It's bright and sunny outside. The snow is still fresh on the ground. With a cup of tea in hand, I read the news online; if I had a fresh newspaper, it would be a perfect world. I wonder what to make for brunch, running a list of available ingredients in my mind. Asparagus, sundried tomatoes, kalamata olives cured in oil..all the makings for a frittata.

The recipe is from Vegan with a Vengeance. Adding some powdered flaxseed helped bind it better, since I had increased the quantity of vegetables quite a bit.

– Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.
– Crumble about 20 oz firm tofu with your hands. Add 1 tbsp soy sauce, 1 tbsp coarse ground mustard, 1/3 cup nutritional yeast, 1 tbsp milled flaxseed. Squeeze through your fingers until smooth.
– In some olive oil, saute chopped asparagus (I used 10 stalks), 1/2 cup chopped sundried tomatoes, 1/4 cup sliced kalamata olives. Cook for a couple of minutes. Add some thyme, turmeric, lemon juice, salt to taste.
– Mix the vegetables with the tofu. Add a handful of shredded fresh basil leaves.
– Smooth out the mixture in an iron skillet. Top with a sliced tomato and bake for twenty minutes.
– Put the skillet under the broiler for a couple of minutes to brown the top. Cool for ten minutes.
– Serve with your favorite sauce. I used fresh marinara.

The frittata is delicious. Since I have never eaten the kind made from eggs, its hard to make a comparison, but this is perfect for a Sunday brunch. Now for another cup of tea.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday morning

  1. Honestly, that smells so god! I think I can just catch a whiff through my screen!! Yummmmmmmmmm.

  2. Purplesque says:

    🙂 thank you..it did smell heavenly.

  3. You're welcome- and sorry about that typo…. *sigh*

  4. Purplesque says:

    Oh my God, it hadn't even registered!! I can't believe I replied with 'heavenly'.. punny coincidence!*rolls around on the floor, laughing*

  5. LMHO — I didn't notice that !!!!!! There's ALMOST nothing better than an accidental pun. *giggles*

  6. Emjay says:

    That looks delicious. I have just woken up here and now I feel starving. I will have to go out and find a cafe……

  7. Purplesque says:

    🙂 I hope you found some good cappuccino and a frittata.

  8. Emjay says:

    I found a nice cappuccino but a hot cross bun won over anything healthier 🙂

  9. Wow, this frittata looks too perfect to be eaten! What a colorful photo! Man, you're making me really hungry… 😛

  10. chingching says:

    ooh!!! is that cast iron skillet?

  11. Purplesque says:

    Oh, we ate it alright…:)

  12. Purplesque says:

    Yes'm, it certainly is..my pride and joy.

  13. julie says:

    It's so pretty. I want one to look at and one to devour!

Leave a Reply

